We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hotel - IT IS A HOSTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #64 of 359 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Though it gets advertised as a hotel - extremely misleading
Location: as the name suggests near Alexanderplatz - no where close to it. About 3-4stops by U bahn.
Rooms: Sharing room - bunk beds!! Not pleased. crowded & cramped. No Air conditioning/no fan.
Bathroom: you need to keep pressing the shower for more water.
Staff: very helpful even during late night check in.
Price: too high
Overall: unless you are traveling with a big group (school/college/friends) its good. Else, kindly avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thundering_Raiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for both staying at our MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz and for taking time to write a review. We are always trying to improve our service und the opinion of our guests is very important to us.

We are rated as a hotel and we offer both hotel and hostel services since we have private rooms and dormitories available.
The Alexanderplatz is, with 10 minutes walking distance or two stops with the U-Bahn, quite close, even if we are not directly located at Alexanderplatz. Though we can understand that it's a bit irritating.

We are glad that you chose the MEININGER Hotel for your stay and we hope, that we can welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

If this were to be advertised as a hostel instead of a hotel (and had hostel prices rather than hotel ones) I would have been perfectly happy with the fact there was no hairdryer, the pancake pillows and the shower that was operated with a push button that you had to push at least 6 times per shower but as this is called a hotel, I didn't expect this.

I may have even be ok with the fact the room was boiling hot too but as we paid hotel prices and the name was Meininger HOTEL, we expected more.

Although we were not too pleased with the room itself, the staff were always lovely and friendly and helpful, the breakfast was nice and although we didn't have a chance to do any of the hotel activities, there did seem to me many tours and tourist things to do with the hotel including a pub crawl which seemed nice and I'm sure we would have done too if we had more time.

They are also very happy to let you keep your luggage there when you've checked out which was great.

Location wise, it was great. Only 2 stops on the train from Alexanderplatz and the hostel was right outside the station. You can also walk it if you fancy a bit of a walk.

Overall, this would have been fine if it was called a hostel and wasn't so expensive.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Staitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear MEININGER guest,
thank you for your honest review.
We regret that you could not enjoy your stay with us.
Unfortunately our renovation is not finished yet and will be continued next year.
Nevertheless we hope it did not effect your time in Berlin.

Best wishes & kind regards
Your MEININGER team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Very very clean. Lovely staff and a nice bar downstairs with a good range of drinks. Not recommended for more than 2 days stay as it feels like a bit like a prison cell after a while in the rooms. TV mostly German but you get cnn etc, take a laptop with you! Staff turnaround low so it's nice to see the same staff time and time again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank AviemoreScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear guest,
thanks for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our MEININGER hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz.

We are constantly trying to improve your service and hopefully you will decide to stay at our place at your next visit in Berlin.

Kind regards from the staff from MEININGER hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Fantastic service. Great hotel. Have stayed there twice. Definitely recommend it.

I stayed with 40 children in July and this hotel was in a convenient location (even though it is not actually in Alexanderplatz as the name states!). We were very impressed with the rooms, the food and the overall helpful, friendly staff. If we had any problems the staff were very keen to help us.
I'll definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BEVP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hello!
Thank you for your lovely words! It makes us happy.
Great that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin with us.
We will looking forward to your next visit at MEININGER and wish you a good day!
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Although I originally wanted to stay closer to the centre availability meant I chose this hostel, which was fairly convenient as the U-bahn station is just opposite.

The rooms appear fairly clean and I appreciate the individual lights and sockets on the bunks,although upon arrival I found tissues in my already made up duvet which led me to question if my bed had actually been changed?

With our room full each night I also found it hard to understand why we had to make do with 1 toilet roll. Due to the heat at the moment a fan or any means of regulating the unbearably hot rooms would be nice. The kitchen facilities are totally inadequate for a hostel of this size with no room for more than 5 people time.

All in all this hostel serves its purpose, which for me is not to sit inside but to have somewhere safe to sleep after exploring the city, although it surely wouldn't be too hard to train some more pleasant reception staff.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank travelqueenNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing MEININGER and for your review.
We are sorry that your stay was not as satisfactory as you wished.
Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your time in Berlin.
May we see you again in one of the other Meininger Hotels across Europe.

Kind Regards,
YOUR MEININGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#31 of 359 in Berlin
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Citystay Mitte
Citystay Mitte
#59 of 359 in Berlin
406 reviews
Mitte
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Moabit
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
#73 of 359 in Berlin
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 359 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 2,949 - ₹ 8,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing