We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ARCOTEL Velvet
Nearby Hotels
US$ 156
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 101
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 108
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 104
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 115
US$ 112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 110
US$ 96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 175
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 108
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 296
US$ 272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
313
336
91
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
336
91
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoranienburger strassefloor to ceiling windowsgreat locationopen bathroomaround the cornertram stopwithin walking distancejunior suitemini barbars and restaurantseast berlinlong weekendmuseum islandwould definitely stay here againthe hotel offerss bahnstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Modern and comfortable hotel in central Berlin. Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the building, though, since the street side could be a bit noisy with all the bars around. The shower design is also unusual- there is no door between the room and the shower / sink area- just a very thin curtain. More appropriate for couples and single travellers than friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 12 fantastic hotel with really helpful and friendly staff , the nice big windows give you a perfect view , wasn't noisey at all but this was in Feb . Would definitely go back and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyweston77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, its location, the rooms and our reception team. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all that most possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxed and satisfied.

We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet in the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location for this hotel. Close to U-bahn and walking distance to Friedrichstraße. A lot of cafés and restaurants in the area.

The hotel was nice and clean with an unusual room layout with big windows. This could be negative if you have a room on the first 2 floors. Small mini bar but not much to choose from. I was surprised that there where not Wi-Fi in our room. The staff ask me to try the lounge bar hot spot which did not work unless i got out from the room. The beds where quite hard so be aware if you are used to soft beds. A nice thing was that the room had a bathtub. I´m not sure i think this hotel is worth the 4 stars. There might be better alternatives for the same price.

Pros: Good location, bathtub, nice and clean and friendly staff.
Cons: A little bit to cold in the room. Quite hard beds. No Wi-Fi in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CannnotSleepOnPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city break, being walking distance from many places and with excellent public transport connections. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely lit/decorated, the reception helpful, and the bar serves a free breakfast (filled bagels, coffee & fruit) which was perfect for us to grab on our way out somewhere.
The rooms at the front look out onto the street - if you are in front but high up this could be nice but on the lower floors you could feel a little exposed (the windows of the rooms are full-wall floor to ceiling, although of course there are drapes) - we didn't mind but I understand the rooms at the back are also quieter.

Room Tip: Take room at the back, or at the front on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I and two of our friends stayed at Arcotel Velvet for 5 nights over Silvester 2011/2012. The location is excellent, a few minutes from U-bahn Oranienburger Strasse, a few more from S-bahn Oranienburger Tor and about a 10 minute walk from Friedrichstrasse station and you can easily walk to places like Hackescher Hof and Brandenburger Tor. It’s also right next door to the ‘alternative’ art collective Tacheles which is very Berlin, but they also play loud music during the day which was a little disturbing for our friends who had a room towards the back.
We had a Superior room on the fourth floor at the end of the corridor (409) which was very nice. They have a rather unusual open plan shower layout in the room, but as long as you are OK with seeing your travel companion without clothes that’s fine. They also have rooms with separate shower so if you like I guess you can ask for one of them. The floor to ceiling windows gave us a lovely view of the street and we were not disturbed by street noise – just remember to draw the curtains before you get out of said shower. A downside of the room was the lack of storing space, only one small cupboard and anything on a hanger had to go together with our jackets. Our friend’s room did not even have a space for hanging clothes.
Some booking sites list WiFi as being part of the room, but this only true for the suites. The Superior and Comfort rooms have wired internet and WiFi is available in the foyer. Also, our booking site claimed there were coffee making facilities in the room which also was not correct – refer to the hotel web site to check what amenities are included.
The staff was very helpful and nice. We did not try the breakfast-in-a-bag but other guests seemed to either collect them to their rooms or sit in the lobby bar to eat.
We found several really good restaurants just minutes from the hotel, I will rate them on their own posts but also list them here:
Beisl am Tacheles – the Austrian restaurang right next to the hotel was cosy, the staff friendly and the food good
Bellini cocktail lounge – a few blocks towards Hackescher Markt the Bellini lounge made amazingly good cocktails (ok, and a few weird).
Restaurang Oranium – we had breakfast here 4 of our 6 mornings, a wonderful place!
Ristorante Al Dente – a cosy Italian with excellent pasta on Auguststrasse, first street left across from the hotel
Amrit – the Indian right across from Tacheles has horrible service and ok food. Not worth it.

Room Tip: Room 409 is at the end of the corridor and has a view of the street. Room 515 is slightly smaller and towards the back but has a separate shower/bath.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, it´s location and our helpful service team.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us a feedback.

Furthermore we are very sorry to hear that you had no WiFi on your room and no coffee making facilities, like it was claimed on our booking site. We always have some mobile routers for the WiFi at the reception, for our guest which can not use the internet with a kabel. To be sure we have made a note in your guest file, to prepare these things for you on your next stay.

We would like to wish you all the best and we hope forward to welcoming you back in our ARCOTEL Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,


TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews