We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty hotel for business trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #279 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel for business trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was in Berlin for an exhibition at Messe and stayed at this hotel for the second time. Hotel is in close proximity to the exhibition hall. It is located in the Ku'damm area (which is actually a shopping area). I made an advance booking and got a good rate although it was a exhibition period. My colleagues were charged almost double. Friendly staff, modern hotel. Rooms are spacious when compared to similar hotels. It is advertised that WiFi is complimentary at the hotel. Yes it is but only for 30 minutes. They charge you 12,50 Euros for a 24 hours connection. Breakfast is satisfactory. Buffet is not unlimited but enough. This is a good spot to stay for business travellers. Yet it is not proximite to touristical sights. For leisure travellers, I would recommend to stay in Mitte area which is the bohemian district of Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgur_Ucman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    705
    549
    206
    121
See reviews for
253
806
117
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

hotel reciptian is good and helpfull, breakfast is good, rooms small and not very clean as you can not walk in the rooms without shos, we have asked for iron but we told we do not give iron and in the next day we find the house keeper carying one to next room, they only change the beds but the cleaning is poor in the rooms and beds are too small
frank resturant is good and they have a good food
the rate is 6 out of 10
O el´sherif
London

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ossama e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

On entering my bedroom I thought it looked very nice if a little small.
Before I unpacked my case I looked round the room for a wardrobe or rail to hang my clothes.
This is where my problem started. I couldnt find one!!!
Hidden away above the fridge was a cupboard barely 18 inches by 18 inches. In it was three hooks and three coat hangers. The only think you could hang was a shirt on one hanger. If you wanted to put more on another hanger then you would have had to take one off to get to the one behind it. My suit would not fit in the small space available.
On changing rooms my second room would barely make 2 star and was in urgent need of refurbishing.
If you are staying for one night and don't wish to change your clothes you will be ok though!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireWellred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I am a resident of Asia and I don't understand why we as a community of consumers put up with the horrendous service, terrible room amenities and inconsistency that make your eyes water in Europe! The cost is usually 3 times the amount and upon arrival you have to carry your own luggage, open your own doors, smile to yourself and be amused at the room the size of a 10 cent piece!!!!!! Once in room you are faced with an additional charge of 10 Euro a day for internet!!!! Hmm shocking but true, but the real shock is - that is valid for 1 unit per time. Each time I am on the computer and want to use the phone I have to log off one and log on the other. Is this 2012? Again, come on consumer just say NO and don't stay here! Maybe then these companies will realize they have to make an effort for guest to stay instead of doing the bear minimum.

On my 3rd night, my room was made up with 1 towel! No hand towel, no bathmat nothing! Called Reception and after 10 minutes finally answered by a rude receptionist asking for room number over and over again. When I asked him his name he said Sami and it busy so get on with it! Why do we put up with this? I am amazed!

Overall there MUST be better in Berlin and if not, come on consumer get together and STOP putting up with these rubbish hotels for such enormous price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our family of 4 (adults and teenagers) spent 4 comfortable nights at the Excelsior on our first visit to Berlin and all enjoyed it. Welcoming and helpful staff throughout our stay, smallish bedrooms but ideal for a city break, very clean city hotel with a cosy/warm feel to it but at same time light and modern. Loved the open fire in the reception/bar area gave cosy feel to it. The Hotel was quiet (no traffic noise) even though on a main street and we found a variety of restaurants and good shopping streets nearby, also very handy for the Zoo and public transport/train station which are 2-3 mins walk away. We will gladly stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of the hotel were quiet (no traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#324 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
#146 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Abba Berlin Hotel
#81 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Carmer 16
Hotel Carmer 16
#321 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Property: Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Address: Hardenbergstrasse 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,377 - ₹ 12,638
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ostrovok, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing