We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
27
93
90
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
93
90
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews xmas market included breakfast rooms are basic tour bus family room free wifi schonefeld airport berlin wall public transport konstanzer prada euros
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

I spent four nights in this hotel with two of my colleagues during a conference in Berlin. The place was initially chosen because of the location near enough the conference venue, cheap price and included breakfast. All this the hotel delivered.

The staff was very friendly,speaking very good English, as one would expect in a hotel in Germany. The hotel is conveniently situated very near the Olivaer Platz, where one can get straight from the Tegel Airport with an approximately 30 minute bus ride. The hotel is right next to the Kurfürstendam, one of the main shopping streets in Western Berlin, and also a walking distance from several bus stops, Charlotenburg and Savignyplatz S-bahn stations and a bit further away, but still within a reach, from Uhlandstrasse U-bahn station.

We had a room for three in the fourth floor, which was rather small, but exactly what we wanted, as there was never an idea of spending time at the hotel room, but just to sleep and tidy ourselves between the conference we were attending and exploring Berlin.The ceiling height of the rooms is amazing, which could be guessed while taking the stairs to the fourth floor, as the flight already between two floors was quite a feat with the steep stairs. There is an elevator, which can fit 4 people (tight fit with three men without any extra bags or anything already though), but it is very slow and can get stuck to some floor if empty, probably due to the strange inner doors.

The breakfast was exactly what one could expect: several varieties of cold cuts and cheese, mostly white wheat bread, but also some more nutritious darker breads, eggs, boiled and scrambled, meatballs, sausages, some salad, mozzarella and pickles. There's also a variety of yogurts and quark with some granola and juices, and coffee and tea. The hotel restaurant/bar can fit several people and there was no problem finding a free spot in the mornings, even if one is a Finn preferring to sit alone than next to a stranger.

The room was rather hot, but the temperature was manageable by keeping the windows open when ever possible. The beds were okay, while the pillows were not that great. One of our group described his as a "half empty potato sack." Despite this, each of us tended to have a good nights sleep every time. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was a bit shabby, which in part is due to the hotel being in a (most likely) older building. The hotel has a free wifi, but the connectivity and the strength of the signal was not very reliable.

The hotel was mostly exactly what I expected it to be and it served me and my need perfectly. If I had a need to accommodate myself again near the conference venues in the Western Berlin with affordable prices, I might consider choosing this hotel again. In other cases I think there might be better options around the city with slightly better connections to the public transportation and with a slightly better value.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lavael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

I Stayed here for 4 nights from the
1-7-2018 to 5-7-2018. The hotel was very nice and the breakfast was good, the hotel staff were very friendly and polite especially the young man with black hair who spoke very good english.

Overall very nice and no complaints.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

After reading mixed reviews we were a little apprehensive, but found the Europa City perfectly adequate. The room was spacious, very warm and the beds extremely comfortable. Most importantly, it was very quiet.
The staff on reception were outstandingly good; helpful and friendly, taking endless trouble with directions and advice, and phoning ahead to our restaurant for us when we had arrived late. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel makes no concessions to contemporary interior design in the public areas, but one can live with that when everything else is so satisfactory.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very basic but clean and functional. Daily room service. Beds made and clean towels. TV in room but no coffee. When asked at reception if we could get a coffee advised there was a shop within a 4 minute walk away. Sound proofing between rooms minimal.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mags47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

As others have said the hotel is dated, but it is clean and at the end of the day that's what matters. We had a double room (which consisted of two singles put together with a gap in the middle), single duvets and 1 large pillow which even when doubled over was about the depth of one thin pillow. We asked for an extra pillow which was provided. The room was very warm at all times. The bathroom looked newly fitted and included a soap dispenser at the sink and a shower/hair wash in the shower. Towels, tissues, glasses and a hairdryer also in the bathroom. There is a TV in the room, desk with lamp, 2 bedside cabinets and a wardrobe. There is no kettle in the room. Breakfast was help yourself and consisted of sausages, scrambled eggs, various meats and cheeses, rolls, bread for toasting, butters/jams, cereals, yoghurt, juices, teas and coffee, so plenty to choose from.

Sorry this is a long review, but I'm hoping my information will help others to plan their trip as some of the info I had was picked up from other reviews too, and my own experience.

We arrived at around 2.00pm so our room was ready, and on our last day we left our luggage in a locked room and collected later in the day. The staff all speak very good english and are helpful. The wifi isn't very strong, but I had loads of data available to me anyway, so didn't use the wifi.

Location: Before we left I googled all the travel plans, and whilst you are there google maps is a godsend. From Schonefeld Airport, right outside there is a bus stop for X7 Rudow - this costs 3 euros and takes 8 minutes to get a little bit away from the airport. You then need go diagonally across the road to the Underground (U-bahn) and get on the U7 for 24 stops (36 minutes) to U-Bhf Konstanzer Strabe. It is then a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We didn't know what zone ticket to buy so we bought one that covered all zones (around 7 euros) but on the return we just bought a smaller zone one for 3.40 euros. When you buy the ticket on the platform you then have to validate it on another machine next to it before getting on the tube. There are no barriers at the other end.

From the hotel it is a short walk to the end of the road and then you are on the main road Kurfurstendamm. Along this road is all the high end shops like Rolex, Louis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, Tiffany's, D&G. Then a few more minutes along is a C&A - couldn't resist going in there as it closed in the UK back in 2001.

We decided to walk to the closest xmas market by the church which was about a mile away and spent the afternoon there and looking in the shops. There is a big department store KaDeWe which is amazing. There is one floor which is just dedicated to food and drink with bars are tables so you can eat and drink there.

The 2nd day we decided to go on the Tour bus. There are a couple of different tour operators, we sent on the BEX Sightseeing Yellow City Bus. It was 22 euros for 1 day or 26 for 2 days. We decided to opt for a 2 day pass, as we considered for an extra 4 euros, if we decided to use the next day, this would be cheaper than a day bus ticket. The tours are 10.00-17.00 every day. It was raining a little so we stayed on for the whole 2 hour tour and listen to the commentary (you're provided with plug in ear-phones), and made a note of where we wanted to get on/off. We then chose the furthest market at Alexandraplatz where there is also other department stores. The tour takes you by all the main attractions like Checkpoint Charlie, Berlin Wall, Brandenberg Gate etc, plus there are a few other smaller markets. The bus runs from 18 different points along the route and go every 10 minutes so you never have to wait long for the next one - Although if you're going back on the later ones you will get caught in rush hour traffic. We definitely made the right decision by going for the 2 day pass as we used it the next day to visit the places we didn't have time for on the first day.

We tried the famous currywurst which was very nice. We were so tired the first night (as we'd been up since just after 5 to fly), there was a small cafe across the road called the Flying Chicken where they did rotisserie chicken, so half a chicken and chips was 7.5 euros each. The next night we walked to the end of the road and turned left down to the next crossroads and ate at the Blockhouse steak house. Prices are similar to the UK, we both had a steak, drinks and dessert which came to 63 euros.

My observations of Berlin - we felt very safe at the markets as they had barriers and security at most. The chips we had we very salty! Only cross when you see the green man but be aware that cars can still turn if there is no-one crossing so it's a bit odd when a car starts to come towards you whilst you are crossing the road, but they do stop! That takes a bit of getting used to.

Location wise I don't think we could have been better placed. It is a budget hotel (and we did have some noisy school children the first night, but they were quiet by 10pm). If I was to go back to Berlin, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jbrking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews