We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel in good location”
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #171 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel in good location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed in the Arcotel Velvet for 3 nights during our recent short trip to Berlin. We had previously stayed in this hotel 6 years ago and are pleased to say that the excellent standard of accommodation we enjoyed then still applies. We had a room on the fourth floor. The room and bathroom were both spacious, modern and clean. Our room was at the front but we did not experience any undue noise. Reception staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel is good being only a few minutes walk from the railway station and there are many restaurants and bars in the vicinity. We did not take breakfast in the hotel. No hestitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    307
    80
    29
    12
See reviews for
67
341
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Modern and comfortable hotel in central Berlin. Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the building, though, since the street side could be a bit noisy with all the bars around. The shower design is also unusual- there is no door between the room and the shower / sink area- just a very thin curtain. More appropriate for couples and single travellers than friends travelling together.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 12 fantastic hotel with really helpful and friendly staff , the nice big windows give you a perfect view , wasn't noisey at all but this was in Feb . Would definitely go back and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyweston77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, its location, the rooms and our reception team. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all that most possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxed and satisfied.

We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet in the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location for this hotel. Close to U-bahn and walking distance to Friedrichstraße. A lot of cafés and restaurants in the area.

The hotel was nice and clean with an unusual room layout with big windows. This could be negative if you have a room on the first 2 floors. Small mini bar but not much to choose from. I was surprised that there where not Wi-Fi in our room. The staff ask me to try the lounge bar hot spot which did not work unless i got out from the room. The beds where quite hard so be aware if you are used to soft beds. A nice thing was that the room had a bathtub. I´m not sure i think this hotel is worth the 4 stars. There might be better alternatives for the same price.

Pros: Good location, bathtub, nice and clean and friendly staff.
Cons: A little bit to cold in the room. Quite hard beds. No Wi-Fi in our room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CannnotSleepOnPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city break, being walking distance from many places and with excellent public transport connections. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely lit/decorated, the reception helpful, and the bar serves a free breakfast (filled bagels, coffee & fruit) which was perfect for us to grab on our way out somewhere.
The rooms at the front look out onto the street - if you are in front but high up this could be nice but on the lower floors you could feel a little exposed (the windows of the rooms are full-wall floor to ceiling, although of course there are drapes) - we didn't mind but I understand the rooms at the back are also quieter.

Room Tip: Take room at the back, or at the front on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 634 in Berlin
1,396 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#78 of 634 in Berlin
462 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#115 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,834 - ₹ 13,998
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing