We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food - poor communication”

Pochana Thai Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 1,000 Restaurants in Bremen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 46
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Food from the kingdom of Siam, the land of smiles; just 200 metres from the Roland statue, open since 1989, original Thai cuisine, authentically prepared. The exotic tastes of Thailand, food from the kingdom of Siam, the land of smiles. POCHANA THAI has served original Thai food since 1989. Decorated with wood panelling, carvings and a small 'altar' next to the entrance, the restaurant with low Thai tables and comfortable seating has an excellent reputation for serving authentic Thai food. The spiciness of the food may be toned down to cater for western tastes. Pochana means something along the lines of 'food for kings' and this is indeed the motto of the staff at Pochana Thai. The menu offers a wide variety of ingredients and unusual combinations. The chefs have all been trained in Thailand and have had several years' experience before coming to Bremen. This guarantees that the restaurant serves only authentic Thai food
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We booked a table for 8 people and were seated in an extra room - together with 20 (?) other guests on an extra table. It was much too loud no way to talk to each other on our table.
The staff was nice, but not really talking what is going on. Did not come in time to take orders, the famous grill platter was not available etc. Still no indication, that something might not be as it used to be. We had 3 kids with us, and they became a little impatient, because we had to wait almost 1.5h for our starters! And still no information. Most of the people liked what they got, me included. But it was far too late.
During payment we asked the question: why? It turned out, that some of the cooks were ill and the other big group was one hour late. If somebody would have told us that in the beginning, we might have skipped starters etc. It would have been much easier for everybody, without too much anger and hunger. Dear Pochana Team: please talk to your guests! Everybody understands situations like above, but being left alone does not feel right. I still rate this restaurant as "very good", because of the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bluemoon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khun L, Manager at Pochana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Sorry for late answer, thought I answered, but it was deleted dont know the reason. First let me thank you, for "very good" of the food. The other table, if I remember right, were guests from Japan, normally not so loud, but it was their last day in Bremen and they made a little party. They celebrated their degree at the flight training school.
Khop Khun Khrap - Khun Lung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

This is a nice, traditionally decorated Thai restaurant that stands out against other Asian restaurants we have visited in Bremen. The food is tasty and authentic and on the night we visited, there were some Thai dancers which added to the ambience. The only thing that lets the experience down is the service. There are too few waiters and as a result no-one is offers a refill of drinks, or deserts etc and the food took ages to arrive. If you keep zen and are not in a hurry, then it's nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khun L, Manager at Pochana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Sawadee Khrap JamesTP
we are happy, you enjoyed the authentic Thai atmosphere at our place.
Thanks for your patience with our staff. In these cold days, we have some problems
with sick personal and this is one reason for waiting time in service.
Hope next tim will be better.
Khop Khun Khrap - Khun Lung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Spent pleasant dinner, experiencing smiling and friendly hospitality with very tasty Thai food in an authentic Thai environment and atmosphere - I’m looking for the next time

Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khun L, Manager at Pochana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thanks a lot Khun Daniel
for your nice statement and hope to see you again.
Khop Khun Khrap - Khun Lung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Great food. Real Thai flavors. The Thom Ka Kai was delicious, so where the curries. Very friendly staff, good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobenLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khun L, Manager at Pochana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks a lot BobenLola.
Think u are very familiar with Thai kitchen and Thai hospitability.
Khun Lung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

A colleague chose this restaurant and it was a great choice. I've been to several not very good oriental restaurants in Bremen so I wasn't expecting too much.

Early impressions count and we were blown away by the waiter who brought our beers to the table and set up the beer mats, glass and bottle with incredible attention to detail. We both noticed and commented on it. The pyjama-clad waitresses were extremely smiley.

Food was good - although not as spicy as the menu suggested. The Tom Yum soup was a bit average but my main course prawns with basil and chili and green beens was very good. Portions were generous.

Just over 50 euros for two of us. Not bad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khun L, Manager at Pochana Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thanks a lot Khun Koshka for your nice statement.
Next time if you order Tom Yum again, please let us know,
you like it Thai spicy :-)
Khop Khun Khrap
Khun Lung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pochana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bremen, State of Bremen
Bremen, State of Bremen
 
Bremen, State of Bremen
Bremen, State of Bremen
 
Bremen, State of Bremen
Bremen, State of Bremen
 

Been to Pochana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing