We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in the city Center, but not far”
Review of H4 Hotel Kassel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H4 Hotel Kassel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not in the city Center, but not far”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I am guessing most of people that looking for a hotel in Kassel in for "dOcumenta" or business traveller

So

Straight to the point:

Room - large room, big window very standard amenities. Nothing Fancy!
We stayed on the 13th Floor, great view of the whole city (it's a smoking floor thought)
The first room we check in had no mini bar, we then ask to change the room with mini bar.

Location - 5 min by tram or taxi from main station - Taxi would cost you no more than 6-7 euros
the center of town where main shops restaurant and documenta venue is 10-15min away by tram
The hotel provided tram ticket incl in the room rate, and there are 2 trams rights at the front of the hotel that go straight to documenta (come every 10-15min)

There is cafes and shops near by 10min walk (might not open at night)

Room service menu is not too bad, you can get a soup or dessert for 5 euros

Complimentary 2 bottle of water per day (Sparkling water)

Cons;
No wi-fi internet - you need to pay 4.95euros per hour

there is only 1 computer available at the loby for guests use. Which make it tricky!


Overall, depending on how long you booked this hotel in advance, as when I booked the hotel... there are not many option available. Overall I paid 125aud per night... which is ok price, you basically get what you pay for... it's not 4 star thought

Room Tip: high floor, do ask for the room with mini bar if you need one... not every room provide mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piya-namwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H, Manager at H4 Hotel Kassel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Ms Piya-Namwan,
thank you for the nice words about Kassel and our house. It is right that we don't have a minibar in every room. But we provide a 24 hours shop beside our reception for all needs.

Sorry that we are not offering free WiFi. At the moment we got a running contract with T-Com which offers Hot Spot.

We hope to be of service to you in the future and if you got any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Dennis Huehn
Direktionsassistent / Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    92
    53
    13
    4
See reviews for
20
38
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Hotel is quite close to the high-speed train station (Kassel Wilhelmshoehe): 3 Tram stops.
The room is okay in size, clean and relatively modern. I had a room with two single beds that apparently were made for pushing together if desired.

Absolute highlight was breakfast. While quite pricy at €16, the buffet lacks almost nothing except perhaps a better selection of fresh (not canned) fruit. Excellent.

Less excellent was the shower - the fixture was impossible to operate to a decent temperature, it turned out either too hot or too cold, even when moving the lever only a few millimeters. Also, the showerhead didn’t stick properly in its holder, so it would turn to the side spontaneously (turn down the water pressure to reduce this problem).

All in all quite pricey (probably because the Documenta 13 is going on) but certainly comfortable and quit.

Internet access via Telekom access point (great if you have an account, like I do).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDBGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H, Manager at H4 Hotel Kassel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Thanks for your nice words especially of our breakfast buffet. I appreciate that.
The problem with the temperatur is fixed now. I'm sorry about that.

I hope to be of service to you in the future and if you got any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Dennis Huehn
Direktionsassistent / Assistant Manager
RAMADA Hotel Kassel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed at Ramada for one night two weeks ago - went to see dOCUMENTA 13. First the good things - staff are nice and helpful - especially during the day - helped with transport, printed my boarding pass, took messages etc. Room is clean. View in my room was very peaceful - park. No noise. Not so good: it is not in the city centre, despite the name. But it is not far - easy transport links. It has no free WiFi - very odd in such a hotel. Only one computer downstairs - very slow internet and printer not working when I was there. But again - staff was nice and printed things for me on their own printer. Very basic decoration - but that's not a bad thing sometimes. Night staff not very helpful - but still were nice. Have not tried breakfast - it was a bit pricey, and I did not have much time. So, all in all, not the worst stay, not the best, but the price is very fair I thought.

Room Tip: park side - for view and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliyashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H, Manager at H4 Hotel Kassel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

I'm glad about your nice words concerning our staff. I will pass those laud to them.

Sorry that we are not offering free WiFi. At the moment we got a running contract with T-Com which offers Hot Spot.

We hope to be of service to you in the future and if you got any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Dennis Huehn
Direktionsassistent / Assistant Manager
RAMADA Hotel Kassel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel is not really in the city centre, but close to the Stadthalle, an important conference venue. One side of the hotel faces a busy road, the other side is much quieter. I got a room in the 13th floor facing the street. The windows (can be opened) would need some additional sound-proofing, I heard the motor cycles, trams and trucks even when the windows were closed. Otherwise the room was OK, the bathroom a bit outdated. The shower was located in the bath tub, which was very high (could be difficult for people with mobility problems). I was given a smoking room although a non-smoking room had been booked. There was a huge event in the neighbouring Stadthalle so obviously there were no other rooms availabe. I put up with it for just one night - although it was difficult because the smell of smoke was everywhere, in the curtains, the sofa....
The breakfast was very good, a great selection of hot and cold dishes was offered, even salmon and sparkling wine, but the orange juice came from a machine and was not very tasty.
If you do not stay much longer than 1-3 days, the hotel is acceptable. For a longer stay I would choose another hotel.

Room Tip: It might be better to choose a room on the rear side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H, Manager at H4 Hotel Kassel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

We are very sorry you were not satisfied with all aspects of your stay. Our house is now a little more than 13 years old and can’t compare with the newer, more modern equipped houses by nature to withstand. But we are already investing heavily every year to offer you an upscale und contemporary stay.


But we also want to thank you for your nice words concerning our breakfast buffet. As it's the most important meal of the day, we seek for a very high standard of it.

We hope to be of service to you in the future and if you got any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Dennis Huehn
Direktionsassistent / Assistant Manager
RAMADA Hotel Kassel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here as this was next to our meeting venue. Pros: location one street behind the main road (main road looks up to the Hercules Statue), staff was friendly, breakfast, although pricey, had a great selection though the restaurant itself is an incongruous mash of tables with little ambience. Cons: Rooms have no temperature control - so adjusting the temperature or even getting air to move is not possible - though the window does open (caution for parents with children). Wireless is pay by the hour and at 5euros per hour of use, is not satisfactory for business men who live and die by the internet. Other hotels in the area include free wireless – which in my opinion should be standard everywhere. The business section does allow for 30 minutes free use - I find this not acceptable as my computer is my lifeline. One minor annoyance was the TV speaker in the bathroom which was louder than the TV and could not be controlled other than to turn the TV way down. The only English channel I found was CNN, but I did not go to the hotel to watch TV so this was of little consequence to me. The room was clean but nothing extraordinary to comment about. I believe the higher floors offer a better view of the lovely city – beware of smoking and non-smoking floors. All in all - passable - but not quite meeting business expectations.

Room Tip: high floors will offer a better view - beware to stipulate whether you are a smoker or not as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeStembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H, Manager at H4 Hotel Kassel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to rate out hotel on tripadvisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We are working on the bath room loud speakers and the problem is mostly solved now. Even if it wasn't important for you i want to say that we got 2 English TV channels (CNN and CNBC).
We got free wireless internet included in our comfort categorie as well as some other nice amenities. Those rooms are also in the upper floors with a great view of Kassel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dennis Huehn
Direktionsassistent / Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kassel hotels
1.1 km away
pentahotel Kassel
pentahotel Kassel
#2 of 50 in Kassel
1,194 reviews
2.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
2.2 km away
Golden Tulip Kassel Hotel Reiss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Kassel
Wyndham Garden Kassel
#7 of 50 in Kassel
374 reviews
2.3 km away
Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
0.9 km away
IntercityHotel Kassel
IntercityHotel Kassel
#21 of 50 in Kassel
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Kassel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Kassel

Property: H4 Hotel Kassel
Address: Baumbachstr. 2, 34119 Kassel, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Ramada Hotel Kassel City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Kassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kassel
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,868 - ₹ 11,151
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Kassel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our H4 Hotel Kassel is easy to reach via the A7, A44 and A49 motorways. The ICE train station can be reached on foot. It only takes a few minutes on public transport to reach our hotel. We offer comfortable rooms with WiFi. If you are arriving by car, ample parking is available. In the morning, we can treat you to a hearty breakfast. You can then start your day in this beautiful Hessian city. From our hotel, you can reach Kassel city centre and its many sights in only a few minutes. Sights such as the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Bergpark Wilmhelmshohe with its unique fountains and the Hercules monument are Kassel landmarks and the orangery and Fridericianum museum as well as the many spots linked to the Brothers Grimm are popular attractions in Kassel. From the hotel, you can reach all the sights and leisure facilities in just a few minutes and there are also very good public transport links. As a guest in the H4 Hotel Kassel, you can use these for free. 9 open-plan, air-conditioned conference rooms seating between 5 and 290 people are available, one of which can be accessed by a car. All rooms have plenty of natural light and can be automatically darkened. The Kongress Palais Kassel, directly linked to the hotel, offers an additional 30 multimedia halls and rooms with capacity for up to 8,268 people and an open-air, 4.700 sqm concert garden. Modern conference technology and projectors are included in the free standard technology pack. A professional catering department and an experienced conference support team will help to ensure the success of your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Kassel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Kassel
Kassel Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing