We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't do much better for quality and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARCOTEL Rubin
Ranked #66 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“You won't do much better for quality and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Arcotel Rubin in Hamburg is one the best value for money 4-star properties I've ever seen. The location is super-convenient to Hamburg's central station (an easy 10-minute walk) making it perfect for connecting to the airport via the S1 rail link. The hotel itself is SPOTLESS and my standard room was spacious, well designed and absolutely immaculate. I didn't have breakfast, but the bar and restaurant area are both beautifully presented. My only minor complaint was the tiny gym on the 7th floor: although the sauna and 'chill out' area were very welcome additions the fitness centre, the lack of equipment will be a disappointment for any 'gym junkie' business travelers. I also love the fact that this hotel is directly opposite a neighborhood supermarket, which is a giant bonus for restaurant-weary travelers. I am definitely staying here again on my next trip to Hamburg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    319
    109
    16
    16
See reviews for
60
287
46
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This has got to be one of the cleanest and quietest rooms i have ever stayed in. Never heard a single noise in the three days we stayed. Easy location from the central train station. Good breakfast,very good comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Nice hotel in a good location with a decent size room.

I turned up to the hotel a few hours too early and unfortunately they could not accommodate me. I found this very frustrating as I had been up since early hours and most four star hotels think about this.

Not far to go to reach the high street and Christmas markets and the hotel is right by the tube.

The room was nice and cleaned to a good standard. I did however book a room with a double bed an got two single beds, but I think this is a European thing.

I would stay here again if I had a later flight

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny R, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for being guest in our hotel and for your nice feedback.

Unfortunately your stay started with negative impressions and we apologize it. Due to the fact that our regulary chec-out time is at noon, we can not guarantee an early check-in but as allways we do our best to clean a room as soon as possible whenever a guest come before the regular check-in time of 3p.m.

We want to thank you also, for the nice words about our rooms.

We are looking forward seeing you soon again at the ARCOTEL Rubin

With kind regards

BENNY RITZMANN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked this hotel for a short 4 day minibreak over a weekend. The hotel was easy to find near the main railway station and is conveniently located opposite a Lidl supermarket which is handy for freshly cooked croissants for breakfast. We stayed in a 'comfort' room on the second floor which was quiet, with no noise heard from other guests. There was a bit of noise from traffic outside and the aircon, but this didn't bother us.

We booked a double bed, but the room had two singles. Upon querying this, the receptionist advised all rooms were twin and the beds could be pushed together to make a double. Not entirely satisfactory and this should be pointed out on their website.

There is no wifi in rooms although there are three pcs for use in the reception area. There was a flat screen tv on the wall, although the screen size was a little small & it should be noted there are no tea and coffee facilities provided in this room class.

The good thing about the hotel is the location - it's next to an underground station and only 5 minutes walk from the main station, which connects directly to the airport. There are also some good restaurants nearby on the same street as the hotel. We ate at Restaurant Kabul (Afghani food) on one night and a vietnamese on another night. Both restaurants were very friendly and provided excellent food.

Overall a good place to stay due to location, but the hotel was nothing special for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny R, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to say thank you very much for being guest at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg in conjunction with your helpful Feedback on www.tripadvisor.com.

We apologize that we could not match your wishes about the room conditions but we used your feedback to improve ourselves.

We would like to inform you that we have complimentary WiFi available since December 2011.
We like to show you how to dial in during your next stay.

For any further questions and your next reservation in our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards, BENNY RITZMANN, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I booked this hotel online for a conference.I had a conflict and could not go to the meeting and cancelled the hotel well in advance.I very carefully checked to make sure that it was refundable when I booked it.

I was never refunded my cost (about $700) and they have not answered my e-mails.

I am a very experienced traveller and have never had this scam before.Avoid online booking and be careful if this is their business standard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny R, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest,

we appreciate you taking the time for giving us a feedback on www.tripadvisor.com.
Due to the fact that incident happened more than half a year ago we will contact you personally to clarify it.
Please be assure that all our guest’s comments and feedbacks are a valuable good in our house that gives us the chance to see ourselves with our guests eyes.

Yours faithfully
BENNY RITZMANN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#115 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Property: ARCOTEL Rubin
Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#67 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,461 - ₹ 14,777
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamburg and its trendy cultural district of St. Georg, the 4-star superior design hotel is the ideal starting point for city and business trips. The city centre, numerous sights, the river Alster, Hamburg's exhibition grounds and the central railway station are situated within walking distance or a short ride on public transport. The ARCOTEL Rubin lets guests' eyes sparkle in Hamburg, the "Pearl of the North". The 4-star superior hotel offers both genial Austrian hospitality as well as top-class service thus treating its guests to an enjoyable stay in the Hanseatic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing