We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Very Nice Hotel Great Location Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #183 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Nice Hotel Great Location Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This Hotel really surprised me. The rooms were fresh and clean, the food wad great , and the staff went above and beyond. I recommend this hotel to both business and leisure traveler !

I will stay again and recommend as well !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beefy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear beefy l, thank you so much for your nice review here on Tripadvisor. I m happy that you had a good time with us and we are all looking forward to welcome you in the near future. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    562
    282
    115
    78
See reviews for
17
656
376
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Modern, friendly, comfortable and exactly where we wanted to be. Wifi in your room is not free - that may be typical but was a surprise. Rooms facing main street should be quieter (will likely return and ask for room of the back).

Room Tip: Rooms off the main road should be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpatrickjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Rpatrickjr, i like to thank you so much for your recent stay in the Axel Hotel Berlin and your positiv review here on Tripadvisor. We are all looking forward to see you in the near future again in the Axel Berlin. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Axel Hotel Berlin. The staff was very helpful and gave me great recommendations. The location is very convenient. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice for view and less noisy. The suite is very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marvin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear marvin d, first of all i like to thank you for your nice comment here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a good time with us so far and we are more happy that you plan already to come back to the Axel Berlin. We are all looking forward. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very good location for tube, tourist bus shopping and a load of gay bars and shops. Room decor very chic on first impression, but then you realise that therehas been a sacrifice of function over style. There is almost nowhere to put your clothes apart from the floor. Bed very comfy. Fabulously spacious shower with glass walls open plan to the bedroom, but a separate toilet with only a sliding type door wasn't as private as one would like if sharing a room. Very good breakfast and very attentive staff. Mini gym, mini sauna, mini steam room and outdoor jacussi and sunbeds on the roof were a bonus, if you like that kind of thing, as was the the ever present bath robe clad guest in the corridor....;O) . Fun to be in a mainly gay hotel, but I understand that you can get more hotel quality cheaper elsewhere. If I were going again I would be happy to stay again for location and general quality, but would go with another hotel if cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP20123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear JP20123456789, thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are always happy to get a feedback and also suggestions from our guest. We are happy that you like the Design of the Hotel and that you had a good time with us as well. We hope that you will geive us another chance duering your next Berlin visit. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Firstly the location is great and the staff here all go out of their way to help you make the most of your stay. One young man in particular, Saul was extremely polite and helpful and nothing was any trouble for him. He definitely stood out and his customer relations skills are excellent. Saying that I just didn't really like the hotel. There is just way too much black. The room decor I found ugly to say the least. Black with an awful mustard yellow wall and carpet just wasn't for me. I didn't like spending any time in the room. There was no partition separating the bedroom from the bathroom and very limited hanging space. The room size was ok but the color of it just made me feel closed in. Because of the blackness of the walls any chip or damage to the wall was visible. The toilet roll holder was loose and the towel hook in the toilet also loose and the white plaster behind was visible making the room look tacky. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast was good, a few housekeeping issues but for me I don't think I would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear andyoz, first of all i like to thank you for your recent stay in the Axel Hotel Berlin and for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are always happy to get a feeback from our guest. I m really sorry to hear that you are not happy with our Design and the colors of the Hotel. This is something we cant change it anymore but i really appriciate your comment about Saul and i like to thank you as well. I wish you all the best for the future and whenever you like to come back to Berlin you know that your are more than welcome in our Hotel. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Two Hotel Berlin
#244 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#94 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#387 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#140 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Property: Axel Hotel Berlin
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,680 - ₹ 16,045
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing