We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
1,029
237
61
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
237
61
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanse stubeleading hotels of the worldpiano bartrain stationthe free mini barbeautiful hotelturn down servicecologne cathedralfive star hoteljunior suitewonderful stayan upgraderooms are spaciousthe location is perfectin decemberchristmas marketbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This was by far the most luxurious hotel we stayed in during our recent trip to Europe. The staff were fantastic (they humored me with my broken German) and the complimentary mini-bar was a welcome benefit - if you've ever traveled in Europe, you know bottled water is more precious than gold. Just steps away from the train station and directly across the street from the cathedral, the location is central to everything to see in Cologne. The newly updated rooms were spacious and comfortable and the hotel lobby and interior hallways were impeccably maintained with beautiful stained glass windows, polished marble and artwork. The in-house french cuisine restaurant, Hanse Stube, was by far the best restaurant we had dinner at in the five cities visited - including Paris! The attentive wait staff, the excellent menu, and delicious food capped off our final night in Cologne. I can not imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Cologne.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear A P,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for staying with us and we all hope you had a safe journey back home to Cincinnati.

We really appreciate that you took the time to write this wonderful comment on Triapdvisor and it is making me very proud that you enjoyed your stay that much. It has been a real pleasure to read your compliments and to forward your feedback to my team.

We really hope to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and until then we are wishing you a pleasant autumn.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I had a pleasant stay but I found the rooms somewhat dated. The rooms had nice classic decor but the keys were old fashioned manual keys which you left at the front desk. We also found the bar somewhat crowded and were bothered by other guests. The service was very attentive thought and the breakfast was impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear William M,

Thank you very much for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate that you shared your honest feedback with us and would like to assure you that we are taking it very seriously. Please allow me to mention that we are a very traditional Grandhotel which has been founded in 1863 and that many of our guests do like the classy and traditional style of our hotel. Nevertheless we are updating our rooms and our public areas steadily and that we started to implement a high safety key system with electronic keys. We also offer a variety of different room types in different styles to make sure that each guest finds it personal favourites.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and to convince you of the service and quality of our hotel.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This is a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived all staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The hotel has a traditional atmosphere about it, yet feels very comfortable. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast buffet has a seemingly endless choice of fresh ingredients. And the location, close to the rail station and cathedral is superb. All in all a terrific place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear RowleyEssex,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor and we hope that you had a safe journey back to Colchester.

Your compliments are a huge motivation for the entire team and it will be my pleasure to share them with everyone at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We hope you will visit us again very soon and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Just few steps from Cathedral. If arriving by train the Concierge can assist with luggage at Station. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Rooms (very spacious and well decorated) for 2 nights. All the staff are extremly helpful with tips for restaurants ans best stores in town.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGBPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear JGBPK,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. We all are very proud to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are recommending the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back in the not to distant future and remain

With best regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

From the moment we arrived, we were met with such friendly and professional staff.
We were made to feel very welcome! We will definitely stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on our next visit to Cologne. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the ambiance of the old world European dining room was delightful. When we were checking out, the person at the front desk not only called a cab, but called the river cruise company to find out which dock our boat would leave from and explained it to the cab driver. SInce we don't speak German, this service was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor which faced the inner courtyard, and it was very quiet - no street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 711marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear 711marilyn,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your impressions.

The entire team strives for this experience which you depicted and we all are very proud and happy that you had such a unforgettable and pleasant visit of Cologne.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and remain

With warmest regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews