We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food...”
Review of Bayleaf

Bayleaf
Ranked #284 of 2,723 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 72
Description: The format Restobar, under which the Bayleaf has made a name, is unique in Cologne in this form. At the Cologne marina, Michelinstar chef Daniel Gottschlich (Ox & Klee) combines fine dining dishes with cocktails from our bar master Michael Elter. Our flagship is the regularly changing food pairing menu. We are one of the first bars in Germany dedicated to food pairing. This is the combination of flavors in food and cocktails. See you at Bayleaf.
Restaurant details
Description: The format Restobar, under which the Bayleaf has made a name, is unique in Cologne in this form. At the Cologne marina, Michelinstar chef Daniel Gottschlich (Ox & Klee) combines fine dining dishes with cocktails from our bar master Michael Elter. Our flagship is the regularly changing food pairing menu. We are one of the first bars in Germany dedicated to food pairing. This is the combination of flavors in food and cocktails. See you at Bayleaf.
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We where in Cologne for a trade show and we wanted to take a colleague out for dinner.

We choose Bayleaf because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and the food did not disappoint. We each had a steak which was excellent quality, well seasoned and well cooked.

The side dishes where limited and I do not think they matched the quality of the main dish.

The drinks menu had a good variety to satisfy the needs of the entire group.

Service was a little cumbersome but I think that was due to the fact that our German was limited and the English of our waiter was limited, but it did not detract from the overall experience.

The best thing about the restaurant was the fact that even during a busy trade show in Cologne we where the only diners downstairs in the restaurant which meant that there was no noise and we could sit quietly have a nice conversation without having to shout at one another.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank michaelowen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We were with 3 and decided to take the Pairing menu with matching cocktails. You can choose for the 3 course variant or add the Catch of the Day.

The matching cocktails are great fun....and really match with the flavours of the food.

Not cheap (€72 per person for 4 course plus 4 cocktails) but everything is fresh and quality.

Friendly service and passionate bartender.

Highly recommended if you want something else than wine.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ErdnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We enjoyed a nice evening with great service in a nice atmosphere. The food is delicious and everything is super fresh - the pairing cocktails were full of surprises. Portions however are - as you may expect - not too big.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJ-Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This is by far the best restaurant experience you can get right now in Cologne. It makes you feel like you are in New York, Sydney or Tokyo. I have been there twice already and during my first visit I was even allowed to have a look at the kitchen in their fine dining restaurant Ox&Klee which is located on the first floor.

Staff: The whole staff is very friendly and attentive - only the barkeeper is a bit to quirky in my opinion...

Food: The Cocktail&Food pairing is a great concept which works out very well.

I highly recommend Bayleaf.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nubuvungtau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We've known Ox & Klee since they were located near Rudolfplatz, in the city center. The Michelin Starred Restaurant moved in to the 'Kranhaus 1' since early autumn 2016 along with the new bar 'Bayleaf'. We enjoyed of course already the new Ox & Klee on the 1st floor but Bayleaf was just last weekend.

Its nice to see the familiar faces again. Warmth and authentic. The Bartender was awesome. Very entretaining.

We had the Pairing Menu, my betterhalf enjoyed the orig. cocktail pairing and I got the mix 2 alc and 2 nonalc Coctails since I gotta drive home that night. What an experience! Everything is well thought and presented.

An absolute muss!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reckless_V-o-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayleaf also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing