We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, great location”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #26 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Went to Berlin for a 3 day stay. This hotel is very near Friedrichstrasse Station - very convenient for all forms of public transport. It's near the river in a nice location near restaurants and the start of a shopping street. The room we stayed in was roomy and we were provided with slippers and bathrobes. Only downside is that you had to pay for any internet access even in the lobby and it wasn't cheap. However, McDonalds and Starbucks weren't far away!The breakfast at the hotel is expensive but a nice tasty extensive buffet and of course it's convenient to be able to just walk downstairs to eat. I definitely would return there simply for the location but I think there are coffee shops near by so I probably wouldn't go for bed and breakfast next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter - but the view is uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,837 of 5,187 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed for 4 nights recently. When we arrived we had booked a level room and had requested a river/street view which was unavailable but the desk arranged for us to have a premium room with river view which was excellent..we were also able to check in early at 2pm and while waiting for the room had lunch in the Tapas Bar-staff here very helpful and friendly.
Good sized room with robes, slippers, good toiletries replenished daily and good sized towels. Excellent quality sheets and a huge king sized bed.
Enjoyed using The Level...to a point. The drinks and tapas were a lovely bonus as the weather was very warm during our stay. There were a couple of things we did not feel were right there though..wi-fi not working all during our stay and as this is a perk of the Level it was a bit annoying although computers were there for use if required..it would have been good to make use of my own device though. We were not aware that the lounge with the sofas was a smoking area..never used it because of that. Found the service poor at breakfast time, in any hotel I have ever stayed in tea/coffee was offered as soon as you sit down..this did not happen and you had to attract attention to get a cup..I did feel more staff are needed as they seemed to spend their time clearing tables and not asking if anything was required We decided to try the breakfast room on the first floor and found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly and were impressed to see the manager going around tables asking guests if they were happy with everything.
This is an excellent hotel and the restaurant food was brilliant and the presentation beautiful..our waiter was very attentive but unobtrusive..really good cocktails too in the bar at reception area.
I had injured my ankle when out and about Berlin and reception provided an icepack delivered to our room within 5 minutes of asking for it.
Would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for a street/river view...even with this rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Everything about this hotel was excellent, especially the location, which is within 5 minutes walk of the train station and underground, 5-10 mins walk of Museum Island and 15-20 minutes walk to Brandenberg Gate and the Reichstag. Reception staff and concierge spoke good English and were very helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable but had no view to speak of. Breakfasts and dinner were very good, even if a little crowded at breakfast time. Dinner at the hotel was restaurant quality as was the tapas bar on the ground floor (the hotel is apparently owned by a Spanish company). The only negative about this hotel was the lack of a cash machine, but the reception will change money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

There are a lot of high quality hotels in Berlin and Germany. This makes me pickier when it comes to giving points to this hotel. Any hotel that in a major European capital does not provide free internet is not in my opinion worthy of 5 star s no matter how cheap the internet is. The cost for internet connection is either 5 euro for one hour, 20 euro for 10 hours (with this option you can use internet discontinuously), 10 euro per day or another monthly option.
The location of the hotel is very good considering the number of transport options available and in fact considered central part of former East Berlin.
The breakfast is ok, nothing fantastic and nothing bad.
The rooms are spacious and have nice amneties. The space for hanging clothes was however in line with most small hotel rooms and definitely was nothing to brag about.
The safe at least is for free. They provided me an XXL bathrobe with small slippers!
There are 22 TV channels and these are basically German in addition to few international channels. CNN and BBC world are the only English speaking channels.
I found the staff attentive and apologetic when I asked for internet price. Nonetheless, I have the policy of never staying at a hotel that charges for internet. This time I was invited for a lecture and the choice was not mine.

Room Tip: They asked me if I wish a room facing the street or backyard. I chose the one facing the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenname060309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I am sure, that you will enjoy a stay at Melia Berlin. Book a room at the Level with breakfast coffee and cake in the afternoon, tapas wine and drinks in the evening, including in the rates. The staff is very frindly, the rooms are very clean, and the River Spree is just afside the hotel, and only a mile to Brandenburger Tor, 400 m to Museums Insel. Go to Berlin and stay at Melia Berlin, Friedrichstrasse very close to Friedrichstrasse Train Station.

Room Tip: The Level room are on th. 7 or 8. floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajcopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#57 of 635 in Berlin
1,970 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 7,071 - ₹ 24,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing