We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, style, comfort, service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #35 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My favourite hotel in Berlin that I have been faithful to since my first visit sometime in 2005. On a couple of recent trips to Berlin I was booked into hotels other than the Movenpick that had more stars but definitely less soul and they just made me want to return to the Movenpick.

I originally chose Movenpick for history: located in a well preserved industrial building where modern amenities have been successfully integrated into an old brick factory, complete with pieces of machinery thrown about. Then I realised how laid back, discreet, comfortable and convenient it was and kept returning ever since. I love the design, the mix of old building with very modern yet not aggressive furniture and styling. It is in a great location: historical yet central, buiness yet both lively and quiet, with convenient connections and lots of history all around.

There are Berlin hotels with bigger rooms, better prices, more centrally located, with more staff... but Movenpick still comes out as a great place.

Room Tip: Comfort or Superior rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HrundiVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

The moevnpick Amsterdam is one of my favorite hotels to stay at, so when i went to berlin, it seemed the obvious choice.

While berlin is not exactly a walking city, the movenpick is in an excellent location walking distance from a lot of great places. I walked to checkpoint charlie, The topography of terror museum (ss headquarters), museum island and many others.

The moevenpick is modern, clean and comfortable and has all the amenities. They have a GREAT breakfast, that while quite expensive, is almost worth the price. Quality-wise and choice-wise it is a good value.

Desk staff was friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

the ONLY thing i can nitpick about is the shower was missing a tiny little tile on the floor, and there was a little dirt in the corner of the shower.

bedding/beds/everything else was as spotless and fresh as i am accustomed to at moevenpick.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is not in the very center of the city but within easy reach to everywhere. Everything is reasonable there - rooms are quite spacious, breakfasts are very good, the staff is helpfull. The reception area is big but a littie bit gloomy. If you travel on business, it's a good choice. If it is for pleasure, something more cheeful could be better.

Room Tip: Left-hand wing is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed 3 nights while in Berlin on a city break. Thought the hotel was excellent value - we had two rooms between three of us and both were really spacious, especially the bathrooms. Nice modern design - liked the funky colour lights with the room numbers on them. Breakfast wasn't included so we only had breakfast in the hotel one morning but a good selection and chef doing pancakes etc. Didn't use any other facilities. Staff were friendly. Hotel is only a short walk from the Brandenburg gate and there's an S-Bahn station just on the corner. There's also an Aldi opposite if you don't want to pay mini-bar prices for Pringles!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I only stayed one evening at the Movenpick and have some pro's and con's

+
The rooms are quite nicely set up and didn't feel sterile like many large hotels
The building is old and charming
Helpful staff
The bar looked good, only stuck my head in though

-
No WIFI - expect this as a basic service in such hotels
English TV channels were only news channels. Would like movies/drama TV like BBC 1 (or WIFI!)
I could not get miles & more points due to the "rate" I was on which was probably a company rate. Normally I still can get hotel points in this case at other chains.
No tea/coffee facilities and no bottle of water that is common these days
There were not many or very good toilietries available. WIth the liquid restriction on flights I use the shampoo, soap, etc provided at the hotel and this hotel had a one bottle in the shower which was for everything and I don't think these are good. I prefer separate products for hair & body - allin1 is "cheap". No hair conditioner or cotton wool etc. Just the allin1 & cheap body lotion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#36 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#29 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 5,389 - ₹ 14,876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing