We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant cosy stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Academy Hotel
Ranked #505 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant cosy stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed 3 nights in Academy Hotel Berlin and this gem has made my stay more memorable. Although it is not located within Berlin's Central, the major attractions are accessible via U Bahn or S Bahn. The nearest U Bahn station located is about 10 minutes walk and Academy Hotel is nestled within a quiet residential neighborhood.

The reception staff is friendly and helpful and within the hotel, you noticed the little details that they have made to make it more cosy for guests, such as free chocolates at the reception. Within the rooms, it's nice and cosy with amenities such as mini fridge, hair dryer, hand soap. Not bad for a budget hotel by European standards. It definitely felt at home instead of a hotel in Academy.

If you don't mind the distance and bit of walking from the U Bahn station, I would recommend Academy Hotel to those who are on budget but looking for a nice cosy stay in Berlin. I would give a 8 out of 10 to Academy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anggingyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Friendly staff,small clean room,excellent breakfast,not nice area at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio_reth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

For the price, this is a pretty good place to stay. There are no cooking facilities, you do have a fridge in your room but no kettle.
I asked to use the kitchen kettle but was told "this is a hotel not a hostel".
However, the location is ok, bit of a walk or short train ride to more interesting places. The place is pretty clean, no complaints, and you get a packet of haribo every time you're room gets cleaned!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathinthehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed at the Academy Hotel for 3 nights in April 2011 and were completely pleased with the hotel, the service and the location. The hotel seems to be run by young people who are just learning the hotel trade and all were very enthusiastic about pleasing the guests. It is located on a quiet street with two major shopping streets within a 3 minute walk. Potsdamer Platz and the main shopping area of Kurfurstendamm are about a 15 minute walk. The room, #15 was unbelievably clean, the beds were very nice and the bathroom was bigger than some of the hotel rooms I have rented in Rome. The immediate area is residential with a mixed shopping area nearby where we felt completely safe at night. A very nice breakfast is 6 Euros and not included in the internet booked price. The desk closes at 10 PM but they give you a key to get in after that time. They also allowed us to leave our bags until the room was ready. You really can't ask for more. Hint: check out the Kniepe "Joseph Roth" on Potsdammer Strasse for lunch or dinner in a real Berlin locale. It is about a 5 minute walk. Please note. You have to use the U Bahn station at Kurfurstenstrasse not the one at Gleis Drei Eck.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Academy is a small hotel, near Kurfurstenstrasse and Bulowstrasse U-bahn stations. It was a 15 minute walk to Postdamer Platz, or 5 minutes by bus.
The room was small, but clean and enough wardrobe space for my clothes for a 6 night stay. Breakfast was an additional cost, but at a total of around 54 euros a night (approx £48) this seemed quite reasonable. The reception is not occupied 24 hours a day, so after 10pm you use a secure entry at the side of the building, which I had no problem with. There is a small elevator for anyone on the higher floors too.
I didn't feel threatened or uncomfortable in the area, although there were "ladies of the night" plying their trade to motorists near one entrance to the Kurf'strasse U-bahn.
I really enjoyed my time in Berlin and the hotel cetainly didn't dampen the experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Villa Amadeus Hotel
Villa Amadeus Hotel
#591 of 663 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Charlottenburg
Fjord Hotel Berlin
Fjord Hotel Berlin
#65 of 663 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#26 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#174 of 663 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Delta
Hotel Delta
#361 of 663 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hotel

Property: Academy Hotel
Address: Dennewitzstr. 7, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly the FG Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Hotel Class:2 star — Academy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing