We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel, but I expected more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #77 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good hotel, but I expected more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

A grand old lady placed centrally in Berlin. Close to the Tiergarten and the Zoo - also 2 blocks from the main retail street. Staying here is easy and comfortable, but with so much heritage and grandiosity, I thought it would be somehow better. Staff are super friendly and very helpful, and pricing is very reasonable. But bathrooms need an upgrade - a bit worn looking overall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judge404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    311
    92
    23
    10
See reviews for
93
253
64
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed in Savoy hotel in Berlin for a business trip and when I travel to Berlin which is 3-4 times a year I like to check bargain four star hotels that is either on or on one of the adjacent streets of K-damm.

Savoy gave the best price for a price conscious business traveller. It is a four star hotel. So keeping that in mind, the room was clean, and service was cortious. All good so far.

There is a cigar bar attached to the reception and that's where the heavy stench of cigar smoke oozing literally choked me. I only waited at the reception for 3-5 minutes and could smell the stench on my clothes for the rest of the day.

It is a clean simple decent hotel to stay for business, would definitely not stay there with frients and /or familly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushi_Drummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

After my 3rd stay at Savoy I've finally got around to sending a review. I always thoroughly enjoy my stay at this hotel. I stayed for 5 nights, mixing business meetings with some retail therapy. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable, clean and warm. Crisp white fresh sheets, free wifi , wonderful breakfast buffet and courteous helpful service.( only thing missing is tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but this could be ordered from room service from 7am. )
The hotel's own well stocked cigar bar, is an art deco style treasure , it is one of my favourite places to stop for an apperitif or after dinner drink.
Location wise the hotel is fine, short walk up to the shops on Ku'dam and Kempinsky hotel area.
There are plenty of newer hotels in this part of Berlin, but I always prefer to return to the Savoy because for me it offers a much more interesting ambiance and you get more of a feel of Berlin than in the generic modern hotels around.

Room Tip: you can request smoking or non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safaribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband & I just spent 6 nights at the Savoy & loved every minute. The staff was friendly & really helpful, there was WiFi in our room, beds were super comfortable, overall the food was excellent & we had one of the best dinners of our lives in the restaurant. Also, the buffet Breakfast was grand, something to look forward to every morning. It was bitterly cold so we didn't go out much except to Film Festival events but the ambiance suited us perfectly & we can't wait to return when it's warmer & see more of Berlin.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

this is a great place to stay, handy for train station shopping and great food try the gecco bar if you fancy a drink and a smoke at the bar,and the meinke bar is also great and the liver and onios are to die for reccomend that dish highly staff vey polite i will return for more.

Room Tip: if you dont like cigar smoke, dont stay here,but a great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atjmtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#89 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#20 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#71 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Property: Savoy Hotel Berlin
Address: Fasanenstr. 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,280 - ₹ 12,321
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing