We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, comfortable, central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho House Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soho House Berlin
Ranked #130 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trendy, comfortable, central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

One of the most original intel rooms We've been in for a while. Vintage furniture, ancient record player. Huge double bed, fantastic shower and of course the trendy roof terrace bar and restaurant. Add very friendly staff and ou have a Great place for a relaxed time in Berlin.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JGJ_L_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    105
    40
    12
    25
See reviews for
33
179
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent two nights. Hotel was fully booked. We were two adults and one child. Arrival: Very difficult parking situation around the hotel basically nowhere to put the care for a couple of minutes to offload luggage etc. Quick and very friendly check in in the funny reception (they call it the playground as there are table tennis, kicker table and some modern wall paintings in addition to a small reception desk). The receptionist took us to the room and showed us everything. Location: Mitte is a fun part of Berlin and good for fun shopping (not the designer boutiques and big malls, but smaller, independent shops), restaurants and cafes. Nothing very very close to the hotel, but walk 10 minutes (or take a taxi) and you are in the middle of the fun. Room:
We had booked the 2nd largest room available (category large) for two adults and one kid. The room was very spacious with a great design; Huge sofa and a chair in front of the large flat screen TV, dining table for four, large king size bed with loads of good pillows (felt wonderful at first, but was less comfortable to sleep in for some reason), sweet old fashioned make up table, record player (yes, for LPs) but also a IPod docking station, coffee and tea making facilities, half open (sliding door) bathroom with free standing bathtub, double sink, huge rainforest shower with steam bath, separate toilet and the best: full size bottles of lots of the different the Cowshed products for use during the stay (had to pay to take them home, though). All lamps, trays and items in the room were made to fit their special design. Really a hotel room to remember. Air condition OK but a bit difficult to adjust to the right temperature during day and night. Had to search quite a lot to find out how to phone reception and room service. The big information folder sort of made the most relevant information disappear. Some items in the room looked a bit worn. Common areas: There is a no photography policy at all common areas, so I cannot show pictures (to be seen at the hotels internet site though). Very cozy library, bar/restaurant and pool/terrace areas. Food: The first evening we were craving some basic comfort food after a fine dining experience for lunch in the Tim Raue restaurant so we decided to order room service pizzas and drinks. The food arrived and also the bartender came to mix the drinks in our room and tell the story behind our Martinis. Great. Excellent and really very tasty pizzas,the best I have had outside Italy I think. Also the two breakfasts we had in the restaurant were a pleasant experience. Everything very fresh and homemade, a choice between a buffet with mueslis, yoghurts, fruit and berries, bakery items, cheese and ham or eggs and other dishes made to order. Friendly, quick and informal service. Did not get the chance to try the bar at night as they have a no-children policy there. I would have preferred to be noticed about this when booking, we did not know, had something to celebrate and ended up just going back to the room instead.
When talking about food, I can also mention the memorable meal we had at Dos Palillos restaurant which serves Catalan/Asian fusion food at small (tapas size) portions. We had a 16 course meal with wines and cavas which we very much enjoyed. Spa/gym/library Nice facilities, but did not get the chance to try. Service Informal, friendly and helpful. Not the typical luxury hotel kind of service, but very enjoyable. All staff could speak English, actually many of them could not speak German. Room was serviced twice a day. Some minor things were not up to 5 star service, for example toiletries removed from sinks when sink was cleaned, but not put back, when we asked for the empty plates to be picked up after our in room pizza dinner, we were asked to just put everything outside the room door, coffee and water not refilled (was done quickly when we asked, however). We celebrated a birthday during the stay. While the staff said happy birthday, there was nothing offered like a glass of champagne or a small gift which is quite normal at hotels in this price range. Also no kind of welcome card or gift upon arrival. All in all I would recommend this hotel as a fun experience in Berlin. In spite of the issues mentioned about, I like this hotel better than Hotel de Rome and Grand Hyatt that we have stayed in before in Berlin. Loved the design, the informal service and felt it was a fun place to be. That's why I give five as a rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights this week, for a business meeting I hosted at the hotel. Rooms, public areas and front desk service was very friendly and attentive. Restaurant and upper deck around the pool is stunning and a great spot for a soothing nightcap. Although all the food was plentiful and expertly prepared, the ability to attract a server is haphazard and actually difficult when the rooms are moderately crowded. We were constantly seeking them for attention as opposed to being approached periodically by the servers. If you are lounging around in the restaurant for a longer time period, it isn't an issue, however for a normal visit, be sure to guide your interactions with the staff clearly.

We had 2 spa treatments, booked on the day and the reception staff were very helpful to find a time slot that fit. Unfortunately, the person giving 1 full body massage had a cold (or something) and kept coughing during the treatment. My guest felt very uncomfortable as the attendant alternated from covering her face (with her hand) as she coughed to turning sideways, however continuing to give the 'hands on' massage. Not very relaxing or soothing for the customer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R88KRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was initially sceptical when I heard I'd been booked in here for a work trip but I have to say they have done a super job on this place. The room was outstanding in terms of attention to detail, super-comfy bed with good quality linen and pillows, amazing shower and all the little things that make a difference such as a good selection of shampoos etc and both hair dryer and straighteners provided. My only slight negatives are that I don't find the location great and that although the restaurant and club area was great fun I thought the food was only average. Still definitely a super place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Soho House is what I was looking for in Berlin ! It is not a typical 5 star hotel, but more a private club with individual, yet cool and classy rooms. Great service by a different kind of staff, very attentive and personal.
The hotel is in the Eastern part, close to Alexanderplatz and offers an experience which other Berlin Hotels as Ritz Carlton lack. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#36 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#111 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House Berlin

Property: Soho House Berlin
Address: Torstr. 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Business Hotel in Berlin
#97 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Hotel Class:5 star — Soho House Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Soho House Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing