We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #134 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 12 fantastic hotel with really helpful and friendly staff , the nice big windows give you a perfect view , wasn't noisey at all but this was in Feb . Would definitely go back and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyweston77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, its location, the rooms and our reception team. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all that most possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxed and satisfied.

We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet in the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    293
    80
    28
    9
See reviews for
65
331
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location for this hotel. Close to U-bahn and walking distance to Friedrichstraße. A lot of cafés and restaurants in the area.

The hotel was nice and clean with an unusual room layout with big windows. This could be negative if you have a room on the first 2 floors. Small mini bar but not much to choose from. I was surprised that there where not Wi-Fi in our room. The staff ask me to try the lounge bar hot spot which did not work unless i got out from the room. The beds where quite hard so be aware if you are used to soft beds. A nice thing was that the room had a bathtub. I´m not sure i think this hotel is worth the 4 stars. There might be better alternatives for the same price.

Pros: Good location, bathtub, nice and clean and friendly staff.
Cons: A little bit to cold in the room. Quite hard beds. No Wi-Fi in our room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CannnotSleepOnPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city break, being walking distance from many places and with excellent public transport connections. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely lit/decorated, the reception helpful, and the bar serves a free breakfast (filled bagels, coffee & fruit) which was perfect for us to grab on our way out somewhere.
The rooms at the front look out onto the street - if you are in front but high up this could be nice but on the lower floors you could feel a little exposed (the windows of the rooms are full-wall floor to ceiling, although of course there are drapes) - we didn't mind but I understand the rooms at the back are also quieter.

Room Tip: Take room at the back, or at the front on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I and two of our friends stayed at Arcotel Velvet for 5 nights over Silvester 2011/2012. The location is excellent, a few minutes from U-bahn Oranienburger Strasse, a few more from S-bahn Oranienburger Tor and about a 10 minute walk from Friedrichstrasse station and you can easily walk to places like Hackescher Hof and Brandenburger Tor. It’s also right next door to the ‘alternative’ art collective Tacheles which is very Berlin, but they also play loud music during the day which was a little disturbing for our friends who had a room towards the back.
We had a Superior room on the fourth floor at the end of the corridor (409) which was very nice. They have a rather unusual open plan shower layout in the room, but as long as you are OK with seeing your travel companion without clothes that’s fine. They also have rooms with separate shower so if you like I guess you can ask for one of them. The floor to ceiling windows gave us a lovely view of the street and we were not disturbed by street noise – just remember to draw the curtains before you get out of said shower. A downside of the room was the lack of storing space, only one small cupboard and anything on a hanger had to go together with our jackets. Our friend’s room did not even have a space for hanging clothes.
Some booking sites list WiFi as being part of the room, but this only true for the suites. The Superior and Comfort rooms have wired internet and WiFi is available in the foyer. Also, our booking site claimed there were coffee making facilities in the room which also was not correct – refer to the hotel web site to check what amenities are included.
The staff was very helpful and nice. We did not try the breakfast-in-a-bag but other guests seemed to either collect them to their rooms or sit in the lobby bar to eat.
We found several really good restaurants just minutes from the hotel, I will rate them on their own posts but also list them here:
Beisl am Tacheles – the Austrian restaurang right next to the hotel was cosy, the staff friendly and the food good
Bellini cocktail lounge – a few blocks towards Hackescher Markt the Bellini lounge made amazingly good cocktails (ok, and a few weird).
Restaurang Oranium – we had breakfast here 4 of our 6 mornings, a wonderful place!
Ristorante Al Dente – a cosy Italian with excellent pasta on Auguststrasse, first street left across from the hotel
Amrit – the Indian right across from Tacheles has horrible service and ok food. Not worth it.

Room Tip: Room 409 is at the end of the corridor and has a view of the street. Room 515 is slightly smaller an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, it´s location and our helpful service team.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us a feedback.

Furthermore we are very sorry to hear that you had no WiFi on your room and no coffee making facilities, like it was claimed on our booking site. We always have some mobile routers for the WiFi at the reception, for our guest which can not use the internet with a kabel. To be sure we have made a note in your guest file, to prepare these things for you on your next stay.

We would like to wish you all the best and we hope forward to welcoming you back in our ARCOTEL Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,


TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days late December and the hotel was excellent.
I agree with other TA reviewers in respect of quiet rooms at the rear (courtyard) otherwise you are in full view of all the bars opposite and on the main street. There are lots of bars and restraunts on Oranienburger Strass and also further on is Hackerscher Market and Alexanderplatz which both have good atmosphere at this time of year.The hotel is well located and in walking distance of many of the tourist attractions. It is also 100 metres away from the underground train system.
You can buy a ticket for one day for up to 5 people, which covers train, bus and trams that will cover many of the tourist attractions for 15 euros, which I thought was great value.
The hotel bar did not seem to be in use at night but this was no problem as you could sit outside at the bars opposite under the heaters and watch the world go by. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a long weekend or short stay.

Room Tip: rooms that overlook the courtyard are quieter ,the front ones overlook the main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nazza30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us.

We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to give us a feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you liked the hotel and it’s location with all the bars and restaurants around. Thank you for your kind note.

We would like to wish you all the best and we are looking forward already to welcome you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet within the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#71 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
BEST WESTERN Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#99 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,986 - ₹ 9,759
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing