We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, great service, very helpful”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #11 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Hotel De Rome is in the Mitte area of Berlin. The check in and out process was easy. Our room was very spacious and it had the best shower I've ever found in any hotel room, anywhere in the world. It was spacious with amazing water flow and pressure and the temperature was constant and as hot as you wanted it. Well worth luxuriating in! We found our bed was too hard compared to the one we have at home. We told reception and there was no hesitation or issues and straight away they added a mattress cover which helped a lot. The air-con works really well and is so quiet you would hardly know it was there, amazing! The breakfast is very good with a great selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, fruits and egg dishes cooked to order. The door men and Anke on the Concierge desk where very helpful. The main negative for this hotel is there isn't free wi-fi and what they do have is limited to 2 devices. All in all we had a comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable time in Berlin and I'm glad we stayed at the Hotel de Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in 414 on the fourth floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 699 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de Rome in June, 2012. We had just got off the plane after a long flight and were initially told our room was not ready. We couldn't even get cleaned up to go walk around, so we sat for a moment in the lobby, contemplating what to do. Moments later, one of the check in staff came to tell me that they had found us a room and it would be ready very soon. That is only one example of the service at the Hotel de Rome. The location is perfect, the food is very good, the rooms well appointed and clean. We would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I called Hotel de Rome home for 4 nights during a vacation trip to Germany. Hotel de Rome is a Rocco Forte Hotel so we judge it by a high standard. We had a wonderful stay and here are some of the details.

Our check-in was efficient, professional, and warm and friendly at the same time, with the front desk staff making us feel at home. A staff member escorted us to our room and gave us a short tour of the main floor in the process, while informing us of meal times and other pertinent information.

The hotel itself was the former headquarters of a bank prior to the fall of East Germany and it has been imaginatively renovated into a luxurious hotel. We liked the interior design because it gave us a sense of place while at the same time being comfortable. Our suite and bath were very nice and absolutely spotless although there were some marks on the wall, probably from people placing their suitcases on those little suitcase. Maid service and turn down service we very timely and the staff we met very friendly. However, our coffee cups were removed to be cleaned by housekeeping and not replaced after being used for morning coffee. I mentioned this to the front desk as my wife and I went out to dinner and asked that cups be brought to the room while we were out at dinner so we could have morning coffee in the room and was assured they would take care of it. When we returned after dinner, there were still no cups. Also, housekeeping removed a key that we had left in the slot just inside the inside of our door ( the type of slot that you place your room key in to turn the electricity on and off) and we could not locate it in our room. We had to get a replacement card from a very nice and apologetic front desk clerk. These were just small glitches----but these glitches are the reason for the four star review ( which verges on 5) , remembering I am holding the hotel to a high standard.

We found the bar service ( both in the bar off the lobby and on the wonderful rooftop lounge) to be fabulous and the doormen to be second to none. Our concierge ( Anka) was one of the best concierges we have ever encountered in our years of travel--knowledgeble, gracious, and anticipating our next question. The telephone etiquette of the hotel staff was very classy and the staff we had the pleasure of dealing with all spoke good English.

The location of Hotel de Rome is absolutely perfect. It is located on the Bebelplatz, which is a square on the Boulevard Unterlinden. It is set back form the Boulevard Unterlinden on a quieter street on the far side of the square so it is very quiet for a hotel in the middle of the action---central to Museum Island, Brandenberg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, and other key sites. There is a lot of renovation going on in Berlin so some of the surrounding buildings are partially covered with protective material.

The breakfast buffet ( which was included in the rate we offered through our credit card) was wonderful with a simply amazing array of items. The service was very good at breakfast but maybe a notch below excellent--again I am holding the hotel to a very high standard.

All in all, I can recommend Hotel de Rome with enthusiasm--it is a wonderful hotel with an excellent staff, location, and interior design.

Room Tip: Our suite had a balcony but the high the high walls of the balcony would have blocked the view had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We got off to a rocky start at the Hotel de Rome in Berlin. After a warm greeting at the front door, we were shown to our room, which was very small and well below our expectations. We had booked a classic suite, but this room was tiny, the bathroom and closet were by the front door, and the bedroom on the opposite side of the cramped living room. We asked for a different room, and after some fits and starts, were shown another room, a grade below the classic suite but much larger and much better suited to our needs with a large bath and closet. The hotel tried very hard to satisfy us, and they did. That evening, the wonderful doorman, David, directed us to a nearby restaurant for the perfect schnitzel. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel--a simply stunning breakfast buffet, excellent restaurant and wait staff who paid attention to our needs, and an ever present management team. On our first morning, Stephanie, one of the managers found us at breakfast to make sure we were satisfied with our new accommodations. Throughout our stay, Tim Hansen, the assistant manager, could not have been more visible or more engaging, and he very pleasantly surprised us when we were checking out at dawn with a breakfast prepared especially for us. The concierge's staff was very helpful as well, and we always looked forward to our return to the hotel in the afternoon and evening, knowing that David would be there to greet us, to check in on our day, and to give us a laugh and another restaurant recommendation. He was a delight. We so look forward to returning to the Hotel de Rome.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rimfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Wonderful Hotel right in the heart of Berlin with a swimmingpool in the old vaults of a Bank & a great bar with the best & extraordinary Cocktails in town which in the Summer van be enjoyed on the best roof terrace in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromDtotheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 633 in Berlin
3,591 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 633 in Berlin
1,628 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,552 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 633 in Berlin
1,666 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 20,652 - ₹ 54,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing