We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying.”
Review of smartloft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
smartloft
Ranked #44 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Smartloft, just a little over a year a part. This time I chose a compact flat since it was only for me and it was the perfect size. Smartloft is clean and kept well and the art exhibits are great. I also like that you have your own kitchen with all the amenities to make your own meals. The only slight complaint is that the WiFi is very poor and since it's free, I guess you really can't complain. However, I thought I would make mention of it in case someone is staying here on business travel.

Room Tip: A compact room would be good for one person and I would go for a larger room for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

The year 2012 was in Smartloft with my family in the large department, came back again this year alone and spend 12 days in samrtloft in a small apartment.
I feel like in my own home. Close to all, very functional, a warm atmosphere,quiet clean, and department facilities are perfect!
I hope to return again next year to Berlín an at Samartloft!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen2171532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in one of the compact apartments as an adult couple - very functional, good bed, friendly service when needed, interesting art objects, connected to the world, in the quarter of the city we like best - no wishes left open! The place seems well used, but clean and well-kept, not in any way sterile or cold, but with a warm atmosphere. We were visiting family members close by and also had some business in town, so we did not even use most of the features offered, but would come back for a longer stay to see more of Berlin when we have time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilsews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in smartloft of December 27, 2012 until January 1, 2013 (when we were cowardly assaulted) ... on Dec. 31 go out to celebrate the New Year and when we turn around 1 AM, I realized that my suitcase and my husband was not broken padlock and had taken all our money, our credit cards and debit and my ipad. at the same time I learned that another apartment had also been stolen, we called the police who attended the other day in the morning and called also for Thomas (responsible for the smartloft) who made ​​light of the situation, saying he could not do much ... Or be careful when staying at smartloft you may be having robbed all their belongings stolen and your trip can turn into a nightmare!!
Do not recommend to anyone the Smartloft!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smartloft, Inhaber at smartloft, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are really sorry the apartment was apparently broken into. Since we have smartloft open there was never an incident like this. Perhaps occurrences like this are due to the redevelopment of Berlin toward a dense Metropolis with all the positive and negative side effects.
Of course we did not make light out of the unfortunate events. I travelled in the New Years Night at 4:00 o´clock in the morning 350 km to Berlin to help with the situation. But there was not much we could do, the crime squad took over the investigation. Till today nobody knows what exactly happened on the night of the 31. December, how this burglary could have happened.
Nevertheless we raised our security standard to prevent any further incidents.
Again we are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed for the second year in a Christmas smartlotf apartment. It is a pleasure to enjoy this very well equipped apartment. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is very functional and the living room and the living room nice too.
Thomas welcomed us very kindly even when we were always late and offers in helping us to make our stay is the best.
The location is ideal to visit berlin: Near Subway, alexander platz and near the island museums too, in a very tranquille neighborhood .Le kaiser is nearly and open until 00H which is very practice.
We will return with pleasure to smartloft.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronique b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 635 in Berlin
2,667 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 635 in Berlin
4,838 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartloft? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartloft

Address: Choriner Str. 7, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 5,502 - ₹ 7,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — smartloft 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing