We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #59 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Walferdange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Was in Hamburg for just 2 days, this was a good place to stay. Fairly quiet area, but close to the centre. Room fairly small, but good enough, and very clean. Staff friendly and efficient. Good selection at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mampoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Mr Mampoor,

thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us, and we appreciate the review of your stay. We are pleased to see that especially our complimentary breakfast buffet, our front desk staff as well as our rooms have completely convinced you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as our guest.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    309
    156
    34
    11
See reviews for
193
215
37
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Due to an Aircraft Expo show in Hamburg "my standard" hotels were either booked or far to expensive. Thats´s how I ended up in the HIE Hamburg City Center. Bit ugly from outside it is sort of a metamorphosis from inside. Very new, modern, stylish and clean is how to describe the interior. Both, the rooms as well as the bathroom are a bit small, but nicely furnished, everything necessary available and very quiet to the back side of the main street. I very much liked the good shower, towels could be more soft. The breakfast is - HIE standard - free + the atmosphere was far away from hectic although the hotel was fully booked. There is a large lobby, with several TV sets and a bar. Ten Parking spots in the back of the hotel are available for free plus they have a garage (to be paid). However there is large supermarket (with parking...) just in the back area of the hotel, so overnight you might park your car at our own risk there, that for free :-) too. I was asked to pay the night of arrival, which made check out really quick. All in all this is a good business hotel in a not very spectacular area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter if you want to leave window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Mr. TDBBerlin,

Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay.
We are pleased to see that especially our quiet rooms, as well as our hotel facilities have convinced you.
Whenever you should come back to Hamburg we will be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

IHG(parent company) needs to retrain the check-in personnel at this property. Checked in, was given a room w/2 beds. Returned to reception and asked for a room w/double. Was rudely told NO....I booked a "standard room". Since the specific room type was not provided online, the hotel assigned 2 beds. Again, I advised the receptionist that I would like a double bed. Again, was told NO.

Keep in mind that I am a GOLD member with this hotel chain & booked 3 nites. Since the receptionist (she) was so rude, I informed her to cancel my reservation immediately since she could/would not provide a room w/double bed.

To make a long story short, rang IHG Guest Relations, informed them of the problem, they rang the hotel directly and made another reservation........I just want to say: REALLY!!!!

Isn't she properly trained?? Does she know the IHG reward category program?? WHY would you refuse to provide a guest his/her request, if its available???

Based on my initial impression of this property, I will not be staying at this location.....& yes,
I have already informed IHG reward program of my decision.

This Ladies and Gentlemen, is how the right people in the right job can affect your profit, reputation and customer experience.

Hotel is very CLEAN, nic breakfast and shopping,etc....just minutes away walking....

Room Tip: DONT PAY FOR PARKING....REWE (supermarket) is directly behind the hotel and has loads of free parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear universeho,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasent experience with our front desk staff. We have discussed with the concerned department and employees to improve our service based on your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon as our guest to convince your expectations regarding our service quality.

Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in the way to visit Denmark and we decide to stay one night in Hamburg.The city is spectacular and this hotel is just amazing!so comfortable with very kind people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noribaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Noribaires,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are very pleased to hear that you have spent a good time with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very convenient location 3 min walk to S Bahn, (garage for 10€/day is expensive but outside parking rarely a problem, a quality supermarket next door, friendly staff, breakfast is great with rich choices from hard boiled eggs to 2-3 kinds of cheese, jams, cereals, etc. Decent sized and recently renovated rooms. I thinh this hotel caters to anyone who is looking for a moderatley priced hotel with all the needed amenities without the excess luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side are quiter. Our kids complained a little about the emergency vehicle s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Mozhan,
Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us, and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to see that especially our complimentary breakfast buffet, as well as our rooms have completely convinced you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Holiday Inn Hamburg
#85 of 319 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,011 - ₹ 16,657
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing