We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crisis time hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Ranked #161 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crisis time hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I've been in Berlin for 5 days, unfortunately staying in this hotel. Only reception people deserves appreciation. They were kind, helpful and what most important - professional. The rest about this hotel is disaster. Old room with stains on carpet. TV with magic function - to change volume it is not enough to press volume up/down button - it has no effect. I discovered, that going to 'menu' function (which actually is disabled) enables volume change button (seriously) Air-con noisy with no effect on changing temperature. It heats all the time. Only potion is to turn it off. Heating/cooling - no effect. Only increasing noise on fan mode 1-3 reacts.
Bizzare toilet doors which are apparently fingers crackers. (seriously be really careful).
Welcome surprise - shower is set to maximum hot water - which is nearly boiling! Just malicious behave of houskeeping mates.
Another malicious behaviour was that after 2 days of using free sachets of regular coffee it was replenished with decaffeinated - seems like attempt of cutting usage. There was no option - I had to buy my own from nearby Netto shop.
Breakfast - only cold sandwich meat, lots of type of bread, some hard boiled eggs, jam and cereals, tea, coffee, milk - nothing impressive.
'Non smoking' hotel - so guests have to crowd in front (at December in Berlin is about 2 deg C) to smoke a cigarette. (otherwise 200 euro fine)
No utensils - toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, shaving tools. There is an information, saying 'if you forgotten something - ask in reception' - I couldn't be bothered. So I bought my own in nearby 'Spate Kauf' shop from nice Asian guy.
I am just wondering, as I had no iron with me - will they expect to carry that?! There was no iron in room.

Basically, as I wrote before everything, except reception stuff seems to try to make your day bad and make you feel unwelcome.
It was a business trip so I had no choice, but will never ever choose it by myself.
I strongly NOT RECOMMEND this place.

Room Tip: Look for other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    666
    256
    53
    31
See reviews for
430
406
74
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located near the Anhalter Bahnhof Station (S-Bahn). It's less than 5 minute walk away from the hotel, from there you can easily jump on to the S1, S2, S25 Green & Pink lines to Friedrich Strasse Station that is very well connected to the rest of the city and quiet central too. Very quiet room and friendly staff. The breakfast can get very crowded, so please check with the reception for best off-peak times, that is only in case you are not under time pressure or on a business trip. There is some room for improvement in the quality of breakfast served.. the breakfast was very boring and remained the same on all days that I stayed there (4 nights). I was a little bit disappointed to not find any fresh cut fruits.. but leaving these things aside.. This is a very good hotel and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room whose window faces the inner courtyard and not the street. Also try and request for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ace_dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed here the later part of April 2011 for three nights. Rooms were clean and comfortable as you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were smaller than North American rooms but quite spacious. Front counter personnel were helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit and cereals. Not too far a walk to shopping and restaurants. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinStoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived in the middle of the night due to a delayed flight but we were checked in quickly. Our room was basic but clean and we had no problems with it whatsoever. Breakfast was also fine. Overall this is a good hotel for the price and served as an excellent base for exploring this great city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Good value for money hotel in a location thats within easy walking distance to all places of interest.Rooms are very clean and spacious, continental breakfast very good selection.The staff on reception spoke very good english and polite.Now the bad part of our trip was the journey from the airport to centre of berlin,no english translation on the train ticket machines or travel information at the time we went trains were disrupted no one to talk to on station.The saving grace of this was the friendliness of the german people we met who went out of there way to help .

Room Tip: double glazing good so no problems,top floor best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alberdetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#111 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#107 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Address: Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#141 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,792 - ₹ 10,242
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing