We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old world hotel with new age Asian cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Classic old world hotel with new age Asian cuisine”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The hotel is elegant, the rooms spacious and the location perfect (right across from the Cologne Dome). The service is also superb. The surprise is that such a traditional setting hosts a restaurant that is very new age in both decor and food. From the minute we walked in the hotel's Taku Restaurant, I felt transported in time and space from old world Germany (lobby) to a very edgy decor restaurant (there is a plexiglas blue lit floor running through the restaurant that resembles a flowing river). The food was fabulous and creatively presented. While surprised by this unexpected mix, it works well in creating an enjoyable and inviting atmosphere. We would DEFINITELY stay here again and dine at Taku.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comment on this portal.

We are happy, that we could surprise you not only with the central location next to the Cathedral, but also with our concept of tradition and innovation, what is reflected in service and design.

It is great to read, that you had such a pleasant stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and an enjoyable evening at the restaurant taku.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    215
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
202
478
93
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

In a few words Amazing hotel..
We stayed here with christmas time.my wife an d my 2 loving kids.
From ariving to leaving the hotel.. It was top service.. The parked our car and shoewd us our room, even the kids 7/8 years old , where pampering..
Then we reserved christmas day by hans stube.. Restaurant inside the hotel,again amazing top service and amazing food!!
Its on the best location you can geth in cologne..(oposite the cathedral) The hyatt in on the other side of the river the rine..
Breakfest also amazing.. With a real x mass fealing inside the hotel...manny x mass trees..

We return back for sure.. It was already our second time at the exselsior cologne.
With best regards:
Mr Rene Bruining
Zwijndrech Holland

Room Tip: Take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Mr Bruining,

Thank you very much for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are very happy that you had such a good time at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. It makes us proud to read, that you were convinced of our service philosophy and the offerings in the Hanse Stube.

Thank you as well, for your compliments to our decoration during Christmas time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just wanted to spend weekend relaxing and are happy that we made the best choice to spend 2 nights in this Hotel. We arrived Friday evening. We were escorted by Check-in Lady. She explained everything very well. The room was on 5th floor and quite spacious. In fact the whole structure is quite large and spacious. Definitely 5 star status. Good customer service, facility of gym, sauna.
It is just the opposite of famous Cathdral. The Cologne Central Station is just on walking distance. Tourism office is also close by. Besides so many options of the restaurants, cafe, McDonald's. Basically the location is quite perfect and stay becomes wonderful with a fine luxury hotel. Great experience. Only thing internet is not free. Though we subscribed it for one day. It was very slow. In all, we enjoyed the weekend in peace of mind with the finest luxury. We would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

It is great to read, that you had a peaceful stay in Cologne and at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are happy, that we could convince you with our central location next to the cathedral and central station. Thank you as well for your compliments to our service philosophy and hotel facilities.

We apologize for the inconveniences you had with the internet speed. We offer the internet of a new provider and we are still in the process of optimizing the system.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had wonderful stay here 3 days prior to Christmas 2011. We arrived in the morning and we were fortunate to check into our room early and were even escorted to our room by the check-in lady. The customer service for the whole trip was excellent. Some major positives about this hotel:
- large and modern rooms
- excellent buffet breakfast
- excellent location (2 minute walk to main train station)
- good gym, sauna and steam room facilities

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and in Cologne. It is great to read that we could not only surprise you with our location next to the main station and cathedral, but also convince you with the interior design of the rooms and the facilities in the health and sauna area.
Also, we thank you for your compliments to our service philosophy and breakfast offerings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Located opposite Cologne’s magnificent cathedral, the Excelsior Hotel Ernst exudes luxury and professional service. Check-in was friendly and quick. Valet parking for the car, an escort to our rooms, and bags brought up. We had new rooms – possibly in a new part or newly renovated section of the hotel – certainly 5 star standard – and very comfortable. (Just be careful if you get up in the night not to walk into the glass doors in the bathroom as I did.)

The hotel was very peaceful, and I have no reservations in recommending this hotel if you want to stay in a fine luxury hotel in the center of Cologne.

Regardless of whether you stay at the hotel, the Hanse Stube restaurant in the hotel is excellent for fine dining. We enjoyed a tasting menu in the restaurant, and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: I think there may be new rooms or recently renovated rooms. Ask for one. Mine was room 222 and faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on this portal.

It is great to read that you appreciated our service philosophy that much. The employees of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst seek to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. We are also happy that we could convince you with the design of our rooms.
Thank you as well for the recommendation and the compliments to the restaurant “Hanse Stube”.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

With best regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,396 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,657 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#19 of 260 in Cologne
432 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 260 in Cologne
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,579 - ₹ 40,881
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing