We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
675
572
157
43
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
572
157
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor rooftop bar floor to ceiling windows hamburg port red light district great hotel pauli district modern hotel corner room great bar business visit fish market river view room service basic room walk in shower public transport
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Stayed 2 nights for conference in May.
Basic room facility, fast internet, nice view, very good restaurant Waterkant which opens for dinner and breakfast.
Red light district is nearby and didn't feel safe to walk near the hotel at night, but towards the harbour it is short walk to the rickmer rickmers museum ship. nice location to take a stroll during the day time.
Called a cab through reception 2 mornings and there was a long wait about 20-30mins so if you have a meeting make sure to start early.
Waterkant serves very good bouyabese and their seasonal white asparagus dish with hollandise sauce was also wonderful.

Room Tip: harbour view room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyhan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNiebuhr, Manager at Empire Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your great words after your stay at the Empire Riverside Hotel.

Your feedback is highly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us here in Hamburg.

We would be very happy to welcome you one day again in the Empire Riverside Hotel.

Kind regards
Stefanie Niebuhr - Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Staying as a guest in this hotel, I wanted to have a night cap before going to bed.
I went to the bar and was refused access because of wearing sandals...
That's not what I expect from the place I'm staying at.
The room was clean and simple with very nice floor to ceiling windows.
Internet access could be faster.
I'll not stay here again and will pick a more casual place next time where I can feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Thank michael_portz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNiebuhr, Manager at Empire Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear valued guest,

thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay in the Empire Riverside Hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope that you had nevertheless a good time in Hamburg.

We will remit your feedback to our colleagues from the Food and Beverage department.

Kind regards
Stefanie Niebuhr - Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Been there with my colleagues for sightseeing stayed there for a night

The rooms are well appointed and the view from the room on the river side is breathtaking

The survival kit inside the bathroom was a surprise which also included a French letter among other things as earbuds sewing kit

The breakfast was well spread with multiple choices put the placement was quite weird . One had to search for coffee and juices

The lobby area is big and a nice place to chill

The checkin and checkout was also a breeze

The location of the hotel is the best part not far from the shopping area and the river side

Recommended

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank venky_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNiebuhr, Manager at Empire Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear valued guest,

thanks for sharing your honest impressions to us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay at the Empire Riverside Hotel and enjoyed the atmosphere as well. It’s nice to read that you liked these features.

We are pleased to welcome you once more in our hotel.
Kind regards
Stefanie Niebuhr - Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Very good and efficient hotel that is business focused. Ideally located for business in the Port area which is a short walk away. Large selection available at the breakfast buffet and all staff are friendly. Complained about a leaking sink in my room and it ws promptly repaired the same day.

Room Tip: Rooms are good but pillows too soft for me
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNiebuhr, Manager at Empire Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your great words after your stay at the Empire Riverside Hotel.

Your feedback is highly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us here in Hamburg and we are honoured to see you have found our service quality worthy of mentioning.

We would be very happy to welcome you once more in our Hotel.

Kind regards
Stefanie Niebuhr - Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

When you check in you get a survival bag to help you for partying in Hamburg
My wife still doesn’t believe me ..

I work a lot in Hamburg and it’s the only place I stay now , WiFi , a smart TV you can stream you own phone too and the best breakfast in any hotel in the city.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Gordypope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNiebuhr, Manager at Empire Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear valued guest,

we loved your review! Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of our property.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us in Hamburg.

We would be very happy to welcome you one day again in the Empire Riverside Hotel.

Kind regards
Stefanie Niebuhr - Guest Relation


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews