We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High level, but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“High level, but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Grand Hyatt is a so famous name that it seems impossible to say something negative, but I have to: for the first time in my ltraveller ife I had an already occupied room! Mistakes can happen, but in my opinion not if you pay 500,00 euro per night. Besides that wrong start, hospitality was ok, but for usre for such money I would have more. Crazy prices also to their Bar and at their lounge. Other thing surprised me was breakfast: good quality, but no so wide variety and no special food for who need to follow special diets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanharuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,065
    561
    121
    46
    19
See reviews for
353
1,107
205
797
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for three nights in February.
Had booked a standard room with a king bed, and was upgraded to a Club Deluxe room. The staff in the reception was very friendly and helpful, and we were helped up to our room, and was also showed the features of the room.
The room had very nice furnitures, and it was quiet and both the room and the bathroom was clean. The service from the staff at the Club Lounge was also excellent, always friendly and service minded. They also helped us find restaurants and book tables.
The service from house keeping was very good, all amenities and towels was replaced and the supply of bottled water was also replaced.
The hotel is located centrally at Potsdam Platz, and it is very easy to geting around to the sights in Berlin. I have stayed at this hotel before, and I will also come back next time I am in Berlin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haakonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden Baden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Actually I expected to get the same service and quality of rooms as Kempinsky and Ritz Carlton provides, because Hyatt is the same price category and listed as top 10 Berlin hotels.

I was very disappointed with service quality and damaged properties.

First of all, house keeping coming to your room without knocking and when you ask to come
later its seems the house keeping lady doesn't speak german or english, she always reply you
by Chinese (or some kind of such) language, so it was not possible to understand her at all.

During our 3-nights stay they never replaced shampoo or bath gel as well as towels, bathrobes and even bed linen! After 3rd night we call them and complain them, they finally replaced everything. Is it acceptable for 5 star hotel?? We've asked house keeping to bring us still water and
you know what - they bring us opened and not full bottle! Fantastic house keeping service!

The next thing - the shower and water tap were damaged, so it was not easy to take a bath.

Now, regarding staff - staff wasn't friendly at all (except room service - they were very quick and
friendly). Restaurant staff didn't say you "hello" when you come in, reception staff was not helpful.
After 4th night, they told us we can't stay anymore with them because they're fully booked, so when I asked them to help us with luggage and move it to another hotel (which is very close to them), they deny that.

So, overally, I can only say that room service was fine, everything else was 2 star hotel style, but
even in 2 star hotels staff more friendly. Its seems the staff is not trained or they have a management problem. With all other hyatt hotels (I'm a platinum Hyatt member) I never experienced this weird staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Please rest assured that the entire Management Team has well noted your comments regarding the Housekeeping service, the bathroom which was not in working order and your overall satisfaction of the service quality performed by our staff.

We deeply regret that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and would be grateful to have the chance to restore your faith in Grand Hyatt Berlin soon. Therefore, I would like ask you to get in touch with me personally at your convenience.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here for a night this week for work and thought it was excellent. The receptionist was incredibly happy and helpful, and this impression of their staff stayed throughout my stay.

The hotel room itself was also very good - the room was a standard size with a queen bed, but the bathroom was very different - large with a heated floor and a glass pane between the bath/walk-in-shower and the main basin. Very contemporary - I really like it. The room was also very quiet. I was there on the first day of the Berlin Film Festival (which I didn't realise when I booked!) but I didn't get any noise from outside, either the windows or the corridor.

I didn't try the restaurant or the room service, but the breakfast was good.

All in a all a great place to stay, and a good location for getting to the Berlin sights.

Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Super hotel. Lovely rooms and great swimming pool on top floor with panoramic views. Excellent service and food. My ONLY disappointment was having to pay for the wireless internet after the free half an hour (which is only available once every 24 hrs). In a hotel where one is paying more than £1000 for three nights (in the Grand Club), the hotel might be able to include free wireless. Sure, there is a business centre with computers one can use for free, but this is far away from the comfort of being able to connect using one's own laptop from one's room. Even the Holiday Inn Express has free wifi! Please do try to review your policy on this. It just seems terribly tacky to charge for WIFI in a hotel of this class.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Metcalf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,003 - ₹ 27,770
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing