We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, nice feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Hamburg Alster
Ranked #27 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern, nice feeling”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Excellent breakfast, nice lobby bar and close to the wonderful Alster sea. City bikes to rent right a cross the hotel. We went running in the mornings - 9,2 km from hotell and around the sea. Good italian restaurant nearby "Turnhalle".

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyrun_thune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    360
    52
    11
    4
See reviews for
62
216
82
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Another trip to Germany and another stay in Motel One.This newish 17 floor hotel really is much nicer than either the star ratings or price would lead you to believe.
10 minutes walk to the Aussen Alster lake through a small park.Five minutes to the Lange Reihe bars and restaurants.The U bahn stops right outside.
The rooms have super quality fittings for the price .The beds,linen and towels are also a cut or two above Ibis or Premier Inn standards.
This motel also has a nice bar and terrace doing reasonably priced drinks and quality coffee.
Let's hope Motel One expand into the UK soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richcath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Typical but perfect Motel One visit. Mostly business customers. Not one complaint. Location is perfect for vacation visit. Parking is available on site and public transportation is right outside to the door to take you anywhere. Staff and attention given to customers was outstanding. Highly recommend this Motel One location!

Room Tip: we were given a room looking out to the Alster - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel, part of the Motel One chain, delivers excellent value and great service. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the overall ambiance of the place is just right. There is an U Bahn station right outside of the front door so getting around Hamburg is easy. The rooms have Loewe flat-screen TVs and there are 4 elevators in the building, so you don't have to wait long, especially if your room is on the 19th floor!

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hamburg.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob9billion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for four nights so that I could attend the Take That Gig at the Imtech Arena. We found it very easy to get to as there is a U-Bahn station almost directly outside the hotel. We arrived at 11.30am and although they state the check-in time as 3pm we were able to check-in with no fuss. The Staff were very pleasent including the cleaning staff and immaculately turned out. The rooms although not huge were very comfortable and the first two nights we were there I slept better than I have for a long time. The Motel was immaculately clean and had a lovely feel to it. Although I would probarbly not return to Hamburg because I am more of a country bumpkin I would certainly stay in a Motel One again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
655 reviews
Ibis Hamburg City
#40 of 318 in Hamburg
588 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg Alster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg Alster

Property: Motel One Hamburg Alster
Address: Steindamm 102, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,831 - ₹ 6,997
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Hamburg Alster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Design Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Hamburg Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg Alster
Motel One Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing