We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
34
9
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
9
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the check in process five nights kreuzberg hostel beds hip station
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights while the marathon was on in late September. Pretty standard hostel accommodation but for the price (€300 including taxes for two people sharing) it’s well worth it. Easy access to the whole of Berlin from the U station three minutes walk away. The manager was great; he gave us an overview of the best places to go in the city and where to avoid the night we arrived. Would recommend to anyone visiting Berlin on a budget.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paxtonios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My friend and I stayed here for four nights April 2016 on our first visit to Berlin. I am fully convinced that half of what made our trip so wonderful and memorable was this hostel's great location, amenities, value for price, and especially how friendly, kind, & helpful Enrico (owner) was!
Upon our check-in, he provided us with a map and spent half an hour explaining the neighborhoods and detailing the best restaurants, bars, and arts scenes/markets all around Berlin, but especially in the hip Kreuzberg neighborhood this hostel is located in - so much to do! We used this map throughout our entire trip and all of Enrico's suggestions were wonderful!
The location of this hostel is unbeatable. The neighborhood has heaps of charm, lots of restaurants, cafés, bars, and is so close to the Schönleinstraße train station which connects to anywhere you need to go. Getting to all the tourist spots in central Berlin was very simple.
As long as you plan ahead and are considerate, the check-in process goes very smoothly and is clear. Enrico doesn't live on site, so you just need to let him know when he should meet you there. It isn't complicated.
Long story short - 100% would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for great value and a great location - a small cozy place to return back to after a long day!! Would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annaleahmagnuson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Riverside was clean, simple, and wonderfully located. Enrico was more than helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay. The showers were clean but the water wasn't quite hot enough and the check in process is, simply put, ridiculous. If you book on hostel world, you put in what time you're arriving and you get an email confirming your reservation. In the fine print at the bottom of the email it says a note from the hostel that you have to email the hostel directly and confirm your arrival time, despite the fact that you just received an email confirming your arrival time. Of course, when you're traveling and checking things on your phone, it's unlikely you'll see this note. So when we arrived we were told that we didn't send the re confirmation confirmation email and that our room might have been re sold, after a few minutes of sweating Enrico came back and said the room was still available. We talked to a number of people who had this same issue- it seems to be a recurring problem that should be fixed. Traveled all over the world never in my life have I seen such a confusing and potentially disastrous check in process.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamjoseph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there 4 nights in September 2016
The hostel is well located in the "hipster" part of the city.
Bathrooms and kitchen are very clean and the beds are comfortable.
There is no reception and most of the time on your first arrival you have to call the owner Enrico to get your key.  Happen to us and to other people as well.
Enrico is very nice and friendly thought.
He will give you a map and a little explanation of Berlin and the surroundings.

The only downside is that Enrico is almost never at the hostel.  Because of that for us was impossible to arrange leaving our luggage at the hostel the day we were leaving... we asked him and he said  it was ok and he would have wrote us to arrange the thing.. it never happend so we wrote him the day before our leaving but he never replied... so sad because then everything would have been perfect .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

I have travelled a lot but this was something never happened before.

We booked a room via booking.com and informed the owner that we will arrive this and that time and got an answer that the check in will be starting 7 pm. so we got a key from the box and had to be back at the hostel at 7.

With a help of other guests we found our room which was totaly different location what the owner has left in our note with our key. We had the private room and it was ok, but not that clean (dirty socks under the bed etc.)

At 7pm we were in lobby waiting the owner with 4 other guests (one of them had been waiting there the whole day because no-one had informed her when the check in time is), but she finally arrived after 8pm. Not even saying sorry and the first and most important thing was to but music on and answer the phone when a friend called. We were really late with our own schedule because she was an hour late, but when she finally did the check in, she didn't even have money to give back! Thanks for the other guests again we got smaller money to give her the right amount of money.

We left with so hurry that we did not have time to remember to say that there was no toilet paper in any of the two toilets, and when we came back late night, there was still no paper. So it seems that se had took only the money and left without checking that everything is okay in their lovely hostel.

We wrote about our bad experience to booking.com to give our feedback about this place because this is what happened to us. After a short while we got private and very childlish e-mail from that place how we are "ruining their business" and "it is our fault because we arrived in bad time while check in was not going on" (can I remind she was still one hour late from the time they had informed) and how we are "not welcome back to any of their hostels ever again".

Sorry but not sorry, I am not going back to place like that ever! And neither should anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaHave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews