We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business, and that's basicly what it also was, a business hotel.
The hotel is easy to reach from the airport by train; It takes about 45 minutes with the S1 to the Stadhausbrücke-stop (ticket costs only €2,85), followed by a 5-10 minute walk.
The city center is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, so quite close, but I did not particulaly liked the direct surroundngs of the hotel: at the Sunday night I was there there was absolutely nobody on the street!! Typically for Hamburg, I was later told. Should I visit Hamburg again, and not be bound to the location I had to be for my work, I would choose a place a bit more central.
Room was perfect in size, but the decaoration was a bit outdated in style, a bit of a strange mix. Nice new classic sofa, comfy bed, but bland painting-prints on the wall and a very out of place desk/table of bamboo in the room. Rooms also have a small kitchen, so I can imagine this is a very nice to stay for family's.
Breakfast (buffet) was nice, with very attentive staff.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank CharshankRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    220
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
146
348
51
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
326 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms here were large and clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good. The shower had a squeeze container with a combination body wash and shampoo. The "kitchen" had dishes, dish towels, glasses, and silverware.

If you draw a circle around the hotel, most major sites are within a 15-minute walk within the circle. You can walk to the harbor, the Rathaus and Alster Lake, St. Pauli, the Portuguese restaurant area, etc. The Baumwall U-Bahn stop is a 3-minute walk. Other than the Amber Cafe which is a good place for breakfast across the street, there are no stores, apothecaries, or restaurants close to the hotel.

One unusual thing for such a new
Hotel is that the safe locks with a key which may be a problem for those sharing a room with independent schedules.

I am deducting points for service because I sent them 2 emails after making my reservation and they did not reply to either.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here as a family of four in the suite and really enjoyed our stay at the Madison Hotel. One big advantage was the size and layout of the family room/suite which meant you actually had 3 separate rooms (two bedrooms and a sitting-room) with lots of space! The rooms were modern and stylish and spotless.

The hotel is in a very quiet location, no large streets while nevertheless being close to the centre of town (shopping and sights) as well as the harbour district. The S-Bahn is also close by (direct link to airport). Also there are lots of restaurants between the hotel and the harbour - Spanish, Portuguese and Italian.

Would recommend the Madison unreservedly as a base for visiting Hamburg!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudless11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I just stayed at the Madison Hotel for the third time and can very highly recommend it. I stayed in the Hampton Loft with my boyfriend on my previous two visits. This time I shared a Studio room with a friend (were there to run the Hamburg Marathon) and although not romantic, the room was still very very nice and spacious. The kitchenette was the same as the Loft room, only without a Nespresso machine. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were too tired the evening after the marathon to go out for dinner, so we called Reception and they recommended a pizza delivery service. (We had eaten at the hotel restaurant after the race, which was excellent)

But here is the kind of service and attention to detail that makes this hotel so special. On my previous stay in September, I forgot the charging cable to my cell phone. But before I could ask about it, on the off chance that it might be in the lost and found, I came back to the room to find my cable and a letter "reuniting" me with my cable, as it had stayed a bit longer!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathongirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spend here 4 nights for having a nice weekend in beautiful Hamburg. Location is perfect, say a 5 minutes walk down to Hafen-City,(don't miss it in the summer with this location!), and 10 minutes up to the shopping district. Perfect connection Airport-Hotel via the S1, ticket euro 2.85 p.p., halte Stadhausbrucke, 5 minutes walk down via Herrengraben. This is an efficient runned hotel with plenty staff to keep rooms and corridors clean. Service at the desk very helpful and giving all the information you want.
There is a weekly list with events going on and a recommended restaurant somewhere else.
Madison's restaurant is good for say an efficient dinner. The Madisonburger for 10.50 is great.
The breakfast (16,50 eur p.p.) is good and in ample supply. The only problem is that if it's busy, they are not always hands on to fill up and give the service they certainly want.
Other possibility is to take breakfast at Amber Cafe, just on the opposite, cheap and good.
The concept of the hotel is ok, more a bussines hotel, but it feels good.
We were unlucky that the spa's pool was just in renovation, and a minus is that we felt the technical maintenace for this 4 star hotel is average looking at the mini-kitchen baseboards and the shower-switch. Otherwise it had been an excellent rating specially for value and location!

Room Tip: In our opinion all the rooms are very ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,545 - ₹ 21,405
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing