We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
90
108
44
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
108
44
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews design hotel the river great location lobby area old town an upgrade bars and restaurants walking distance very nice hotel weser shower easel receptionist sauna shampoo carpet bedding
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We had been looking forward to staying here, the website and reviews were very positive. But we felt the place was trying too hard and we really didn't like it. We stayed in a family room, the furnishings weren't just minimalistic, it was plain spartan and not very well thought out. There was one armchair, all other seating were stools (or the bed). There is plenty of space for a sofa. There is a kitchenette with coffee maker which could be so handy, but no tea or coffee. So you'd have to buy it etc. A small amount to see you through your first morning is normal and this is supposed to be a four star hotel. Our room was loud (upstairs), outside was loud (Saturday night) so couldn't really open the window so it was stuffy - and the mattress was really hard. Maybe the other room types are more comfortable, but we felt it had the air of an expensive youth hostel. The furniture, what there was, didn't pull off whatever style it was going for.
There is no parking - which they do state - unloading bags and a family could be challenging if you can't find a spot.

We did like the pool area and the evening staff were really friendly and helpful; we were accommodated for dinner despite no reservation and they helped us with a special request. Breakfast could have been good, it tried too hard to be different. The server that morning was not too engaging, and unhelpful - we asked for apple juice - which they have as we had it the night before - but they don't have it out for breakfast and it's not included. Normally, if you have something on property you would offer it at an extra charge. We didn't expect a freebie. A really good place would give it to you though as a nice gesture. It's these little attention to details that you learn in the hospitality trade that were missing from some staff.

We didn't feel comfortable there, had a bad nights sleep, and checked out a day early.

I don't like leaving a negative review, I think there are good staff there, the location is great and the bones of the hotel are good - it just needs improving upon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniellaweigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 April 2017

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your copious feedback of your last stay. We are always be desirous to satisfy all of our guests. We apologies that you did not receive the service and conveniences you had expected. Please be assure that we are always acting in the meaning of all our guests. We would like to have it done during your stay. Our staff at the reception desk are able to help you at any time. Thank you very much for your suggestion. We will improve our service and will discuss what happened so we would like to welcome you again in our beautiful Designhotel at the river esplanade Schlachte in the heart of our town. Please give us the opportunity to show you we are the right hotel for you and your family in Bremen.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

With best ragards

Yours Designhotel ÜberFluss Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Quite similar design than at the 25 hours Bikini Berlin, in Berlin - but unfortunately the experience was not at the same level. Somehow a bit outdated, too unexperienced personnel, small mistakes here and there. Empty bowls at breakfast, dirty carpet etc

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LauriM216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2017

Dear Lauri M.,

thank you for you feedback. It is very important for us to share your experiences with us. We still work on renovating and redesigning our beautiful hotel. Please accept our apologies that you did not receive the expexted achievements.
Next time, we will exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Bremen.

With best regards

Your team from the Designhotel ÜberFluss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed at a family room this time, it got an extra smaller room inside the room so perfect for us.
The view is great, we can see the canal directly. I especially like the furniture in the lobby area and in the room, great choices.
Staff are very friendly, gave us some travel tips.
Breakfast was so so, so we only ate 1 time. I will recommend go somewhere else nearby.
Else I got nothing to complaint, this is a great design hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gamersonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2017

Dear Gamersonia,

thank you so much for the best feedback. We are proud to be the most beautiful Designhotel in Bremen. We are looking forward to welcome you again as soon as possible.

All the best from the team from the Designhotel ÜberFluss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing little hotel. Great design. Most rooms have a canal view with a door that opens onto a Juliet balcony. Design rocking chair to relax and enjoy the view. Amazing shower with glass wall ontonthe room. Loved ecery thing about it. So close to everything.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear mcdess,

thank you so much for the best rated feedback.
We love the view as well. We changed a lot meanwhile.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our beautiful Designhotel ÜberFluss.

With hanseatic greetings

Your Designhotel ÜberFluss team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel together with my brother who is confined to a wheelchair. We asked for rooms next to each other when making the booking and this was duly honoured.

The rooms facing the river were modern, spacious with good beds and bathroom fictures. No complaints, only suggestions for improvements for the handicapped room: without carpeting it would be easier to move about. The door is far too heavy to open without the help from someone else. A door opening knob would be helpful.
Breakfast was sumptuous. For the restaurant which is not managed by the hotel you may need a reservation, something we were not made aware of. They still accommodated us though, and the food was excellent.
The only downside of the hotel is that there is no hotel parking available. For us it was not a problem because we had a handicap permit to park anywhere.
From the hotel it's an easy walk to all sights of the city.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ecumsecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear Ecumsecum,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is very important for us to get an advice regarding our special Design-Rooms. We are renovating at the moment so we hope to provide you next time a more comfortable room.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel with the best view in Bremen.

Greeting from the whole team of Designhotel ÜberFluss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews