We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in central Berlin”
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #159 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Modern and comfortable hotel in central Berlin. Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the building, though, since the street side could be a bit noisy with all the bars around. The shower design is also unusual- there is no door between the room and the shower / sink area- just a very thin curtain. More appropriate for couples and single travellers than friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 12 fantastic hotel with really helpful and friendly staff , the nice big windows give you a perfect view , wasn't noisey at all but this was in Feb . Would definitely go back and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyweston77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, its location, the rooms and our reception team. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all that most possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxed and satisfied.

We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet in the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location for this hotel. Close to U-bahn and walking distance to Friedrichstraße. A lot of cafés and restaurants in the area.

The hotel was nice and clean with an unusual room layout with big windows. This could be negative if you have a room on the first 2 floors. Small mini bar but not much to choose from. I was surprised that there where not Wi-Fi in our room. The staff ask me to try the lounge bar hot spot which did not work unless i got out from the room. The beds where quite hard so be aware if you are used to soft beds. A nice thing was that the room had a bathtub. I´m not sure i think this hotel is worth the 4 stars. There might be better alternatives for the same price.

Pros: Good location, bathtub, nice and clean and friendly staff.
Cons: A little bit to cold in the room. Quite hard beds. No Wi-Fi in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CannnotSleepOnPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city break, being walking distance from many places and with excellent public transport connections. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely lit/decorated, the reception helpful, and the bar serves a free breakfast (filled bagels, coffee & fruit) which was perfect for us to grab on our way out somewhere.
The rooms at the front look out onto the street - if you are in front but high up this could be nice but on the lower floors you could feel a little exposed (the windows of the rooms are full-wall floor to ceiling, although of course there are drapes) - we didn't mind but I understand the rooms at the back are also quieter.

Room Tip: Take room at the back, or at the front on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I and two of our friends stayed at Arcotel Velvet for 5 nights over Silvester 2011/2012. The location is excellent, a few minutes from U-bahn Oranienburger Strasse, a few more from S-bahn Oranienburger Tor and about a 10 minute walk from Friedrichstrasse station and you can easily walk to places like Hackescher Hof and Brandenburger Tor. It’s also right next door to the ‘alternative’ art collective Tacheles which is very Berlin, but they also play loud music during the day which was a little disturbing for our friends who had a room towards the back.
We had a Superior room on the fourth floor at the end of the corridor (409) which was very nice. They have a rather unusual open plan shower layout in the room, but as long as you are OK with seeing your travel companion without clothes that’s fine. They also have rooms with separate shower so if you like I guess you can ask for one of them. The floor to ceiling windows gave us a lovely view of the street and we were not disturbed by street noise – just remember to draw the curtains before you get out of said shower. A downside of the room was the lack of storing space, only one small cupboard and anything on a hanger had to go together with our jackets. Our friend’s room did not even have a space for hanging clothes.
Some booking sites list WiFi as being part of the room, but this only true for the suites. The Superior and Comfort rooms have wired internet and WiFi is available in the foyer. Also, our booking site claimed there were coffee making facilities in the room which also was not correct – refer to the hotel web site to check what amenities are included.
The staff was very helpful and nice. We did not try the breakfast-in-a-bag but other guests seemed to either collect them to their rooms or sit in the lobby bar to eat.
We found several really good restaurants just minutes from the hotel, I will rate them on their own posts but also list them here:
Beisl am Tacheles – the Austrian restaurang right next to the hotel was cosy, the staff friendly and the food good
Bellini cocktail lounge – a few blocks towards Hackescher Markt the Bellini lounge made amazingly good cocktails (ok, and a few weird).
Restaurang Oranium – we had breakfast here 4 of our 6 mornings, a wonderful place!
Ristorante Al Dente – a cosy Italian with excellent pasta on Auguststrasse, first street left across from the hotel
Amrit – the Indian right across from Tacheles has horrible service and ok food. Not worth it.

Room Tip: Room 409 is at the end of the corridor and has a view of the street. Room 515 is slightly smaller an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, it´s location and our helpful service team.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us a feedback.

Furthermore we are very sorry to hear that you had no WiFi on your room and no coffee making facilities, like it was claimed on our booking site. We always have some mobile routers for the WiFi at the reception, for our guest which can not use the internet with a kabel. To be sure we have made a note in your guest file, to prepare these things for you on your next stay.

We would like to wish you all the best and we hope forward to welcoming you back in our ARCOTEL Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,


TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#73 of 635 in Berlin
1,450 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#185 of 635 in Berlin
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#112 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#161 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 4,909 - ₹ 12,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing