We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for weekend in Berlin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #134 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the Esplanade for four days for a family birthday.

The room was large, clean and offered most of what you expect of this kind of hotel. The beds where very comfortable. There are two things that should be improved though: First, as more and more hotels offer free internet access, the Esplanade's outrageously expensive fee for internet access seems like a rip-off. Second, coffee making facilities in the room would be great. The rooms are very well sound-isolated.

Breakfast in the Esplanade met all expectations. It was included in the price of our room (we had a stay 4 nights-package price). A chef prepared freshly made eggs and omelets, and the selection of fruit, yoghurts, bread etc. was satisfying.

The hotel's pool and spa was quite nice. The massage and spa treatments are not cheap, but according to the one person in our group that tried them, they are great. The pool is small, but since there where relatively few people using it during our stay, this was no problem.

The location of the hotel has both advantages and disadvantages. It is between the Tiergarten, Potsdamer Platz and Kurfürstendamm. All these attractions are within walking distance. For other attraction, bus or taxi is the best option. A disadvantage is that there is no U-bahn-station in close proximity to the hotel, you have to walk 10 minutes or so to get to one. If you are arriving from Tegel, taking a taxi from/to the airport is propably most convienient. The fare is between 15 and 20 euros.

The price of our stay was not bad at all, considering the standard of the hotel and size of the room. Since this is a business hotel, room prices are much lower in weekends than at business days.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, be sure to get a room on one of the non-smoking floors. In the ends of...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariusmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,050)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very comfortable hotel in freezing conditions. Great rooms, food and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyoldkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

There are many nice hotels in Berlin but because there's so much choice, I'd seriously advise giving this place a miss. I travel regularly all around the world - I know that hotels like to overcharge for using the internet. But that didn't alleviate my complete shock when I checked out of the Esplanade and found out that I'd been charged 170 Euros for using wi-fi in my room for six night's stay! Why so expensive? Because they apply the charge for each device you want to use, rather than allow you to purchase one charge for the room. As nearly everyone has more than one device (laptop, smartphone, etc) these days, it's the stone age for them to operate this policy but their reply was a snippy, "Every hotel does this." Uh, no, they don't.
They also tried to charge me 300 euros for a sink I reported to be faulty, blaming me for the fault even though it was clearly pre-existing. This battle I did win but only after an extremely unpleasant exchange. They also charged me the cost of two breakfasts for every day of my stay, even though my partner only stayed for two nights. Also, the hotel's food, including breakfast, wasn't all that great (the room service club sandwich is truly one of the worst I've ever had), the location's not great and the front desk and concierge were haughty.
Like I said, there are a lot of great hotels in Berlin. If you're thinking about staying here, just be prepared for them to try and rip you off with the extra charges.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The bed was made out of some special fabric from heaven, the breakfast was so good we couldn't stop eating, and the drinks were incredible! Try the Cosmopolitan, please...

Will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for a business trip in january 2012. Hotel is a little on the pricey side, nice big, clean rooms, good beds - breakfast and food a little expensive, actually quite a bit compared to cafe´s and restaurants in the city, service very good, location hmm, eventhough located in the center of Berlin - there is a bit of a walk if you want to soak up the atmosphere at the shops, restaurants and bars at Kurfürstendam - one of the main centers of Berlin. There are much closer and cheaper options if that is the pupose of the trip.
But anyway Berlin is a great city to visit and there is lot of things to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
2,467 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#30 of 635 in Berlin
1,909 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 635 in Berlin
3,046 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#111 of 635 in Berlin
2,838 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#98 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 7,600 - ₹ 23,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing