We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great service, fantastic room and delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #33 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service, fantastic room and delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Even though we were deeply disappointed by Berlin as loud and unpleasant city, where you have to have cash in your pocket, cause credit cards are not everywhere accepted, and everything has it's price (even taking photograph of monuments costs 2 euro (SIC!)), the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie was an extraordinary experience. The room was spacious and smart design with separated corner for the child bed, so both parents and the child had their private space. TV offer included also non-German channels (which is not a standard in Gernam hotels unfortunately), bathroom was nice and very clean, toilet separated from the bath, which is very convenient for family. The coffee maker in the room (capsul type) made us fast and tasty coffee in the morning.
Breakfast in the hotel was a delicious experience. The food was very fresh, served beautifully, very tasty. The choice of food was huge, starting from delicious German specialities, through the standard English breakfast, also including healthy choices as well as products for alergic and vegetarians.
Last but not least the service was very nice. Hotel employees speak very good English (which is also not a standard in Germany), they were very polite and helpful.
I will always be recommending this hotel, and if I will visit Berlin again, I will definitely choose Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie as my place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    1,085
    129
    19
    13
See reviews for
749
1,050
328
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have spent the Easter break in Berlin with my extended family, we were in six. The rooms were really comfortable. In particular we got the "Rossi" suite, which is huge, witn high ceiling, and with 15 euro we got a superior room which was worth the upgrade.
The hotel is very central, in walking distance from Brandenburg Gate and really close to Checkpoint Charlie. Location is excellent.
The best score is for breakfast which is really good and abundant.
Staff is very kind. Furniture is new.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a couple of nights here. Check-in was smooth. Rooms are big and modern and fresh. The windows open for cool air. The room is quality - 50% larger than the norm. The price of the room and breakfast was exceptional - very good value.

The breakfast spread was also very good. They do not do a lot of hot - but the range of bread, cereal, cheese, fruit, juices etc. was more than I could stuff into my cheek pouches.
Alcohol prices were high - that reflected central Berlin prices.

Internet access pricing was very poor. They were wanting up to £7 per day. That is not acceptable. Free access only in the lobby is poor service. This is the only criticism I can level at the hotel. If they sort that, I will come back for my holidays year after year after year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBodach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I spent last week in Berlin visiting with my brother (who lives in Budapest). Each of us took a room at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie. The hotel was reasonably priced, centrally located, and provided exceptional service. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and responsive. The hotel rooms were large and attractively furnished. My brother's room (222) was a smoking room and had a balcony. (All rooms are non-smoking except those on the second floor.) My room (616) was near the elevator on the sixth floor, but was very quiet for restful sleep. Both rooms overlooked different and attractive courtyards. The breakfast buffet (included in the price of the room) was extraordinary, with a large variety of hot and cold foods of high quality. The common areas of the hotel (the breakfast room, bar and lobby) were decorated attractively with modern furnishings. There was a computer in the lobby for the personal and business use of the guests. The hotel location in Mitte was within walking distance of all the areas I had wanted to see (such as Museuminsel, the Reichstag, the Brandenberg Gate, the Tiergarten, Potsdammer Platz and the Philharmonie, the Jewish Museum and the New Synagog, Nicolaiviertel and Alexanderplatzplatz). There were great restaurants near the hotel, and one of the best chocolate stores in Europe (Fassbender & Rausch) just a short walk away. The rate for the hotel was extremely reasonable. I will unquestionably stay at this hotel whenever I return to Berlin.

One minor criticism: while there was free wireless access (as well as the one wireline computer for guest use) in the hotel lobby, the quality of the wireless connection in the room (for which there was a charge) was not very good. (Shortly after trying the room wireless connection, I cancelled my order for a full refund.)

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking except those on the second floor. Room 222 (and I thus assume the 22 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark111746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#9 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#48 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#32 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,530 - ₹ 11,350
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing