We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, reasonable value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Ranked #222 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic, reasonable value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We spent just one night in the A&O in Friedrichshain in Berlin. The room and the attached bathroom were clean, beds were comfortable. Furniture and interior were basic but in a good condition. The room was quiet spacious. Reception staff was helpful. Although the hostel was fully booked there was only little noise at night. The location in Friedrichshain is nice if you want to spend some time in the lively and hip quarter of Berlin. Also famous Kreuzberg is not far away. You will find easy access to public transport that takes you everywhere (about 30 minutes to Alexanderplatz).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvester_Shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    76
    65
    37
    54
See reviews for
20
37
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed in room 102 for two nights (Friday-Sunday). The room was simple and the mattress was quite thin. The bathroom was nice but small (I could bearly fit my hands in the sink.) I only payed $120 for two nights, so I didn't expect much more. But the doors in the corridor was far from quiet. I wasn't disturbed by people, but every time the doors were opened, they closed with a bang. I guess the building wasn't built as a hotel.

Unless you're a light sleeper, I would recommend this hotel/hostel. It's a 5-6 minute walk from the S-bahn (Ostkreuz), and the trains go all the time. There are several bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannpirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

stayed here with 4 friends on a long weekend in february, its in the middle of what looks like a ghetto with graffitti everywhere but surprisingly the area is very friendly and safe. the hostel itself is like a 70s school and shabby but what do you expect for 15 pound a night lol. the room was tiny with 4 steel bunkbeds and tiny bathroom. we didnt care though we enjoyed east berlin we went to some good places i couldnt tell you names but they looked like dives but were friendly and cheap. we checked out yaam nightclub which is really funny also the matrix which is huge special mention to the palm beach bar in the main street mo the head barman is knowledgable and has good contacts with clubs etc so check that place out. would i visit berlin again though? in a word no

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullets76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

My friend and I finally arrived at the hostel after having a pretty long and crappy travel day. They lost our reservation and then to make up for it offered us 20 minutes of free WiFi (i.e. using their computers which take 20 minutes to log into). Daniella at the front desk was not too friendly with helping us with the problem. The rooms were clean and bare minimum but the atmosphere is young loud kids. It was close to the East Side area which is very trendy but kinda far from the sights.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcpaperdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

When we arrive they gave us a hostel room, but we did pay for a hotel room. We really insist that they where doing a mistake, but an hour later they change us. The room had one heater broken and the ventilation on the bathroom was also broken and some minutes later started drop some water. The solution gave by the hotel was to put a bucket. The bathroom was so small that we had some difficult managing the situation (brush teeth and take a shower). Really really awful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthokaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
#564 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Friedrichshain
BackpackerBerlin
BackpackerBerlin
#148 of 344 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Moabit
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
#63 of 344 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#28 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#23 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Friedrichshain
U Inn Berlin Hostel
U Inn Berlin Hostel
#60 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain

Property: A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Address: Boxhagener Str. 73, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,819 - ₹ 11,821
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your A & O Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing