We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Motel Hamburg; clean, great value & a touch eccentric”
Review of Hamburg Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamburg Motel
Ranked #182 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 10 March 2015

My friend lives close to the Motel, and he originally recommended it, when I planned to visit him.

This was my second visit; I'd booked a single room each time, but this visit actually had a double bed (Room 1). The Motel has been renovated/decorated fairly recently, and both rooms were clean, but it also retains some original 1950s fixtures and fittings, which adds to its charm. It has a slightly otherworldly feel. I was there four nights each time. Check-in and out is easy, staff are extremely friendly and helpful, I love the breakfasts. Quiet at night. Red squirrels scampering around on the trees in the courtyard, and on my balcony.

The bedrooms can be very warm (I visited in November 2013, then again late February 2015) - better than being chilly, but I did need to open the window at times. Room and bathroom were cleaned and serviced each day. I could have used the free parking garage below the room, but had no need to - and it's really easy to hop on a bus, and be in the centre. Hoheluftbrucke U-bahn station is 5 minutes walk, Dammtor station is 8 minutes by bus, and it's 15-20 minutes to get to the Rathaus by bus. There's also history locally, if you know where to look (my friend Elmar is a great local guide). It was great value for money - at the current exchange rate, it worked out at about £51 per night for B&B, very little compared to other hotels in the city. Free wi-fi - worked fine on my phone (a code was SMS'd to you) but I couldn't work out how to get it working on my iPad, but it didn't really bother me.

If I had a few minor quibbles, it's that the rooms can be pretty small, and each visit the shower stall has leaked (curtains don't fit) and the toilet roll holders really do need replacing. But that's about it. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was impressed with the courtesy of the staff at the front desk; they are polite, friendly and informative and they treat you as a valued clients. The rooms are nicely decorated with oak wood furniture and the bathroom is clean with amenities. (I haven't been in a hotel with a piece of soap in a small box for a long time, and Hamburg Motel has it!) So you can see the details this motel is trying to offer to the travellers; a decent motel,its service can be compatiable with a star-graded hotel in the main tourist area. High recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect for the business traveller. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, fair-sized rooms, and pretty central. Also very quiet. Good for families. Decent breakfast buffet (particularly the fresh fruit).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank wittsy_64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

excellent service, good location, no noise, except loud conversation of room neighbours, banging of doors, small, but good room, clean, friendly and competent service, good bus connections, price okay, free parking,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was the fourth time I've stayed here, and I always enjoy the location (close to my client) and the friendliness already reported. I arrived from an overseas flight at 8:00 a.m. And they had a room available for me by 10:00 a.m. At no extra charge, what a treat! My only complaint is the poor wifi reception in the rooms, I had to go to the breakfast room or the common room to get reliable service, but it is free.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Helgoland
Hotel Helgoland
#222 of 321 in Hamburg
54 reviews
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#102 of 321 in Hamburg
176 reviews
Romantik Hotel das Smolka
#104 of 321 in Hamburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eppendorf
Dorint Hotel Hamburg-Eppendorf
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Restaurant Engel
Hotel Restaurant Engel
#153 of 321 in Hamburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Motel

Address: Hoheluftchaussee 117-119, 20253 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,367 - ₹ 7,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamburg Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hamburg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing