We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Authentic & Good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauth-Schneider

Dauth-Schneider
Ranked #72 of 2,435 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Pittsburgh, PA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic & Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was looking for authentic (and good) local food. I used TripAdvisor to find Dauth-Schneider and I wasn't disappointed. They have long, family style tables. They had the schnitzel that I wanted, but I couldn't find the potato dumplings like my grandmother used to make. The waiter (an Irsihman) spoke perfect english, and said he'd check with the kitchen. Sure enough...they had em...almost as good as grandma's! Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lippekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    135
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good German Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Local hangout place you would not find without TripAdvisor. Hidden in an alley in the Sachsenhausen district, the restaurant offers a wide variety of German dishes, lots of pork and sausage. Great choice if you're a large group of people.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bmichel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
300 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Perfect place for larger groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Bigger restaurant than what it appears from the outside. Applewine is the specialty here, and you can order it by the glass or by the pitcher. Fest tables and benches contribute to the fun factor, but hinder the comfort/romance level. Wide choice of foods and spirits available, and menu is translated in English. We were there on a Saturday night (group of 14) and all the tables were reserved by Germans looking for fun. Food was quite tasty, you get potatoes instead of fries (a plus). Service was fast and efficient. If you're looking for a fun outing with a group of friends, this place is perfect!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly service and wholesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Went to this place on the strength of the Tripadvisor review and looking at the menu from their website.

The friendly waitress seated us and gave us the menus in English. Ordered the goulash soup, the grilled ribs from the menu and a special of the day - venison medallions with mushroom sauce, and the apple strudel for dessert.

The goulash was fantastic with really strong hearty flavours. The pork ribs turned out to be a gigantic plate of grilled pork with almost no bones. It was tender and juicy. The venison was delicately cooked, and the mushroom sauce matched it really well. The apple strudel had really delicate pastry and came with a good vanilla sauce.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value for great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This restaurant is a very typical one, located on the other side of the river (old sachsenhausen). After a nice walking by the river we arrived. Our table was already booked and they had a funny post with our family name on it! The staff was very nice and they even had a menu written in portuguese! The dishes are very tasty and really good prices. We ended with a great apfelstrudel!
I recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting Frankfurt!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia_Portol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dauth-Schneider also viewed

 

Been to Dauth-Schneider? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing