We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostel, not hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
Ranked #157 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Ok,

So i have only stayed in two places in berlin, so I can't really write that much of a comparative review - but let me say that the other place was indeed a Hostel, not a 'Hotel', and there is a big difference between the two - unless you stay at this hotel right here.

On the plus side, the location for sightseeing Prenzlaurberg, its amazing sunday market, the stadium or the north of Mitte is superb. It really is right on the doorstep of the zone, in an area surprisingly lacking in places to stay.

BUT

It's simply not a hotel. The rooms, while spotless and new, provide the bare minimum, with no TV, kettle, or even cups. Added to this, there are are certain rooms that have doors between them and the next for larger parties, which would be fine if it weren't for the noise from the next room which, assuming it's not a friend of yours, is hugely annoying.

AND MOST INFURIATINGLY

The staff. I'm sorry, but contrary to other reviewers, we found them to be grumpy, unwilling to acknowledge us at the desk and incapable of fulfilling even the most basic requests. Often they seemed put out to be asked for anything.

Maybe it was a bad time for them - but when i asked for a taxi to be booked, they said they would do it, but did not. At night (11pm), i went to ask for two cups of tea to take to our room, and the young man behind the counter said he didn't really want to make us them as he was drinking his own! I jokingly said "oh sorry, don't worry", to which he sighed, shrugged his shoulders and proceeded to make the tea (pouring hot water into a cup) like a grumpy teenager. It's not me being tetchy either - the bar/cafe is advertised as 24 hour service, so that's what i expected.

And most infuriatingly, we were accused of having breakfast when we did not, and the staff clearly didn't believe us. Now, perhaps some other guest had pretended to be from our room - cheeky - but there was no chance that the staff believed us. They practically demanded we pay 40 Euros (it's 20 per person, steep?) and it was only when we stood our ground that they backed down.

Now, all of this might seem like tittle tattle, but the air of the place (at this time) was one of indifference to visitors, and we weren't so much welcomed as 'processed. They didn't say hello, goodbye or even ask how the trip was.

This would be fine at the most basic hostel - although i might be doing those a disservice - but not somewhere that charges what are to be fair hotel rates. And calls itself one to boot.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room high up, for great views - but without a door between you and the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeanoilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Basic hotel for people that only need a place to crush in after a day of exloring a very interesting city, namely Berlin. Fresh, clean, excellent location right on the spot where the Wall once stood. Recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndreiBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel/hostel is functional and simple but very clean and efficient. The bedding and decor is slightly hostel like and not luxury but it is very good and value for money. The location is really good and look out for the market opposite which happens sometimes. Free internet wifi in the reception area. The breakfast was nice, although can be busy if there is a large younger group in and you have to clean up after yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavia14999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I was booked in here for a conference and was terrified to see it in "Specialty Lodging" as a youth hostel. I was pleasantly surprised as although the rooms are a bit spartan, it was very new and modern and comfortable. The location is a little out of the way (and I think actually straddles the old Berlin Wall) - but the Bernauer Strasse tube stop is relatively close and the buses and trams stop right out front. It did get a bit crowded in the breakfast rooms with large groups of kids when I was there - but luckily I guess their chaperones keep an eye on them at night (or they book them on different floors) as at nighttime it was nice and quiet other than a bit of street noise. For the price, especially in a big European city, it's an excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

It's very nice hotel, fresh and youth. Located next to the metro Bernauer Straße, but find it not so easy. Pleasant area.
Breakfast is normal, staff at reception are friendly.
Rooms are furnished with very poorly, no TV and hair dryer, no frills. Also in the bathroom did not work heating, and it was terribly cold in October.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank borsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#181 of 634 in Berlin
257 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#289 of 634 in Berlin
222 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#321 of 634 in Berlin
158 reviews
Ocak Apartment & Hotel
#443 of 634 in Berlin
12 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth

Address: Bernauer Str. 45-46, 13507 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 4,076 - ₹ 9,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Berlin's exciting story... The Hotel4Youth am Mauerpark, Berlin Mitte in the hip Berlin city district is located on the former border stripe of the Berlin Wall, right in the opposite of the legendary and famous Mauerpark. Built and opened in August 2010 our hotel offers fresh and modern comfort for your stay. Get close to exciting history and check in to Europe's TOP TEN Hostel* for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing