We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hotel Not So Easy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Ranked #27 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel Not So Easy...”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you have done any research at all into easy hotels then it will be pretty obvious that the idea is for a very basic room at a very cheap price. If you want any extra services such as luggage storage, internet/tv use, late or early check in then an extra fee is required. Having read about easy hotels before staying at Easy Hotel Berlin we had a good idea of what to expect. There is no breakfast option although they have some basic vending machines in the building( this wasn’t a problem as there are several cafes, bakeries and supermarkets nearby). The location of the hotel is very good as its only a short walk from Rosenthaler Platz underground stop. The hotel entrance and building felt very secure. The room was very small as expected but was clean and the bathroom facilities were adequate. However we were very disappointed with the customer service and dealing with the staff was anything but easy.

We arrived early and asked to use the luggage storage facilities, we paid for a locker and were given a padlock. The staff told us that the lockers were on the underground floor so we headed towards the stairs with our luggage and then realised all of the doors require a keycard for access. The staff had not given us a keycard so I had to go back to reception and ask for one which caused some confusion as they didn't understand why I needed a keycard since I wasn't checking into the room at this point. After repeating why I needed a keycard a few times I was given one and we went down to the luggage store. We then realised the lockers were also very narrow so one of our bags would not fit inside. I went back to reception and explained this and they tried to make me buy a second locker, I had to explain several times that there would be no purpose of paying for a second locker as they are all the same size and the bag definitely would not fit inside. Eventually they agreed to let me leave the large bag with them in reception free of charge which was a welcome outcome but took a painfully long time to reach. I feel its worth mentioning that the staff spoke very good English and a language barrier was not the reason why it took time to resolve this issue – is was purely down to incompetence.
Another thing which was very frustrating was that we purchased access to their internet service and it was REALLY slow, basically unusable as it would take 5-10 minutes to load a web page(if it loaded at all!) . This was the case for their 2 computers in reception and for trying to use the wireless service on our mobile phones. This was the case for our entire visit no matter what time of the day. We should have just gone to one of Berlins many internet cafes instead of wasting our time with the easy hotel internet "service".

In summary if you just want the cheapest most basic room in a good location then the easy hotel is suitable. However I would advise you not to waste your time and money with their internet service and be careful with the extra charges for the very small luggage lockers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    614
    226
    65
    27
See reviews for
66
797
90
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Yes they are very small, no they don't come with a wardrobe to put your clothes and yes you do need to pay if you want any extra, e.g, a window, internet, room cleaned, TV, but I still think they are brilliant. The Easy Hotel Berlin is situated in an excellent location, the room was clean and to be honest the only time we were in it was to go to bed and when we got up to shower in the morning. The shower was hot, the bed comfortable - I paid bit more for a room with a window which was worth it. It was ideal for our city break, perhaps for a longer stay with a larger case you may feel a bit pushed for space. However, I'll pick Easy Hotel everytime if I have the option.

Room Tip: Get one with a window if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great deal due to booking in advance (EUR 25,00 per night). Great location, clean rooms, nice reception. It was my third time at the hotel and the next stay is already booked. Unbeatable price for great value. If you travel alone and want to city it's a great choice.

Room Tip: Practically no difference between small and normal room if you travel solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestenye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is very cheap, about 40 euros per night, and you stay in the middle of the most trendy neighborhood of Berlin with so many bars, restaurants and of course young people wherever you look. It is very clean and the bed is more tha comfortable. It is ok for couples who are toghether for a long time while there is no privacy when you use the toilette and if you go with a very new lover it would be more than uncomfortable!!! I really want to visit Berlin again and I will stay at easyhotel of course!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

As others have said this is a budget option. There is very little space in the room. Knowing that ahead of time I decided to leave my main luggage at the train station and it is just as well I did as my one bag would've blocked the door or rested on the bed.

The double bed was comfortable. The "bathroom" though small was no worse than regular hotels I've stayed an and was functional. (Though don't expect any privacy if there are two of you). The room was also clean. The staff were polite and English-speaking. The location was also excellent with plenty of not-so touristy places to eat in the lively neighbourhood along with small shops, internet cafes, etc.

For about 40 euros per night there's not much more one can expect and it seems a lot of similarly priced options in Berlin aren't so nice. That said, I was glad to be leaving after two nights as any more (and this goes for all easyHotels I've stayed in) would've been pushing it.

Overall, a good budget option for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#103 of 634 in Berlin
1,469 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#50 of 634 in Berlin
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#113 of 634 in Berlin
1,793 reviews
Mitte
Apartments Rosenthal Residence
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Property: easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Address: Rosenthaler Str. 69, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,128 - ₹ 4,618
Hotel Class:2.5 star — easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new purpose built easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt is located right in the sizzling centre of Berlin. Within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions including Hackescher Markt, Alexanderplatz and the museums island. With subway and tram stations right in front of the hotel all the other exciting attractions like Potsdamer Platz, Kurfürstendamm, Reichstag, Friedrichstrasse, Brandenburger Tor, are easily reached as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing