We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design but nothing more”
Review of BURNS Art Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BURNS Art Cologne
Ranked #68 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2015

The hotel is insolate in a neighbourhood on the outskirts of Cologne. It takes more than 15 minutes walking to go to the Fair. There is nothing apart from blocks of apartments close to the hotel. Rooms are wide, specially the bathrooms and the shower, well decorate with design furniture. My room was located the highest floor, and the aisle to access to the rooms was a terrace in the cold open air. There were more than four rooms in that aisle, and all had windows and the crystal door to the aisle. Every time that a guest of the last rooms in the aisle had to pass in front of my room, that was the first in the aisle, he could take a look at my room through the windows and the crystal door, so the lack of privacy was absolute.

Room Tip: Never the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mistralksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

After reading the stories here about this hotel we have chosen to go here for a weekend trip to Köln.
It was a bit disappointing. The rooms seem to be not done, because one wall was still concrete. That was not a nice view and it also made the room a bit chilly so we had to drive up the heater. There was a spot on the sheet and the view outside was also lousy.
About breakfast, we thought it would be very good but it was total chaos! There was not enough room for everyone, it was very small there and I did not like the coffee in the cans at the table. We ended up at some kind of bar seat. It was not comfortable. Also there were no serving plates, so you had to walk back for getting another thing like your glass of juice or something. Anyway, we will not go here again.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roxxyfloxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Good hotel if visiting the Koelnmesse. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from the messe and about 20 minutes from the DB station. The hotel is very modern looking with nice rooms, which have a minibar but no coffee making facilities. Bathrooms are good with a great shower. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of meats cheeses, fruits and breads as well as cereals, bacon, eggs and many other breakfast items. Staff were good and helpful. Only 4 stars as there is currently building work on most floors.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

This hotel was booked for us by an agency, and I thought its location, in a primarily residential area, was a bit unusual when I looked it up on Google Maps, but it turned out to be excellent. It's about a 5 minute walk from a U-bahn station, and convenient for the Deutz Messe DB station (allowing, for example, boarding a train to Aachen before it got crowded at Hauptbahnhof). The hotel room and bathroom were spacious (helpful to us, traveling with a wheelchair). The staff went out of their way to find and provide information to help with our travel arrangements (train schedules, Rhine cruise info), and, as other reviews have said, the breakfast was very, very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KevinandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

When the taxi first pulled up, I thought I was looking at a small tower block in a rough inner city area and was horrified! However, on entering reception we were greeted by a minimalist contemporary and pleasant reception area and even more pleasant staff. Unfortunately they had booked me and a male colleague into a double room in error which resulted in a second episode of horror within 5 mins (no reflection upon him)! It was soon sorted and they fortunately had spare rooms but I would suggest checking your hotel booking confirmation carefully.
The rooms are polished concrete walls and floors and very contemporary but not cosy. They were also cold which is fine when the weather is warm but not in the winter. They were very clean and the beds nice and comfortable. The breakfast ways one of the best I have encountered at a German hotel but bio black tea except Darjeeling and Earl Grey so bring your English breakfast tea bags if that is your preference. The hotel is only 500m from the north entrance if the conference centre but a good 10 min taxi journey from town and the cathedral.
The hall ways and stairwells are cleverly decorated with art painted on pallets but there is a definite car park feel about it!
Great hotel for trade shows and business short stays but not a. Family hotel or for cosy breaks.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 263 in Cologne
222 reviews
Mülheim
Hotel Park Consul Koln
Hotel Park Consul Koln
#59 of 263 in Cologne
410 reviews
EuroNova Arthotel
#97 of 263 in Cologne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
The New Yorker | HOTEL
The New Yorker | HOTEL
#111 of 263 in Cologne
103 reviews
Servatius Hotel
#80 of 263 in Cologne
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BURNS Art Cologne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BURNS Art Cologne

Address: Adam-Stegerwald-Str. 9, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: ₹ 6,160 - ₹ 11,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BURNS Art Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Particularly long-term guests, business travellers and culture enthusiasts will find a second home at the BURNS Art Cologne! Located directly at Cologne's trade fair centre, the hotel affords rooms and spaces featuring sophisticated architecture. The Burns Art Hotel is one of the privately-run, 4-star hotels in Cologne with a unique philosophy that corresponds with the art concept of its culture-loving owners. It is already the fifth hotel of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your BURNS Art Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing