We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #43 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

excellent is the only word to describe the hotel.

location - heart of the city, Postdamer Platz - besides railway station.
room - spacious, clean, comfortable.
toilet - really nice and beautiful
break fast - awesome
interior - too good, vibrant, luminous
service - excellent
smoking - yes
value for money.

Room Tip: Just go and tell what you want from them, they will assist you. Otherwise, mail them; if you have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choibabu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    1,081
    222
    60
    35
See reviews for
603
966
129
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights at the Scandic Berlin.
Hotel is in a perfect location for exploring all the main tourist attractions on foot. There is also the option of using the hotel bikes or getting the metro; there is a U Bahn station (U2) next door to the hotel.
Hotel room is a good size with comfortable beds, a fridge you can stock yourself (either from the hotels shop or from the Lidl at the back of the hotel, just cut through the metro entrance). There is handwash and shower gel provided, any other toiletries you have to supply yourself. The room also has a safe, iron and board, hairdryer and ample wardrobe space.
Reception staff were helpful. In reception there are 2 computers where you can access the internet for free.
As others have stated the breakfast can be busy and a bit hectic (especially if there is a bus trip in) but the staff work hard to keep the place clean, clear tables and ensure that the food (of which there is a huge choice) is replenished frequently. The hotel was busy when we were there but we always managed to get a table and the food we wanted was always available.
The hotel bar is modern and prices are about the same as the rest of Berlin. We ate in the restaurant 3 times (we wouldnt normally eat in our hotel, preferring to go out and about but we found it difficult to find 'nice' restaurants in Berlin) and although the menu isn't large the food was excellent.
Postdam is lovely and well worth a visit, you can get the U Bahn next to the hotel 3 stops and then get the S Bahn direct to Postdam.
We did the Fat Tyre bike tour on our first full day and would highly recommend this as it is a great fun way to learn about Berlins history and find your way about the city.
Would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and if we return to Berlin would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We visited Berlin for my Birthday weekend and we stayed at the Scandic Berlin for the first time and we loved it!

We arrived at the Hotel at around 11am and we went to go to check in, they told us that the room was ready and was told beacuse it was my Birthday they had upgraded us to a superior room and they gave us a complimentary Mini Bar including alcohol and soft drinks, they also give you a map of Berlin showing where everything is.

We then went to our Room on the 7th floor, there are 8 floors in this Hotel. The lifts are really cool and they have birds tweeting in them, The Corridors are really nice and bright with loads of mirrors everywhere.

The Room was outstanding, It was very spacious with a large bathroom and the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in, It also has a large floor to ceiling window which opens with great views of Potsdamer Platz, The only negative i had about the king bed was that there was 2 duvet covers one for each person but this might be part of the scandinavian way,There is also a large desk and HD TV, The wardrobe is very large with loads of space, I have stayed in many Hotel rooms in the past and this has to be one of the best ive stayed in.

The Breakfast which is on floor 3 which was included in our room rate was also one of the best that i had seen, The Breakfast Room was huge with loads of seating, So no problem whatever time you turn up for breakfast and it is also served at a great time from 6:30-11am so great for the late risers like ourselves,There is around 10 different stations, one for hot breakfast items, one for cold meats,one for pastries,one for fruit etc and loads of stations for coffee and orange juice it is handled really well with loads of staff on hand and all the food is kept fresh and replenished.

On the same floor as the Breakfast room there is a huge bar and restaurant and a outdoor terrace which overlooks Potzdamer Platz which is great in the evening for a drink before going out or a late drink before bed.

The Hotel is in a fantastic location with Mendelssohn-Bertholdy Park U-Bahn Station right next door to the Hotel which can get you to most places in the City of Berlin and surrounding areas but if you like to walk, Potsdamer Platz is a 5-10 minute walk from the Hotel with loads of Restaurants,Bars,Sony Centre etc

So this Hotel has a very modern theme to it with great staff throughout, and has a fantastic breakfast so when we are in Berlin again we will stop here.

Room Tip: Email the Hotel prior to youre Hotel stay at the Scandic for a view overlooking Potsdamer Platz on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Had an excellent deal which included the fantastic buffet breakfast of over 100 items! It set us up for the day and we often didn't need to eat again until the evening. The room and hotel facilities are v good with flatscreen satellite TV and adjustable power shower etc. It is next door to the tube and walkable distance to the main sights. Although not situated right in the heart of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Centre were a 5 minute walk with cinemas, restaurants and theatres. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy41_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I went here for the easter long weekend. We got a great 3 night deal on their website which included breakfast.. It turned out it was actually cheaper to book the 3 night deal even though we wanted to stay 5 nights. So we stayed the other 2 nights at a different hotel.

The hotel itself is in a very central location being Potsdamer Platz and is right next to the S bahn.
The room we had was very clean, modern and tidy. The hotel staff were helpful and overall we had a great stay here.

The included breakfast was fantastic with a great variety of hot and cold foods.. highly recommended.

We also used the gym during our stay which was new, clean and had a treadmill, cross trainer and free weights.. small but sufficent.

What else is there to say? Highly reccommended hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
2,127 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,128 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,701 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Property: Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,625 - ₹ 16,562
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing