We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Germany!”
Review of Ox & Klee

Ox & Klee
Ranked #123 of 2,722 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 95 - US$ 180
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neustadt-Süd
Description: Our Tasting Menu is a Carte Blanche. The concept is to surprise our guests. We only need information about what you do not want to eat or intolerate. If you wish, we accompany your menu with matching wines! As a guest you are in direct contact with the kitchen staff led by Daniel Gottschlich, because the cooks bring the dishes to the table. In addition to the Tasting Menu we offer cheese á la carte from Maître Affineur Waltmann from Erlangen.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I’ve never met a chef so amazingly creative with flavors. He lets the diner use all senses of the tongue - sweet, salty, savory, bitter, sour. The best part is you don’t order, the chef surprises you course after course (you order how many courses you want). Besides the 5 courses we ordered, the chef surprises you with little tastes in between of tastes I never imagined were possible. This was without a doubt the best food we had in Germany! The courses were perfect in size and amazing in taste. Our server, Tim, was terrific and explained all the combinations of flavors for each course. He was very attentive but gave us time to savor each portion of the meal and did not rush us at all. We got to meet Chef Daniel on the way out and was treated as family. Boy I wish he would open a restaurant in Naples, FL!!! We would certainly be regulars at his restaurant. Greatest food experience!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Beatrice517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic time with my girlfriend, the food was superb.

I recommend the seven course it was like a theatre play.

P

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank PSaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

This is a belated post for February 2017. I went there for Valentine’s Day and have to say it was okay. Atmosphere was nice and the view as well if you were lucky to sit next to the window but our food was for my taste not really worth it. It’s as all mushroom themed and after the 3rd dish with mushroom I had enough of it. It’s really a matter of taste, there are people who loves mushrooms but for me it was just So So.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We had dinner with friends and children.
The food was extremely well tasting and this was accompanied by a very thoughtful staff.
We had six courses (which you need as each ourse is small). The courses are explained to you as they are being served as you cannot order any special food but four to nine courses and express if you have any specail needs.
When you leave you get the menue as a remember me gift.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janbQ2128AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A different experience full of innovation and good service.
What you have to choose is the number of dishes you want to taste you have options of 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9, indicate what you can’t eat, cooking preferences, allergies and the chef takes care of the rest, you do not know what You will eat until you are served and explained in detail at the table.
Overall a very good experience accompanied by excellent service.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ronaldn448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ox & Klee also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Ox & Klee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing