We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mosaic Non-Profit Sachsenhausen Memorial Tours
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
306
24
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
24
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent tour concentration camp our tour guide worthwhile tour abc ticket ask questions tv tower wealth of knowledge highly recommend this tour mosaics ronan company prisoners oranienburg information history topic
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent tour well worth going. Our guide Sarah was very informative and the whole day went smoothly.

Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a excellent day with our tour guide Sarah. Sarah had such an amazing amount of knowledge about Sachsenhausen and made the tour well worth doing.
She gave us all enough time to see everything while also giving us so much information about everything.
I would definitely recommend going out here with a tour guide rather then going on your own.

1  Thank marymU1561HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing tour with Joanna, the meeting point by the tv tower was convenient and easy to navigate.

Once we had met the group and Joanna she sorted out the cheapest and best way for the group to buy our train tickets, once purchased we went onto 3 different trains with Joanna’s guidance and arrived in Oranienburg. We walked the streets towards the SS guards housing, we then moved on through the SS hierarchy offices where Joanna explained in detail the exhibit throughout. We walked through to the concentration camp information centre and paid the entrance fee, we all then stopped at the Cafe for lunch (it was around 1pm at this point)

After lunch we walked through the main gate to Sachsenhauen and began the tour throughout the camp, once completed we then walked the streets back to the train station and caught the train back to where we started.

Joanna was a wealth of knowledge, she answered every question, gave so so so much information, regularly encouraged questions and was a very down to earth lovely girl to have a chat with.

Recommend taking coins for paying the entrance to Sachsenhauen.
The train & cafe accept card.
Take water, some snacks as it is a long day and wear comfortable walking shoes (we did 12k steps, roughly 9.25kms)

Thank Garett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seeing a memorial like this is bound to move you in profound way, and with a good guide that can be even more enhanced. We had Joanna and were extremely pleased. She is a wealth of knowledge, and includes relevant context needed to understand the scope of what happened at this location. She was approachable and encouraged questions regularly. I highly recommend this tour because it gave me an entirely new perspective. Actually walking the grounds and seeing the structures allows a different understanding that you just can't get with watching lots of documentaries and reading books.

Be prepared for a long day of walking, and bring a sack lunch, and some water as well.

Thank Filmhooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great tour guide, Taylor. He was super knowledgeable and you could tell how passionate and genuine he was when he spoke about what happened. A very unique and unforgettable experience that leaves you somber but informed.

1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Our guide Sarah met us by the TV Tower in Berlin and made sure we had proper train tickets to get to Oranienburg. She took us on the bus to the memorial giving us information along the way. The tour at the camp was very informative. Sarah approached the subject very well and made sure we had time to walk around the memorial as well as spend some time looking at the exhibits. She offered anyone in the group extra time to stay on our own (while explaining how to get back to Berlin) if we wished to do so. Sarah was a very knowledgeable and professional guide. This experience is one that I would recommend everyone take at some point. There are no words to describe being where these tragedies occurred.

1  Thank beamsofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Saw all the museums while in Berlin and spent a lot of time learning about the history of this city but it was nothing compared to this tour! The concentration camp was very realistic and confronting. We had Ioana guide us through sachsenhausen concentration camp - one of the many terrors of the nazi regime. Ioana had an amazing amount of knowledge! The best part was she simplified all the information in a very clear but detailed way which was so important considering the complex history. Highlight was being taken though the housing area of the SS just outside the camp. Chills the whole day and have never learnt so much in one day! Thank you.

Thank xanthebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Our tour guide Sarah was excellently prepared, supportive and knowledgeable.
I can recommend this really moving tour to everyone that wants to learn something about this dark chapter of German history.

Thank notroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

FIRST and foremost, respect is due to the people of Berlin and Germany for full and unflinching disclosure of the horrors perpetrated during the National Socialist era. The lessons of history are painfully plain at museums like The Topography of Terror on the site of the former Gestapo HQ in the heart of the city and at the former Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp 30kms to its north. Our visit to the latter, in a group of six guided by Campbell, a dedicated Australian historian, was deeply moving and insightful. We chose Mosaic because it is a non-profit organisation. As a result, our group was far smaller than others. The advantages became plain from the moment we met Campbell at Alexanderplaz at 10 am and during the train ride to Sachsenhausen as he placed the Nazi era in historical context. At the camp, his guidance was essential. The many lives extinguished and other atrocities perpetrated here are carefully catalogued, making it all too easy to be overwhelmed by information. Campbell offered countless anecdotes. For example, Stalin refused Hitler’s offer to release his captured son, Yakov, from the camp in exchange for General Friedrich Paulus, saying: “I will not swop a Field Marshal for a Lieutenant.” We made our return to Berlin at 4.30 pm, unlike tens of thousands of unfortunates for whom that train journey to Sachsenhausen would be one way.

1  Thank Passenger820656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The Guide and the Trip was fine. Suggest adjusting your length to allow a bit more free time for reflection, pictures etc
Would have loved to have a bit of free time at the end of the tour. Sarah was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews