We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”
Review of Das Spenerhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Das Spenerhaus
Ranked #90 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I booked our one night stay over the internet. This was an easy exercise with no problems.

On arrival we were impressed by the tidy exterior appearance of the establishment. The reception area was most welcoming and tidy. The young lady receptionist spoke english and was most helpful.

Our accommodation was tastefully decorated and the amenities were spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and welcome after our long trip from New Zealand.

The breakfast room was well set out clean and tastefully decorated. The food was ample and very good. It was a continental Breakfast.

The information given to us by the staff to make our short visit to the Xmas market was really helpful.

The male receptionist who arranged a taxi back to the airport was also very helpful.

Our stay at this hotel was a very pleasant experience.

We would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending it for a place to stay to other people,.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kiorawaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

I've stayed here several times. It's got a handy underground garage, decent breakfast, very good location in a quiet area, but just a few hundred metres from the centre. They've fairly recently revamped the lobby area. The rooms are a little dated but perfectly functional and very clean. The kettle, tea and coffee is very useful. The drinks in the fridge (juice, water and beer) are included in the room price. There's no wireless internet, so bring your own cable so you can plug in. The cables they have are not up to much.

The hotel is affiliated to a Christian hotel marketing organisation called VCH. It leads to some interesting statements (if I remember correctly) in the hotel information pamphlet like looking after the environment will help preserve God's creation. They also provide conspicuous Gideon bibles. Well, as an atheist, I don't mind about all that as it's not intrusive and besides, I think the staff should be honest, open and friendly if it's Christian oriented. And indeed, they were just like that.

I will stay there again before the year 2011 expires. in 2012 the hotel will be located inside the Frankfurt green zone, and as I always travel by car past Frankfurt, I cannot stay there (my car is too old to qualify for the "green" sticker). Shame, I shall miss it.

Room Tip: As for one overlooking the garden (it will cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffy2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Modern and in typical constructivism style (nothing non-essential!). VERY good in location – 2-3 minutes from the Dom, 7-8 min to the Zail, 6-7 min by foot to the nearest stop of S-Bahn to go to the airport. My windows were just a front to the Dominican church which was nice. In this church (in case you are lucky!) you can attend wonderful concerts.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Das Spenerhaus is located near the Rohmerplatz, with easy access to most interesting touristic or business places in town. Personal attention is excellent in any area, check desk, breakfast room, etc and the price of rooms is more competitive than the average in the area. Unfortunately .... beds are, at least mine's, especially uncomfortables: the mattress was really hard and deformed in the center, probably due to the age... definitely they need to be replaced. It's a pitty because it could had been an excellent stance at an excellent price but when travelling for work, not resting well is a big minus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RicardoJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The location is great just off one side of the old town. The hotel is comfortable, a good buffet selection for breakfast and a comfortable room. The room was comfortable enough, a little basic but good for the star rating and very clean.

We had a package including travel cards and a bottle of wine which made it a good price overall.

One thing that was a little suprising to us was that it was quite evangelical. Its based opposite the church and Spener was an important person in the Christian faith. So it has a number of crosses around the place. But other than in the decor and the inital impression, it didn't cause any restrictions and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

Great hotel , would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heieup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#66 of 271 in Frankfurt
270 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#122 of 271 in Frankfurt
114 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#100 of 271 in Frankfurt
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel am Dom
Hotel am Dom
#173 of 271 in Frankfurt
48 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#140 of 271 in Frankfurt
144 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#136 of 271 in Frankfurt
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Spenerhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Spenerhaus

Address: Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: ₹ 6,728 - ₹ 11,544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Spenerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Spenerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing