We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in Berlin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kurfurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kurfurst
Ranked #315 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Hamburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Berlin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

This was a great choice for a two-night stay in Berlin in June. Very friendly & helpful reception (where I could leave my bag safely on the last day after checkout to catch a late train). I booked a single room but seemed to have been given a small double (2 single beds). Everything was very clean, good linen, spotless tiny but perfectly adequate bathroom with shower. A wallsafe and plenty of hangers in the cupboard. Breakfast was excellent value, especially considering it was included in the price I paid for the room (74 euros) and offered a wider selection than I would have expected (good cheeses, cold meats, hardboiled eggs, cereals, juices, breads and more). The location is excellent. Bleibtreustrasse crosses Ku'damm and is a street full of top fashion boutiques and restaurants. Continue along Bleibtreustrasse across the other side of Ku'damm and you'll come to the S-Bahn stop Savignyplatz which will link you to Berlin Hauptbahnhof...I trundled my overnight bag and didn't need a taxi. The only slight downside was that my room overlooked an internal courtyard of what I assume are privately owned apartments and, the weather being warm all windows were open, so one evening I had to listen to a loud conversation (very loud) which made sleep impossible. I was about to yell out of my window but they stopped on the stroke of midnight. By the way, make sure you check out the fascinating historic b/w photographs of Berlin that line the hotel's corridors. They are an exhibition in their own right.

  • Liked — Great value breakfast
  • Disliked — Courtyard noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
43
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

This hotel could not have been better situated. Close to Ku'damm just beyond Uhlandstasse and but a short walk from Savignyplatz S-Bahn station, giving access to virtually all parts of the city and beyond. Without fail, the staff were helpful. The rooms that we occupied (one on the third floor, just beyond reception: one on the first floor) were large and comfortably (but simply) appointed. The breakfast (taken in the room next to reception) was what one normally expects of a German hotel. A bonus was the is free internet access: the terminal is at a disused reception desk across the stairway from the current reception.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

I stayed in this terrific little hotel in May and can't fault it with anything.

The rooms were very clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

I was one of the fortune one who had the only room with a balcony and on one warm evening pulled out some chairs and enjoyed a bottle of wine while soaking up the Berlin evening.

This hotel could not be better located if you love shopping and the park was only a 25 minute walk away.

Cafes and restaurants in all directions. Something to suit all budgets.

The hotel also offers free Internet station. Great for checking email.

I plan to go back in September.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank expat-steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2006

We loved the Hotel Pension Kurfuerst on Bleibtreustrasse 34 in Berlin. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and a sofa, coffee table and chairs. The wardrobe also contained a safe and there were plenty of hangers. The shower, although somewhat small, had excellent water pressure. Breakfast included a variety of cold meats, cheeses, those wonderful German rolls, various cereals, juices, yogurts, fruit cocktail (good on the Muesli with yogurt) soft boiled eggs, crackerbrot, jams, jellies, coffee or tea, etc. etc. The family could not have been nicer and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The pension consists of two floors (3&4) with the reception on the 4th floor and internet available for guests on the 3rd floor. It's located about 25 yards off of Kurfuerstendamn with bus stops around the corner. We hadn't been to Berlin since the Wall came down and I much prefer this area to Mitte. This is the old West Berlin area and there are numerous restaurants and shopping, including KaDeWe, within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WriterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby be la Zouch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2005

The hotel is in a solid 1905 five story block. The first few floors are occupied by doctors. Reception is on the third floor via a slow tiny lift or a climb up initially unappealing stairs. I booked by mistake after reading the Grosser Kursfurst review and because, whilst the web site is -----, the hotel is hotel Pension Kurfurst.

However, it turned out well and cheap. We stayed five nights and the longer we were there the better we liked it. Warm (in December), comfortable beds, quiet clean rooms, good shower, excellent breakfast in a large light room, great location, very friendly, German and certainly not “hotel chain”.

Stylish and up market? Well you can’t have everything. If you are wanting to impress with other than your frugality and common sense, then maybe not this Kurfurst. We would, indeed most probably will, stay again.

The hotel is about 500 yards from the Savignyplats S-bahn S9 direct from Schonfelt (about an hour). The U1 at Uhlanstrasser is a bit further but not much. You are spoilt for restaurant choice and the local shops are very Gucci.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David at 4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Elba am Kurfurstendamm
Elba am Kurfurstendamm
#240 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#273 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Charlottenburg
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#250 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Kima Hotel
Kima Hotel
#277 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Charlottenburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Bleibtreu Hotel
Bleibtreu Hotel
#210 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kurfurst

Property: Hotel Kurfurst
Address: Bleibtreustr. 34, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,531 - ₹ 9,699
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kurfurst 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in the style of "Art Nouveau" is located just a few steps from the famous street in Berlin - Kurfürstendamm, which located in Charlottenburg district. It offers spacious rooms, close to excellent public transport links. Throughout the hotel offers free WiFi. The Hotel Kurfürst am Kurfürstendamm was built in 1903 and recently renovated and offers rooms and apartments for non-smokers. There is a minibar and a bathroom with hairdryer. Each morning the staff of the hotel serves a hearty breakfast. At 5-minute walk from the hotel to the Kurfürstendamm street and the Savini square are located many cozy bars, restaurants, cafes, bakeries, eateries. In the hotel you can relax with a book on-site, a recreation area. Directly from the hotel Kurfürst am Kurfürstendamm buses to Tegel Airport and the border checkpoint Checkpoint Charlie. From S-Bahn station at Zaviniplats with direct links to Berlin Central Station and the Friedrichstraße shopping street. Employees of the hotel speak three foreign languages: • Russian • German • English ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing