We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Impala Hotel(Hamburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Miramar(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mare(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
185
351
185
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
351
185
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslubecker strasserewe supermarketeuropean holidaygroup ticketsmall supermarketboiled eggsdecent staydouble bedtrain systemcontinental breakfastunderground stationincluded in the ratecold meatsshort walkfree wifieasy accessstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Due to an Aircraft Expo show in Hamburg "my standard" hotels were either booked or far to expensive. Thats´s how I ended up in the HIE Hamburg City Center. Bit ugly from outside it is sort of a metamorphosis from inside. Very new, modern, stylish and clean is how to describe the interior. Both, the rooms as well as the bathroom are a bit small, but nicely furnished, everything necessary available and very quiet to the back side of the main street. I very much liked the good shower, towels could be more soft. The breakfast is - HIE standard - free + the atmosphere was far away from hectic although the hotel was fully booked. There is a large lobby, with several TV sets and a bar. Ten Parking spots in the back of the hotel are available for free plus they have a garage (to be paid). However there is large supermarket (with parking...) just in the back area of the hotel, so overnight you might park your car at our own risk there, that for free :-) too. I was asked to pay the night of arrival, which made check out really quick. All in all this is a good business hotel in a not very spectacular area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter if you want to leave window open.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Mr. TDBBerlin,

Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay.
We are pleased to see that especially our quiet rooms, as well as our hotel facilities have convinced you.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

IHG(parent company) needs to retrain the check-in personnel at this property. Checked in, was given a room w/2 beds. Returned to reception and asked for a room w/double. Was rudely told NO....I booked a "standard room". Since the specific room type was not provided online, the hotel assigned 2 beds. Again, I advised the receptionist that I would like a double bed. Again, was told NO.

Keep in mind that I am a GOLD member with this hotel chain & booked 3 nites. Since the receptionist (she) was so rude, I informed her to cancel my reservation immediately since she could/would not provide a room w/double bed.

To make a long story short, rang IHG Guest Relations, informed them of the problem, they rang the hotel directly and made another reservation........I just want to say: REALLY!!!!

Isn't she properly trained?? Does she know the IHG reward category program?? WHY would you refuse to provide a guest his/her request, if its available???

Based on my initial impression of this property, I will not be staying at this location.....& yes,
I have already informed IHG reward program of my decision.

This Ladies and Gentlemen, is how the right people in the right job can affect your profit, reputation and customer experience.

Hotel is very CLEAN, nic breakfast and shopping,etc....just minutes away walking....

Room Tip: DONT PAY FOR PARKING....REWE (supermarket) is directly behind the hotel and has loads of free parking........Ask for a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear universeho,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasent experience with our front desk staff. We have discussed with the concerned department and employees to improve our service based on your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon as our guest to convince your expectations regarding our service quality.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in the way to visit Denmark and we decide to stay one night in Hamburg.The city is spectacular and this hotel is just amazing!so comfortable with very kind people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noribaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Noribaires,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are very pleased to hear that you have spent a good time with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very convenient location 3 min walk to S Bahn, (garage for 10€/day is expensive but outside parking rarely a problem, a quality supermarket next door, friendly staff, breakfast is great with rich choices from hard boiled eggs to 2-3 kinds of cheese, jams, cereals, etc. Decent sized and recently renovated rooms. I thinh this hotel caters to anyone who is looking for a moderatley priced hotel with all the needed amenities without the excess luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side are quiter. Our kids complained a little about the emergency vehicle sirens
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mozhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Mozhan,
Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us, and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to see that especially our complimentary breakfast buffet, as well as our rooms have completely convinced you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

There is not much choice in Hamburg if you're looking for stylish, clean and modern accomodation near the city centre for less than 70 EUR per night, but we booked IHG's best available rate and stayed at Holiday Inn Express. Lubecker Strasse is not really City Centre but the U-Bahn is really close and gets you everywhere within 10 minutes. Wandsbek Markt shops are only a couple of stops away and a Rewe supermarkt right next to the hotel. Parking the rental car was also not a problem at all.

The rooms are quite small but really trendy and modern. The bathrooms are excellent, the shower spacious and with good pressure. The only thing I missed was a mini-bar and a bit better service. Some staff came across a bit rude to our english guests we stayed with. However, this might be a problem due to language and culture. They're not rude, they're just not as polite as british people.

The bar has a nice selection of drinks and good atmosphere, however using the laptop (which made a few sounds) I was asked to leave because it might disturb other guests (there was a couple of guys drinking in the corner and a guy talking very loud on his phone). But again, maybe they're not rude. They're just Germans.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1m0n86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear s1m0n86,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are pleased to hear that you liked our rooms with the stylish design and the modern equipment, and as well, that you point out the excellency of our bathrooms. As well it is good to know that you liked the atmosphere and the menu of our bar.
I am absolutely convinced that none of our colleagues meant to be rude to you or your guests, nevertheless, I have taken the chance to use your comments here on tripadvisor for another behavior training for all staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest soon,
your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews