We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of FACIL

FACIL
Ranked #21 of 9,465 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 40 - US$ 223
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: The FACIL, Berlin's oasis of culinary culture, offers a refreshing combination of elegant lightness and pure luxury, modernity and understatement. The restaurant treats diners to the very best cuisine and it has an easygoing feel. The service is excellent and you have the chance to relax and escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The core of the FACIL philosophy is the lightness of being. In culinary terms, the food will melt on your tongue. The restaurant offers a selection of natural cuisine which is both unpretentious and ingenious.
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Presentation was lovely but taste let it down. We both found the food very bland and did not live up to our expectation. Water was served warm in a carafe with no ice or lemon. There was just no atmosphere and would agree with the earlier review that the service was cold and robotic. Save your money!

2  Thank samanthashaw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE-MANDALA-Team, Leiter Gästebetreuung at FACIL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear valued guest, Thank you very much your comment about your recent stay at the restaurant FACIL.
It is a pity to read about your dissatisfaction regarding the taste of your chosen meal. Michael Kempf and his team chose very carefully their ingredience and put lots of effort into their creations. The restaurant is very well known for it´s creative and very tasty food. Unfortunately it is not possible to meet everyones taste. In Germany it is very commen that water is served lukewarm without ice and lemon. If we would have known that you would like to have it served differently (the American way), we would have not waited a second to fullfil your wish.
We are not sure what you mean by “no atmosphere”. The restaurant FACIL is located on the 5th floor surrounded by bamboo, running water and a fantastic team which is very well trained and kind. We are very sorry to read your disappointment. It would be a pleasure to us, to show you that we are not cold and robotic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Was there for a work dinner. very average and lacklustre for a 2-Michelin Star Restaurant. Service was cold and robotic. Food is salty and the duck was bad. Worst of it, at the end of the dinner, they will blatantly ask for tips. Left a rather huge distaste. Totally not recommending this place.

1  Thank Cpwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE-MANDALA-Team, Leiter Gästebetreuung at FACIL, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback about your recent experience at our restaurant FACIL.

We always try to exceed our guests’ expectations but unfortunately, we did not succeed in your case. Please rest assured, that it is definitely not our intention to blatantly ask for tips. Due to some changes in credit card payments one year ago, we feel free to lead our guests through the payment procedure but we apologize if it was inappropriately worded by one of our employees.

Your comment doesn’t represent our consistently high performance during the last years and that’s why we would appreciate if you could get in direct contact with us in order to talk about the incidents in a more detailed way.

We thank you once more for your comment and we hope to welcome you as our guest again in the future in order to fully convince you of our qualities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

This is one of the great restaurants and fully deserving of the second start. We have been lucky enough to eat in many of the worlds top restaurants and Facil is right up there with the very best. The food is innovative and interesting without being challenging for the sake of it. The desserts are amazing. Service top notch throughout and nice atmosphere in a very stylish place, must be amazing in summer!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank charleymarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

The meal was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Great atmosphere. The lamb was out of this world. We can't wait to come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnDK1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Have had a few michelin star experiences now, this definitely ranks in the top half. The setting is quite formal which made it good for a celebration with my partner. There was two lunch choices, either a lunch menu with a choice of number of courses or a full tasting menu (this was a positive for me since you had a level of control rather than tasting menu or nothing). The food was creative, delicate and thought through (such as the cheese course being in a specific order for flavours). There was a lot of pride and knowledge involved from the serving staff. We were very fortunate to get a table fairly last minute on the off chance they were available. Sadly they only open during the week and not weekends so I haven't been able to take any weekend visitors.

Overall a must if staying in Berlin during the week and looking for something special.

1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FACIL also viewed

 

Been to FACIL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing