We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay In A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #29 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
High Wycombe
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Superb Stay In A Great Hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great hotel close to Zoo. Not the most convenient location - 10 minute walk to Zoo DB / U-bahn (metro) station, or to Wittenbergplatz U-bahn, but the 200 bus stops right outside and the lovely rooms more than make up for the slight inconvenience......

We were given a spacious spotlessly clean and well-maintained deluxe room on an upper floor with views over the Tiergarten. Very comfortable bed. Great bathroom. Best hotel breakfast we've had for ages - top of the IHG brand for Europe and well worth the €30. Great friendly staff who ALL smile and say "hello" - true ambassadors!

Weekend rates at this hotel are very competitive, and you get good value for your money. Be sure to try it soon!!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a great view over the Zoo and Tiergarten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigvassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Mr. “craigvassie”,

Thank you very much for your warm words, especially on our breakfast and our rooms.

Did you know that we do not only have a great weekend rate but, for stays between 30th March and 15th May, you can book an Advanced Saver Rate with Breakfast which offers you great value for your money? Please check this out and let us welcome you back at the InterContinental Berlin soon.

With kind regards,

Robert P. Herr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    649
    131
    28
    35
See reviews for
374
754
113
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good business traveller hotel with spacious rooms and relatively friendly staff.

The heat controls, however, are not adjustable and they keep the 7th floor at a toasty 30 degrees C. I asked them to address this but in my 6 days it was not addressed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnePassPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here as a base to see Berlin. We booked a Deluxe Room after reviewing the various rooms on the English web site of the hotel. I was misled into thinking a Deluxe Room was a Club Room - don't be fooled! On discovering that breakfast wasn't included, I asked the receptionist what the difference was between a standard and a deluxe room. All she could tell me was that there was a bit more space, and a coffee maker. I believe the standard room has a coffee make actually, so apparently all you get is a sofa. My advice would be to stick with the standard room. The hotel itself is pleasantly opulent with a delightful and extensive bar area. The spa was closed for our stay, and we were told we could have complimentary use of the one at the nearby Hotel Pullman. But at minus 8, we weren't inclined to trip across the road in not very much! We didn't feel like spending 30 Euros each on breakfast, so we took the bus to Ku'damm and ate there. Many cafes sell a good German breakfast (egg, rolls, hams, salamis, cheese, jam, coffee etc) for 8.50 Euros. Likewise the prices at the bar were a bit eye-watering: 10.50 for an Irish Coffee and 8.50 for a pot of camomile tea. However, no-one books a 5 star hotel and expects cheap prices, and the real problem with this hotel as that a bus or taxi is needed for every trip - especially in the very cold winter weather. Ku'damm is 15 mins away, but it is a trudge, not a delightful walk. Potsdamer Platz is 10 mins on the bus in the other direction. Having said that, the bus does go every 10 minutes, so it's not exactly a hardship, but it is worth saying that this hotel is too expensive for someone not on business to be a captive in, and therefore make sure you buy a tourist ticket for the BVG (we bought the 72 hour Welcome Card). The service was good and when we needed the feather bedding and pillows changed for hypoallergenic ones, it happened quickly and without fuss. We were told in good time that our water would be turned off for an hour in the early morning. The room itself was not overly large, despite its alleged 'deluxe' nature. There was a nespresso machine, which was a nice touch, but only three capsules to put in it. The bed was queen size, when I think king would have been more appropriate. The flat screen TV was against the wall, and couldn't be fully pointed at the bed. And it was *warm*. The temperature control was permanently on 24 degrees. It was all a bit ... underwhelming. Next time I'm in Berlin, I will stay at the swissotel.

Room Tip: If you can't afford Club, don't pay the extra for Deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowdedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Mr. “crowdedcat”,

Thank you very much for your review. On our website the term “Deluxe” describes not the room category but the executive club level with extra value in contrast to the regular rooms in our hotel. This is an InterContinental standard on all our hotel websites. Your feedback as a Priority Club member and frequent traveller enables us to have a closer look at this standard to avoid future irritation.

All our rooms are very well equipped and perfectly furnished. The superiour rooms offer 30 m² to your enjoyment, the deluxe rooms come with 40 m², an extra seating facility and a high quality coffee maker. Although we only put three Nespresso capsules in the room, our guest can order additional capsules for free at any time. Both superiour and deluxe rooms can also be found on Club InterContinental with all its additional benefits, such as separate check-in, personal service and separate lounge (with breakfast, free service at the bar, and a snack buffet that changes three times a day).

The team at the InterContinental Berlin would love to welcome you back to our hotel. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit with us more delightful, please feel free to get in touch with your next booking.

With kind regards,

Robert P. Herr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

What a great hotel, in a great location, with great staff and facilities. Near the end of an extensive holiday this was a most relaxing conclusion in extreamely comfortable rooms.
It would even have been better if the foyer and dining facilities had not been overtaken by a conference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have considered myself a regular of this hotel, though unfortunately I had not been able to visit it even once in the past 4 years.
Every time I come to this hotel I am reminded of why it is that I keep coming back.

Staff is nice, friendly, effective, professional and informed. Any question you have, they will answer. Any request, they will accommodate and find a way to satisfy it.

I was taking my Mother to Berlin for the first time (short stay, unfortunately) and wanted to awe her... it worked.
We arrived a bit early used the Ambassador check-in, left the bags and rushed out. Didn't even notice the room.

When we came back to our upgraded 2-room senior suite my Mother was delighted to see the abundance of amenities, including a TV in the bathroom, as well as a static-bike.
I won't even talk about the quality of the Elemis bathroom amenities, the plushy and comfortable bedding, the spaciousness of the room, the perfection of the thermostat-controlled temperature, the amazing heated bathroom tiles (how can it be the only InterConti that I have been to that has this amenity? It should be compulsory; it's great!)... and we couldn't even complain about the corner views of Tiergarten from our high-floor (for Berlin standards).
Only thing I regretted not being able to show my Mother was the ingenious bathroom system that they have in normal rooms... love the engineering design.

I asked for a rollaway bed, which was installed in the living-room, and it was promptly brought up and swiftly set. Probably one of the most comfortable rollaway beds I have ever tried.

Treated my Mother to the astounding breakfast buffet. One of the best and most extensive ones in Europe and the US; worth every penny (though cannot be compared to the ones in the Middle East or Asia).

I expect to be back again this Summer for longer. I've missed the treat of staying at one of the places where I get treated the best.

Room Tip: Despite the buffet breakfast being a bit on the expensive side, it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPlantagenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,818 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,834 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#25 of 634 in Berlin
1,448 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 634 in Berlin
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,653 - ₹ 25,067
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing