We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice convenient hotel down town Hannover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice convenient hotel down town Hannover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stayed twice. This hotel is Clean near Messe and very convenient opposite city hall. I like it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azafiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
27
46
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Staff very welcoming, nice and large room with a nice view over the Rathaus
Breakfast quite expensive € 19.- no free internet even cabled

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsurfer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Disappointing, to say the least.
We have experienced about 15 hotels in the last 30 days. This was by far the most expensive one (by double). This was the crappiest hotel that we have stayed in. That doesn't really make much sense, right?
It is the type of room that I like. Large room. Plenty of room. A nice desk to work at. Bathroom with a tub. Only problem is that it should have been renovated about 5 years ago. There were a lot of stains on the carpet. Hair in the bathtub. There was no way to get heat to the room (to be fair, the radiator was flush to the curtains, heat to fabric=disaster). When it is about 35 Fahrenheit outside, inside heat would be great.
The old pushing 2 small beds to make 1 big bed gag never really flies with me. Especially when the comforter is all that you get for covers and it is enough to cover a small child. Good thing I am not an NBA player.
Also, the service was fairly good. It was the least amount of English spoken at any hotel that we have been at (this can't really be a complaint as I am in Germany and German is their language) so communicating was cumbersome a few times.
When I ordered ice to the room it was brought up quickly by two giggling young girls. That was actually a bonus.
One thing that bummed me out was that there was no kettle in the room (I call them hot water makers). That is odd seeing that every hotel that I have ever been to in Europe provides them. Maybe we didn't spend enough?
Internet was not included in our rate. It always makes you VERY angry when you pay a lot for internet (15 Euros) and it is very poor quality. Very frustrating.
Breakfast was included and was very good.
When I went to check out I simply asked for my bill for our group of 11 rooms. I was looked at with a blank stare. There was a gigantic pile of businessman behind me and they were obviously more important than our group so I was waved off. The old "It is convenient for me to not understand English right now" look. Priceless.
Location is pretty great. There is a gigantic shopping mall merely blocks away. This is probably the biggest upside of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hannover hotels

Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Travelled to Hannover for the CeBIt event and stayed at the Maritim for a night. Came in late and did not use the restaurant or bar. The place was surprisingly quite. Room seemingly old fashioned and could do with a make over. Annoyingly, no iron, kettle or simple soap bar in the room. Lighting was awfully dim and could not be centrally switched on/off. Staff at breakfast and reception were friendly. Would normally not stay here but with prices doubling during the event, this was a fair deal.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Checking in and out was fast, breakfast was ok and the location is good.

Most of the public places are very worn. Rooms looks dirty. They're not but since they are so old they look awful.
Conference rooms are ok but just cable-internet is available. Strange...

One last thing, the beds are excellent. If they werent this hotel would have gotten a one in grade.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Luhmann's Hotel am Rathaus
Luhmann's Hotel am Rathaus
#51 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Cityhotel Thuringer Hof
#71 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Mitte
Atlanta Hotel Central
Atlanta Hotel Central
#58 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Reverey Garni
#113 of 161 in Hannover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Mitte
Concorde am Leineschloss Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover

Property: Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover
Address: Friedrichswall 11, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,281 - ₹ 27,581
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Maritim Grand Hannover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing