We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
20
38
33
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
38
33
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed at the Schweizer Hof during our visit to Documenta.
Despite the hotel is located some kilometers away from the center, I would tell that it's a good location: direct connection with tram to König Platz and good restaurants around.

Large rooms - appartements. Good breakfast and pleasant service - except a very poor English speaking.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the backyard. The main street is noisy
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThierryGBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSH, Manager at Hotel Schweizer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear ThierryGBM,

Thank you for your feedback.
We will train the English speaking.

Your team of the Schweizer Hof in Kassel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights in November - a weekend stay for a sporting event.

Hotel is situated a comfortable 5 minutes walk from the ICE Railway Station.

Booked a Classic single room, but received a complementary upgrade to an Apartment overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel. This was a very spacious, well appointed room, very quiet. The only issue was the wi-fi connection at the rear of the hotel - very poor.

The buffet breakfast offered an extensive selection and was of good quality - sets you up for the day.

Intended to use the Vital Spa, but ran out of time.

The hotel's staff were friendly and very helpful - they spoke good English, which was a bonus, because my German was limited.

All in all a very pleasant stay - would recommend & would stay here again.

Thank you, Hotel Schweizer Hof Team.

Room tip: Quieter rooms are at the rear of the hotel
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H2H17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSH, Manager at Hotel Schweizer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear H2H17,

Thank you for your review.
We have improved the wi-fi connection in our apartments this week. We now have an excellent signal in the hotel.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you soon.
Your team of the Schweizer Hof in Kassel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The day we arrived at Kassel it was very warm 32 degrees. We assume that this hotel had air conditioning available in the rooms.. .big mistake! No air conditioning in the rooms despite the fact that this hotel has been refurbished recently - Rooms facing the main street are very noisy so impossible to leave the window opens... meaning we 'slept' in a sauna. Awful night despite a bed which seems comfortable. The room was clean, bathroom was ok, small but clean. If you sensible to smell avoid using the hand soap and shower gel... they stink, cheap stuff with a very bad smell.
The receptionist was nice and we were able to borrow a little fan, sadly it did not help much to cool down the room.
Breakfast was boring and uninspiring. I was expected some nice Swiss cheeses (the rooms are red and white and everything is done to give you sense of Switzerand) but no nothing like this, very poor cheese quality and offering. Scramble eggs were over cooked, cheap juice and sadly the bread wasn't great (which is surprising as Germany has lots of fantastic bakers & yummy bread) And strangely enough they had cut their croissants in half. Otherwise the breakfast room is clean, opening to a nice terrasse.
Car park is ok - but not cheap - Dogs are allowed with a 15 euros charge
There is a nice toys shop opposite the hotel and a very good organic shop. Honestly our experience was not nice and it was not worth the price.

Room tip: If you want a quiet room do not select one on the main street!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank simonsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSH, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Schweizer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear simonsweden,

thank you for your comment.
We do not advertise with air conditioning. Nowhere is mentioned that we have an air conditioning. Our soap is from a well-known cosmetic producer (Sauvage) who deliver his products worldwide. Maybe its a matter of taste.

We have three different types of sliced cheese. One type is Emmentaler. On top we have Brie cheese, three types of spread cheese and mozzarella. Our juice is from Granini (High quality). Its true that we cut our big croissants in a half. We observed in the past that we have disposed many croissants. For this reason, we have decided to cut this in a half. But that's no problem - take the second half.

Its also true that the scrambled egg is sometimes overcooked. We try to do our best to handle this problem.

Your team of the Schweizer Hof in Kassel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This hotel is not that horrible. Staff is very kind and helpful, breakfast is decent, room are comfortable. But...
I was in a room with a view on the main street on the 1st floor. There is a permanent noise from the road (cars, trucks, trams). The noise stops between 2-5am. There is no air clim. I like to sleep with the window opened. No way. Stupid people stay every night till 2am, talking loud and smoking cigarettes. Even with the widow CLOSED, I am surrounded by this awful smell :-( AWFUL.
I am travelling for business purpose, the wifi is slow like hell, very difficult to work. I will avoid this place next time.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver_75008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSH, Manager at Hotel Schweizer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear Oliver,

thank you for your feedback and your good response to our friendly service and our breakfast. Our reception have a 24-hour service. If you called our Night audit, he will checked the situation in front of our hotel. He had to asked the people to leave our place. I recommend you a room of a comfort categories or one of our comfortable apartments. These rooms are much quiet.

I checked the wifi signal in your room. I had a good signal. For your information. We will improve our wifi with a higher speed soon.

Maybe you give us a second chance. I be sure to persuade you on your next stay in our Schweizer Hof Kassel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The hotel is closely situated to the train station Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe which is nice if you are travelling with an ICE. It is easy to walk up to Wilhelmshöhe which is a nice sightseeing spot, and certainl worth a visit.
The conference facilities are really good, the staff is extremely friendly, they offer nice snacks in the break. Althogether, if you have to meet with people from all over Germany, this is certainly a good place to choose.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSH, Manager at Hotel Schweizer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear Peter H.,

thank you very much for your good feedback.
The whole team of the Schweizer Hof is very happy about this.
We look forward to your next stay in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews