We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster hotel in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #36 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2007

The side is the hip hotel in Hamburg. Good location, great though small rooms. Cool lobby, great service.

The food at the fusion restaurant which also does room service is excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank RalphGleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 541 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2007

I stayed at the Side - a design/futuristic hotel - for a few days - Friday to Tuesday - the first few days were for a personal trip with the Monday and Tuesday for work.

I greatly enjoyed my bright and well appointed room and found the staff extremely friendly indeed. The Eco friendly heating system - though not immediately responsive ( takes 40 minutes to boot up) - is a great idea. The spa area was good though the pool a bit difficult for laps for more than two people due to the huge pillars in the middle.

The hotel has probably the best breakfast I have ever experienced at a hotel - it was truly exceptional in its variety, quality and display! - and it is fantastic that it continues to 2pm at the weekends - VERY civilized when you want to relax at the weekend!

The Side is really well located for shopping and walks - a real pleasure to have access to all of this so easily.

My only MASSIVE problem was the HUGE difficulty I had with the Internet access! Not only is access not free - (at this price of hotel and level of modernity, i believe, it should be!) I wasted hours of my trip trying to find a way of connecting to either LAN or wi-fi. From within a half an hour of checking in until i gave up three days later it was a constant and total headache. LAN access is only for those with a registered German telephone number - why o why??. At one point I thought the problem was with my computer yet I left the Side and Hamburg to travel to London and had no problem whatsoever hooking up to wi-fi or LAN at the next hotel the next night and at every hotel since.

The IT staff of the hotel spent two hours with me on the Saturday afternoon, he was great and tried everything yet nothing worked! I also spent 2 hours on the wi-fi providers hotline - all to no avail. Besides this - even if you do not have a computer with you - there is only one other computer available to guests ( the @box on the first floor) - I spent ages going up and down in the elevator one afternoon in the hope that one guest squatting the box (as he browsed ebay) would give me a break - I gave up! A comment made by a very friendly and efficient member of the front desk staff at check out led me to believe that mine was not an isolated Internet case.

A great pace to stay, in my opinion, if you get a good rate and you don't need to use the Internet! Yet the hotel website gives you the impression that its uber communications and business traveller driven!

I enjoyed my stay but believe that a hotel purporting to be design and modern should be just that! Modernity should not just be limited to the style of the fixtures and an illusion of trendy urban Zen. Zen.......... my trip wasn't!

I would certainly go back - and look forward to - but only if I received the GUARANTEE that i had independent Internet access i my room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank aTRIPinTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Side Design Hotel is considered one of the best and most unusal hotels in the city center of Hamburg. The rooms are very modern and come with great complimentary Ole Henrikson toiletries. The spa here is fabulous and there was nobody using the pool area at all when I used it. It is quiet and private and towels, slippers, shampoos, body lotion, razors and even toothbrushes are all free of extra charges. The Fusion Bar is open in the lobby is open until 2am every night.

The only disappointed is that there is no complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. I found that the staff were very helpful here and they all speak fluent English. I would recommend anyone who enjoys style and has an interest in interior design to stay at SIDE. Even the toilets downstairs are like going into something from the set of Star Trek!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SophieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

Thought I would try this place as it is in a great location, and the normal 'business' choices e.g. Marriott, Radisson were charging extortionate prices.

Very impressive entrance and lobby, with pleasant and efficient check-in staff, who were not cold or snobbish as previously mentioned by some reviewers.

Was shown to my room which was very impressive (7th floor), I think it was just a standard room. A great size, with lots of buttons to press e.g. lighting, curtains. I thought the modern decor was great, however I realise it will not be to everyone's taste.

Didn't try the restaurant, which was very busy, but spent a while in the bar. It was interesting, quite trendy but not painfully so. They made some nice g&t 's ! Had a great night's sleep in a very comfy bed, and the breakfast was really good - there was nothing more you could want.

My only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank JCSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

I just returned from a AMAZING stay at the very cool Side hotel and as a frequent traveller in hamburg this is absolute one of the best hotels in hamburg and the very best DESIGN hotel in this beautiful city-A TRUE 5***** EXPERIENCE!!!
SIDE is very good located in the heart of hamburg and you have the citycenter in walking distance.SIDE is a AMAZING design hotel located in a 12 floors building of beautiful nature stone & glas.The Atrium lobby is just AMAZING and the light installations of new-york designer Robot Wilson is a just WAU!!!
I stayed in a Deluxe room wich was outstanding with AMAZING design.The room was very big a also very clean.The kingking size bed was just a dream and the bathroom was a beautiful mixture of glass and dark wood and all the Ole Henriksen products was a very nice touch!!!
The hotel also have a very good restaurant (Fusion) and is also here you have the breakfast.If you don't have breakfast include you have to treat yourself with this AMAZING experience.
This breakfast is the very best I have ever tryed in any hotel!!!
Such a great quality ond choise of everything you can imagine-Just go for it and I sure you don't will be disapointed.
Another 5***** experience was the wellnees with a beautiful pool-jacuzzi-sauna and a big gym.
All the staff from reception to housekeepers was allways with a big smile,so if you want to treat yourself with a 5***** stay in the center of Hamburg and like AMAZING design you must pick this hotel!!!
I will for sure be back soon as possible for another 5***** experience!!!Thanxx Side

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank ROMAAMOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 323 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 323 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
St. Pauli
east Hotel Hamburg
east Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 323 in Hamburg
839 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 323 in Hamburg
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Drehbahn 49, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: ₹ 14,690 - ₹ 26,826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Hamburgs first 5* Design Hotel, SIDE is directly located in the heart of the city. Built by architect Jan Störmer, designed by Matteo Thun and illuminated by Robert Wilson, space and light have been put perfectly in relation to one another. These are the factors, which essentially shape the heart of the hotel and make the SIDE a sensual location for the urban generation of today. The 168 rooms in different categories are minimalist in style, yet welcoming, comfortable and with a personal touch. Ten "flying" suites on the 10th and 11th floor are all decked out in white. A further highlight of the hotel is the Sky Lounge and the roof top terrace on the 8th floor which offer an impressive view over Hamburg. The [m]eatery bar +restaurant serves dry aged steaks, different self-made burgers and special tartars. Colourblocking is a key theme in the SIDE SPA. This wellness oasis is refreshingly colourful and luxuriously furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Hamburg
Side Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing