We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with a good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #79 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location with a good room”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is ideally placed, a mere one block from the main pedestrian street, Spitalerstrasse, and also one block from the central train station. Great for arriving from the aiport by train S1! To visit the main art museum, Kunsthalle, you must only cross the street.
The room was comfortable, with a good size. Breakfast had many hot and cold items. The reception staff was attentive, clarifying my doubts.
The free ticket for Hamburg transportation system was terrific, as well as the entrance for the Miniatur Wonderland included in my hotel package.
Two negative points were the presence of only two english language channels on TV and the computer at the lobby, which has the minimum price of 4.50 euro per hour.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsrio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    209
    94
    27
    5
See reviews for
45
152
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

There is a huge choice of hotels in Hamburg and this one ticked all the boxes for us. Close to the hauptbahnhoff it is within easy walking distance to the town centre (c. 10 mins). There are a number of exits from the station so be sure to use the right one (Spitalerstrasse / Glockengiesserwall). We had a double room (smoking as requested) which was spotless and quite comfortable. The room was to the back so no view but a good nights sleep. No tea/coffee making facilities unfortunately but the usual mini bar.

There was a good choice in the breakfast buffet, couldn't fault it.

The free bus travel ticket valid for your stay is a nice touch and any of the staff we dealt with were all very pleasant.

We had an hour to spare before leaving to get the train to the airport and would highly recommend a stroll around the lake. Take a left turn out of the hotel and walk for a couple of minutes to the top of the road to the traffic lights. Cross over the road and walk down to the waters edge where there is a lovely walk with plenty of seating - really nice and especially when the sun in shining.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowSunbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted to stay somewhere central to the Christmas markets and the reviews looked good. We were travelling with our 2 year old and my parents. Staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. Though I thought €15pp for breakfast was a bit steep.

My only problem was the door lock. It's too easy for children to open. The door was locked by lifting the handle up.. which is fine if there are only adults in the room. We ended up having to stand guard beside the door or leave our large suitcase up against it to stop our very active daughter from opening it and running out. A simple lock fitted high up on the door would have made a difference.

Other than that the hotel was clean, warm and central and I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the Intercity for 3 nights in July. The hotel is ideally situated with regard to both the bus and railway stations, also many shops and restaurants are nearby and it is only a 10 minute walk to the Rathaus. The hotel is modern and the room was of reasonable size and clean, as was the bathroom. The reception staff were very helpful and the free transportation card is definitely a bonus. Our room rate did not include breakfast - we used the excellent cafe opposite the hotel. The area in which the hotel is located was perfectly safe both day and night. Would certainly recommend this hotel as an ideal choice for a city break.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

A bit more friendly would help. When I asked at front desk for an iron and ironing board I was immediately offered to take it myself with me – I have only 2 hands and had 3 bags. When I got to the room, despite indicating in comments of reservation NON SMOKING, I was put in a smoking room. At the front desk, instead of an apology I was told that it is not in the reservation and they will make an exception. The room was nice and airy. Shortly after I walked into my room after moving my stuff from one room to another, someone from front desk popped up at my front door asking me if I already MOVED IN –all that time his eyes were glued to a small plate that had a few fruit on it – obviously that plate was not destined for me. This was not my first stay and overall I would rate the hotel as good, but people working at the front desk need to be a bit more friendly and attentive even if it’s a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
1,358 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#52 of 318 in Hamburg
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
#40 of 318 in Hamburg
721 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Property: IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Address: Glockengiesserwall 14/15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,143 - ₹ 15,730
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof is situated centrally in the city of Hamburg, between main station, Monckebergstrasse, Kunsthalle and the Alster. Good connections by local public transport make it possible to reach all of the most important places quickly and comfortably, such as the Fish Market, the harbour, the Reeperbahn and many museums as well as the numerous shopping centres and places of entertainment. With a distance of only 2 km, the exhibition grounds are also in reach of the InterCityHotel in the centre of Hamburg. The FreeCityTicket for Hamburg included in the price of your room serves as your ticket for the free use of local public transport throughout the whole of the Hanseatic city, the surrounding area and the HADAG Elbe ferries. The comfortable InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof with its 155 convenient sound-proofed rooms and individual settings for the air conditioning, is already the second InterCityHotel in the hanseatic capital. The 5 conference rooms which are combinable in part and offer a maximum in daylight and state-of-the-art technology, cater for up to 90 conference participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing