We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad/geht so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
mainhaus Stadthotel
Ranked #139 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not bad/geht so”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We only stayed one night after going to friends wedding. The building does not look very inviting from the outside and the reception area is a bit gloomy, but our room was clean and comforable enough, though nothing special. Car parking was available for 8 euros a night. The breakfast was OK. There are plenty of fancier places to stay in Frankfurt but this place was quite cheap and perfectly adequate for one night. (PS regarding price increases during trade fairs (Messe) this is standard practice in Germany. In Munich for example, the "Messezuschlag" can be up to 100% of the room rate. You just have to check before you travel whether there is a cheduled trade fair on your anticipated travel time).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
12
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This hotel has seen better days (to lock the door with the key took quite a bit of fiddling and their Internet connection did not work; however, the room was comfortable (if small). The staff was very helpful and let me check-in a few hours earlier. Very close to the S-Bahn stop. Easy walk to the centre of Frankfurt. Heard good reports about the restaurant though I didn't eat there due to an early check-out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desousa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg city
Level Contributor
278 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

When I first arrived at the hotel, I had a shock because very very poor and old atmosphere and decoration, probably the same since 1960. I was first given a single room, and than another single room but no electricity in both so ended in the double room. This hotel is VERY VERY OLD.

Very important: the single rooms are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE, for me a 1 star. So thank God I ended in a double room, these are renovated !!!

No WIFI (wireless) available at this hotel and a small parking at the hotel (no so convenient to enter and not many spaces if you arrive too late) but cheap (8 euros a night), so nothing to complain really.

The only positive of this hotel is the breakfast, nice waiters and big choice fo warm and cold items (well I assume breakfast is most of the time always big in german hotels) and close to ZEIL (main shopping street), 2 minutes walk but 3 Kms from the main train station.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pillowtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I've had the misfortune to stay recently at this hotel and was charged 125 Euros per night, as they double their rates during exhibition time. It is dreary, the reception areas smell and the rooms are not of a good standard - my son's accommodation at Newcastle university had more frills! We experienced no issues with theft, but to be fair were either in the rooms or out .......there is no bar or public areas with any pleasant outlook so didn't spend time other than sleeping in the place. The internet wouldn't work in my room, which I needed for business, when assistance was requested it was not available. 1 lift for all rooms meant on more than 1 occasion a15 minute wait!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Grand Hotel Dream
Grand Hotel Dream
#198 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#104 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zeil
Hotel Zeil
#142 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#122 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#76 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mainhaus Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mainhaus Stadthotel

Property: mainhaus Stadthotel
Address: Lange Str. 26, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Das Kolping Hotel Frankfurt)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,024 - ₹ 14,587
Hotel Class:3.5 star — mainhaus Stadthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your mainhaus Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing