We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major disappointment”

Kurpfalz-Weinstuben
Ranked #31 of 9,465 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: The Kurpfalz Weinstube are a traditional wine tavern With German and regional cuisine. The focus is on German - in particular Pfälzer - wines With great vintage depth and high bandwidth. The wine taverns invite you to the daily enjoyment of food and drink. The Schoppenweinkarte offers more than 40 open wines and the wine cellar holds 400 bottles of wine.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This review does not concern the food or service in the restaurant as we did not have any... Having received confirmation of our booking a couple of weeks prior, we arrived at scheduled time only to find the place closed for holidays!
This is a first (and hopefully a last) for me and I do not understand how such an error occurs; did they decide to take a vacation only a few days before and forgot to tell? They happily accepted my reservation and even said they were looking forward to it... Fortunately Berlin offers an abundance of nice eateries, so we did get to eat that evening - shame on Kurpfalz-Weinstuben for such poor behaviour.

    • Service
2  Thank NielsBuchtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincenzo B, Geschäftsführer at Kurpfalz-Weinstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Niels,
I'am so sorry about that, excuse our mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

The food is absolutely great. We had an amazing starter with oxtail and very good main dishes. The pate that they serve as a compliment was very good as well. The wine by the gass was also super. We enjoyed the interior and the atmosphere too.
What we did not like was the service.
The reservation was made and confirmed on the phone. However we waited for 10 minutes to be seated and had to prove that we actually have a booking.
We had to ask twice and wait for 20 minutes to get some water. No beer in the menu. We were told that there is just one beer - Pilsner Urquell small bottle (no large ones, no draft beer...In Germany...). It was strange that the only beer was Czech, but we ordered it. Later on we saw that they serve other beers (Erdinger etc.) that we were not told about. It is pitty, because we wanted some good local stuff.
Since we were not very hungry and did not order an expensive wine or spirit, the waiter (most probably the manager) decided we are not interesting and started ignoring us, although the place is small and we tried to catch his attention several times. Finally the lady behind the bar was kind enough to assist us properly.

Bottom line - try it, it will be a good experience probably.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VKazassov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Found this on tripadvisor. There is no way you'd stumble across this tucked away restaurant but its worth making the effort to find. We booked on line and the lovely waitress immediately spoke to us in English when we tried to explain in German that we had booked a table. The menu had a good choice and the staff happily helped us with things we didn't recognise, the price is good too, they also have a wide range of German wine that they sell by the glass.There were a lot of German's eating here which is a good sign and the atmosphere was really comfortable. The food though was fantastic - we both had lamb for our main course and it was probably the best lamb we've ever eaten, but all the food was excellent. A must for anyone visiting Berlin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank laner167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeinstubenChef, Inhaber at Kurpfalz-Weinstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Hallo laner167,
wir freuen uns das du uns gefunden hast und dich willkommen fühltest, das ist unser Ziel. Das euch das Lamm so sehr geschmeckt hat, ehrt und freut uns ungemein. Wir hoffen sehr, euch und alle anderen Gäste, mit unserer regelmäßig wechselnden Karte wieder überraschen zu dürfen. Bis zum nächsten Mal, dein Kurpfalz-Weinstuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Great service! Went here for dessert and some wines. Great taste and good service. Really would go here again!

Thank Martijn_Boshuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeinstubenChef, Inhaber at Kurpfalz-Weinstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Lieber Martijn_Boshuis,
lieben Dank für deine herzlichen Worte. Wir freuen uns dich bald wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.
Bis dahin, dein Kurpfalz-Weinstuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has an unimposing entrance off the main road but walk into the courtyard and you find a traditional, wooden pannelled weinstube.

This is a very personal restaurant where the owners pride themselves on their knowledge and choice of wine, matched to some excellent food.

I would advise booking, or if you turn up, be prepared to share a table.... that is the German way.

We were greeted by one of the owners, who listened to what we had chosen to eat and drink ...... and then proceeded to tell us what we should or could have. This was highly amusing, but actually we are so pleased he did so as what we had was above excellent.

We were warmly thanked for our visit when we left and in all, I look forward to having a chance to return.

This is a must do, when in Berlin

2  Thank DriftwoodNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincenzo B, Geschäftsführer at Kurpfalz-Weinstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you, with thoose clients we are really lucky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kurpfalz-Weinstuben also viewed

 

Been to Kurpfalz-Weinstuben? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing