We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel - budget with a little style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten
Ranked #119 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel - budget with a little style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I've stayed in a couple of Motel One hotels in Berlin and both have been great. I was here alone for a conference and wasn't so familiar with this part of Berlin - the desk staff were really helpful, showing me the quickest routes and making good suggestions for restaurants and bars.
The room itself was small, but perfectly formed. Clean, modern, minimal - all I was really looking for. The bathroom was spotless and with attractive quality fittings. I was on a fairly high floor so had a great view over the city. Very handy location too - very near the Zoo, KaDeWe and so on. I walked from Zoologischer Garten s-bahn and it took less than 10 mins. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YarnDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    256
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
113
92
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is my second stay at the Motel One and I think they have successfully created their own rating, Budget Luxury. My room was only $77 (cheapest room I could find during Easter) a night yet the hotel was very modern, clean, and trendy decor. The concept is simple; you get a nice room with no perks for cheap. Yes the room doesn't have a closet, phone, mini bar, etc. But for those of us that are on a budget yet we want a nice, clean, and modern room to come back to after a day of shopping and touring this is the perfect hotel. Last year I experienced some issues with the wifi internet but this year I asked for a room close to the router. The front desk clerk recommended a room on the Z floor which is where the hotel gets the best internet. I was in room Z35 and the internet worked perfectly this year. I definitely recommend this hotel and I hope the Motel One concept comes to the U.S.A. soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have been to ITB Berlin,friend of mine has recommened this hotel for me,it is my styel i liked very much ,very quiet,clean,friendly.cheap,good staff,centerlized.

Room Tip: 1th floor facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janzurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

It was our 1st stay at Motel One hotel, but not the last for sure :). We chose this hotel for our New Year trip to Berlin and were glad with our choice.
The hotel is modern, clean, stylish. The staff is young, very friendly, amiable and helpful. Despite that the hotel is big, it is very quiet and clean, has a nice and cosy bar with good selection of drinks and snacks.
The room is small but very comfortable, is equipped with everything you need, plus has a nice and trendy decor. If you pay for breakfast (7.50 euro) you will have unlimited wi-fi access, which was working good in our room. Also there is wi-fi in lobby for free and you can take iPad at reception and use it in lobby for free.
Bathroom is the tinest I've ever seen, but also comfirtable and there is a good hairdryer, shower and big mirrors.
Beds and linen are nice - we slept very well. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed regularly.
Breakfast is very good - plenty of food - corn flakes, muesli, different types of cheese, ham, bread, croissants, eggs, fresh fruits and vegetables. There is no hot dishes (which might be good in winter times), however this does not spoil impression from unhurried and substantial breakfast.
Location is the greatest advantage of this Motel One - 3 min from Kudamm, KaDeWe and the nearest U station. It is very easy to get to the both airports (Tegel and Schoenefeld) from it and to the main sightseeings of Berlin. Zoo is 10 min of walking distance.
There are only three things i didn't like - payment at check in, very high temperature at hallways and broken towel hanger in the bathroom.
On the whole, Motel One Tiergarten is a perfect value for money with a great location. I'd recommend it to my friends and choose hotels of this chain for future for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed previously at another hotel in this chain, and was equally pleased. The hotel is fresh, clean and modern. The hotel bar is very good and cosy with a good selection of drinks. The rooms are equipped with everything you need, incl. a good hairdryer! Only downsides are the beds are quite hard and the temperature in the hallways etc is very warm! The 2 star rating is probably dependant on the things you don't use anyway when you're travelling, like in-room phone, mini-bar and fitness-room ;-)
Overall I can hardly believe that you can stay at this hotel for such a low price. I'll definately stay at a Motel One next time I'm in Berlin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#118 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#92 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
#157 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten

Property: Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten
Address: An der Urania 12/14, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Motel One Berlin-Urania)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,083 - ₹ 6,707
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing